D-Link Forums

D-Link Wireless Routers for Home and Small Business => COVR-3902-US => Topic started by: mloc3 on September 28, 2017, 11:44:06 AM

Title: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on September 28, 2017, 11:44:06 AM
I have multiple Nest Cams and they are constantly loosing connections,  this last sometimes more than 15 minutes and at that time I get annoying notifications on my phone.  Could this be because they are bouncing between the Router and the Extender?  i am running the latest firmware.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on September 29, 2017, 09:00:31 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)



Disable the extender and see if the cameras continue to experience problems...
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on September 30, 2017, 12:56:16 PM
I can try, but that means my further cameras wont connect.  I wish I could control which router or extender a device will stay attached to.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on September 30, 2017, 01:46:53 PM
By the way I use to have a Netgear Orbi System and had the same issue.  The temporary fix was to disable Implicit Beamforming (Now fixed with a current beta firmware).  There does not appear to be a way to disable this on the Dlink or even if it uses implicit Beamforming.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on September 30, 2017, 03:57:45 PM
Try disabling MU-MIMO...
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on October 05, 2017, 09:45:02 AM
I can try, but right now just using an Onhub router in bridge mode to supply connectivity to the nest Cam's.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on October 05, 2017, 10:18:59 AM
Whats this OnHub? Can you disconnect this unit and directly connect the NESTs to the COVR or extender and disable MIMO?
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on October 11, 2017, 05:22:43 PM
OnHub is a google router set to bridge mode.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on October 11, 2017, 07:41:08 PM
I would try cameras connected to COVR router with MIMO disabled.

Disable any wifi on the ONHUB router.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on October 12, 2017, 09:08:27 AM
The Onhub and Nest Cameras are using a different SSID than the Covr.  I actually have to change the WIFI information on all 6 of my cameras to switch them back to the Dlink.  BTW do you know if MU-Mimo is active on Guest Network?  I know the Extender is not active thru the Guest network.  I disabled the Onhub once and just set the Guest Network to the SSID I have set to the Nest cameras and the disconnects started again.  I am started to worry that the Covr has similar setup to the netgear orbi, and that has now been officially added to the Nest website as incompatible.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on October 12, 2017, 01:22:13 PM
Do you have a link to this information where the NESTs may not be compatible?

All you need to do instead of changing the cameras SSID information, change the SSID and PW information on the COVR to match what your ONHUB was doing after you disable the ONHUB wifi and test. I would test the cameras connected to the COVR2500 router and not use the COVR1300 extender for this test.

The Onhub and Nest Cameras are using a different SSID than the Covr.  I actually have to change the WIFI information on all 6 of my cameras to switch them back to the Dlink.  BTW do you know if MU-Mimo is active on Guest Network?  I know the Extender is not active thru the Guest network.  I disabled the Onhub once and just set the Guest Network to the SSID I have set to the Nest cameras and the disconnects started again.  I am started to worry that the Covr has similar setup to the netgear orbi, and that has now been officially added to the Nest website as incompatible.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on October 12, 2017, 02:08:47 PM
Do you have a link to this information where the NESTs may not be compatible?

All you need to do instead of changing the cameras SSID information, change the SSID and PW information on the COVR to match what your ONHUB was doing after you disable the ONHUB wifi and test. I would test the cameras connected to the COVR2500 router and not use the COVR1300 extender for this test.

The Onhub and Nest Cameras are using a different SSID than the Covr.  I actually have to change the WIFI information on all 6 of my cameras to switch them back to the Dlink.  BTW do you know if MU-Mimo is active on Guest Network?  I know the Extender is not active thru the Guest network.  I disabled the Onhub once and just set the Guest Network to the SSID I have set to the Nest cameras and the disconnects started again.  I am started to worry that the Covr has similar setup to the netgear orbi, and that has now been officially added to the Nest website as incompatible.
I have already tried it without the extender.  And changing the SSID on the Covr would leave all my other 50 devices without wifi, lol.  6 vs 56?  As for the link it is not talking about the Covr it is talking about the Netgear Orbi   https://nest.com/support/article/Some-routers-may-cause-issues-with-adding-a-Nest-product-or-Wi-Fi-connections
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on October 12, 2017, 02:15:34 PM
50 devices? Are they all connected to the COVR system or mixed between the COVR and ONHUB?
What Firmware version is currently loaded?
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on October 12, 2017, 02:24:12 PM
50 devices? Are they all connected to the COVR system or mixed between the COVR and ONHUB?
What Firmware version is currently loaded?

