D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-890L => Topic started by: yauza16 on March 06, 2018, 03:04:04 PM

Title: Can't get past 100MB
Post by: yauza16 on March 06, 2018, 03:04:04 PM
I just got my internet upgraded and when I run speed tests from my PC, I am only getting 100mbps.  When I connect directly to the modem, I get 300Mbps.  I've tried putting the DIR-890L HW:A1 FW:1.20 into AP mode as well, but I"m still only getting 100mbps.  Something on the dlink is dropping the connection down.  Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!
Title: Re: Can't get past 100MB
Post by: FurryNutz on March 06, 2018, 04:46:35 PM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)

  Link> >FW Update Process (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42457.0)

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
Title: Re: Can't get past 100MB
Post by: yauza16 on March 06, 2018, 05:25:17 PM
I am located in NA
Wired to the router
Factory Reset has not been done yet
Yes, the router was working before any FW updates

ISP:
I have Fiber
Modem: Home Hub 3000 - Model 5566-000002-005
Dynamic IP Addressing
Modem link speeds:  UP:122.28Mbps  Down:956.17Mbps
Title: Re: Can't get past 100MB
Post by: FurryNutz on March 06, 2018, 05:31:01 PM
Please do a factory reset. With a LAN cable connected PC to the back of the router, run a speed test before trying to set up the router. You should have internet after the factory reset performs and the router comes to ready. You can set up the routers wifi, however don't touch or enabled QoS.

You ISP modem is a router/modem combo. If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT (http://www.practicallynetworked.com/networking/fixing_double_nat.htm) and How NAT Works (http://computer.howstuffworks.com/nat.htm). Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ (http://www.dslreports.com/shownews/Networking-101-The-DMZ-137550).