D-Link Forums

D-Link Mobile Apps => mydlink Lite App => Topic started by: BAMoh on June 25, 2018, 06:23:09 AM

Title: Does resetting (not restarting it) router affect cams?
Post by: BAMoh on June 25, 2018, 06:23:09 AM
I am in a situation where a firmware upgrade to my router (non DLINK)didnít work as well as I liked and have been advised to perform a factory reset. I have many DLINK cams and am wondering if it set the router up from scratch with the same SSID and PW if my MyDLINK app and cams will still work. What I am afraid of is having to reinstall all the cams from scratch.
Anything I should consider?
Title: Re: Does resetting (not restarting it) router affect cams?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 25, 2018, 06:54:50 AM
Yes, if you use same SSID and PW and security modes, cameras will come back online. Only issue i've seen before is sometimes the cameras won't due to some differences in security in FW. So if you going from one form of FW to a complete different form of FW, there maybe some differences in security is all. You'll have to try and just set up with the same values.