OMG why do you keep bringing up the Onhub?  :)  It is just the Brand Name of a plain old router.  It is in bridge mode connected via Ethernet.  It serves no purpose in my network but to supple my 6 cameras to wifi because they keep disconnecting and this does not happen when connected to the Onhub.  When connecting them directly via wifi to the Covr, they randomly disconnect over and over.  All My other devices connect to the Covr Router like they are intended to do.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on October 12, 2017, 02:27:18 PM
I'm asking how many devices do you have connected to the COVR. 50?
What FW version is currently loaded on the COVR router?
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on October 12, 2017, 02:32:40 PM
There around 50,  8 are probably Ethernet.  the fimware is 1.01
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on October 12, 2017, 02:35:34 PM
I have a 6 bedroom house and everything from smoke detectors, thermostats, tvs, computer, light switches...etc.  lol
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on October 12, 2017, 02:44:48 PM
Ok, hears the deal, you maybe running into a bandwidth limit on the COVR with having more than 20 devices connected to the COVR. That many device then trying to connect and maintain 6 additional cameras that are using medium to high bandwidth depending upon video quality your using is probably driving the COVR past it's limits in regards to how many wireless devices and bandwidth it can handle. You would need to disconnect or turn OFF ALL other devices from the COVR router, then connect say 3 to start, cameras to the COVR router and see if the problem continues or not. Generally most home class routers can only handle from 20 est active wireless connections at a time, any more then that you need to off load connections using other APs like your ONHUB using it as a wireless AP, LAN to LAN.

I for one have 3 cameras and 3 NEST Thermostats connected to my COVR system, however total devices would be around 10-15, all others are wired LAN devices.

If the problem continues with just the 3 and 6 cameras connected to the COVR system, then I presume there could be an issue between the COVR system and NEST cameras that need to be reviewed by both parties. I saw this issue couple of years ago with a different router Mfr and NEST Thermostats.  ::)
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: GreenBay42 on October 12, 2017, 03:02:27 PM
Honestly most HOME wireless routers can handle realistically around 15 devices (wirelessly). Remember that wireless is shared bandwidth. Cameras use a lot of it, especially if transmitting video. You may want to get an additional access point (not range extender) and split up your network.

MU-MIMO is on the extender. I believe it is 2x2 though. I will have to double-check the specs.

Are the nest cameras on 2.4GHz or 5GHz (when it drops from COVR)?
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on October 16, 2017, 11:08:43 AM
Ok, hears the deal, you maybe running into a bandwidth limit on the COVR with having more than 20 devices connected to the COVR. That many device then trying to connect and maintain 6 additional cameras that are using medium to high bandwidth depending upon video quality your using is probably driving the COVR past it's limits in regards to how many wireless devices and bandwidth it can handle. You would need to disconnect or turn OFF ALL other devices from the COVR router, then connect say 3 to start, cameras to the COVR router and see if the problem continues or not. Generally most home class routers can only handle from 20 est active wireless connections at a time, any more then that you need to off load connections using other APs like your ONHUB using it as a wireless AP, LAN to LAN.

I for one have 3 cameras and 3 NEST Thermostats connected to my COVR system, however total devices would be around 10-15, all others are wired LAN devices.

If the problem continues with just the 3 and 6 cameras connected to the COVR system, then I presume there could be an issue between the COVR system and NEST cameras that need to be reviewed by both parties. I saw this issue couple of years ago with a different router Mfr and NEST Thermostats.  ::)

Nest cameras only use about 0.5 MBPS, that is a problem?
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on October 16, 2017, 11:11:24 AM
I thought the Covr would have more capable than the google wifi setup I was using, but I guess not.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on October 16, 2017, 11:19:23 AM
Most home class wifi routers can only handle 15-20 devices online at the same time. If you have 50 devices, this will be over loading of the router and thus I presume you'll be seeing these disconnections. Googles wifi was probably doing the same thing if you were using the 50 devices as well.

To off load band width loading of devices of this amount, you would need to install another AP or two and sparse connecting your devices across these APs for good and optimal operation and performance. I have additional two APs in my house.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on October 16, 2017, 11:28:31 AM
A lot of those devices barely use date for example 10 are nest smoke detectors which only check in ever so often, not continuous streams.  The 6 nest cams are using a total of 0.10 Down and 2.1 up.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on October 16, 2017, 11:33:16 AM
Most likely it's still a connection with the devices and the router. Regardless of bandwidth.

