D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-880L => Topic started by: rf413 on February 05, 2018, 09:38:21 PM

Title: Replace DHCP reservation after maximum reached
Post by: rf413 on February 05, 2018, 09:38:21 PM
Model: DIR-880L
Hardware: A2
Firmware:  1.08WW, Wed 22 Feb 2017
Firmware Date: 2017-02-22 15:45:00
Region: Canada

After I reserve up to the maximum number of IP address reservation which is 24, I cannot remove old reservation and add new one. The UI allows me to disable old reservation and save but I don’t think it  actually removes it from the list eventhoug the box has disappeared.  So when I try to add a new one, the router response with “The maximum number of permitted DHCP reservations has been exceeded”. I know I can do a factory reset and start from scratch but I really don’t want to do that everytime I remove an old device and add new ones. Is there work around for this issue.
Title: Re: Replace DHCP reservation after maximum reached
Post by: FurryNutz on February 06, 2018, 08:50:29 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)

What browser are you using?

Was a factory reset performed when you updated the FW, factory reset once more then set up from scratch?

Can you clear the browser caches before and after you try to remove the reservation and see if this does anything.
Title: Re: Replace DHCP reservation after maximum reached
Post by: rf413 on February 11, 2018, 09:57:59 PM
I tried it with both Firefox and Chrome. They both generated the same results.
Tried factory several times and still responsed the same way.
Tried clearing cache before and after removing DHCP reservation in both Firefox and Chrome and wouldn't make any difference.
Title: Re: Replace DHCP reservation after maximum reached
Post by: FurryNutz on February 12, 2018, 09:34:35 AM
Ok, one thing I'd like you to try.

Download the v1.08WW FW file again and unpack it.
Disable any PC security software temporarily. Re-enable after sending the FW file.
Use the following process to go into Recovery mode and use IE11 x32 or FF browser with any security add-ons disabled.
Emergency Recovery Mode (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=44909.msg163599#msg163599)
Send the v1.08WW .bin file in the recovery mode.
After it loads, using IE11 or FF factory reset the router and set it up from scratch.
Make your reservations up to the limit. When you have reached the limit. Go in and try to remove one or two reservations.

 If the problem still happens, I've been told to have you contact D-Link Support Canada and they will help you from here.

Title: Re: Replace DHCP reservation after maximum reached
Post by: rf413 on February 22, 2018, 05:17:10 PM
Did exactly what was told and nothing's changed.
Title: Re: Replace DHCP reservation after maximum reached
Post by: FurryNutz on February 22, 2018, 05:18:21 PM
I would contact D-Link support Canada and get a case opened for this.