To really tests this, you'll need to disconnect and turn OFF all devices connected to the COVR and then set up just the cameras to see if they alone are working with the COVR router or not. I better way would be to change the SSID name on the COVR router then set up the cameras for the new SSID name and test.
I haven't seen any issues with my COVR with all of my devices connected including 3 cameras and two NEST thermostats however again, maybe 15-20 wireless devices connected at any time.

Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on October 17, 2017, 12:11:19 AM
I get your point, but I have never picked up a router box and seen a device limit printed on it.  Seems like in this day and age, the more you pay for a router, the more issues you have.  I guess the bottom line is I bought and tried it, but it just didn't work for me.  I have beta tested many devices and they should have chose me for this one.  Good luck you guys, but I can't continue with this, since there is a return period.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on October 17, 2017, 09:23:18 AM
Good Luck in your endeavours.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on January 23, 2018, 10:39:26 AM
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=73003.0 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=73003.0)
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on January 25, 2018, 11:07:20 AM
Camera's continue to disconnect.  Static IP's set and Extender not in use.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on January 25, 2018, 11:13:09 AM
Wonder if there is a problem with NEST cameras and this router. My NEST Controllers are working.  ???

I presume that these cameras work with your other routers you've tested?
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on January 25, 2018, 03:27:21 PM
It is likely the type of beamforming the router uses.  implicit beamforming caused problems with nest and the Netgear Orbi, but it could be turned off as a workaround.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on January 25, 2018, 03:42:15 PM
What channel is the COVR using now that the FW has fixed the prior Channel issue?
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on August 19, 2018, 02:27:43 PM
The problem is "Implicit Beamforming"  It is apparently on by default with this router and there is no setting to turn it off.  This feature does not play well with nest products.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on August 20, 2018, 06:20:06 AM
Possible problem that NEST and D-Link should review.
I never saw any issues with my two NEST controllers...I'll have D-Link check on this.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: GreenBay42 on August 20, 2018, 07:04:39 AM
What Nest products do you have?

I need ALL model numbers and current firmware versions.

What firmware is on the router and extender?

How many devices are connected wirelessly to the router and extender (not just Nest, all of them). How many 2.4 vs 5GHz?

Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on August 21, 2018, 04:18:48 PM
What Nest products do you have?

I need ALL model numbers and current firmware versions.

What firmware is on the router and extender?

How many devices are connected wirelessly to the router and extender (not just Nest, all of them). How many 2.4 vs 5GHz?

I have 3 Nest Outdoor Cams
3 Nest Indoor Cams
7 Nest Protects

All Protects are 2.4  the Cams will do 5 or 2.4

This is not a dlink issue it happens with any router with implicit beamforming enabled the difference is Netgear, Askey, Asus allow you to disable it.  Linksys Velop and Google Wifi routers don't use it.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on August 22, 2018, 06:26:57 AM
Have you contacted NEST about this? I presume they should also look into this. This is not the first time NEST has had issues with there products running on routers.  ::)
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: GreenBay42 on August 22, 2018, 06:46:14 AM
Does Nest state this is the reason for the cameras dropping connection?  I will pass this on to the router guy to look into. Hopefully D-Link can add an enable/disable option.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on August 23, 2018, 12:45:18 PM
Nest suggest to turn it off.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: GreenBay42 on September 05, 2018, 08:37:43 AM
We sent in a ticket (Dtrack) to our engineers to look at.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on September 05, 2018, 09:56:13 AM
Wonder if there could be any relation to the NEST controllers we are seeing on the COVR-1203...
 ???
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: GreenBay42 on September 05, 2018, 10:04:42 AM
Yes I am assuming the same issue. The Dtrack I sent included both COVR units and all Nest devices.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on September 05, 2018, 10:13:16 AM
Thank you Sir.  ;)
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: GreenBay42 on September 14, 2018, 07:35:58 AM
Received BETA firmware for the router. This has beamforming disabled so let me know if your nest products work. There may be a performance hit due to the fact that beamforming is disabled. Report any issues.

ftp://FTP2.DLINK.COM/PRODUCTS/COVR-3902-US/BETA/COVR-2600R_Firmware_v101b05_0911_BFdisabled.zip (ftp://FTP2.DLINK.COM/PRODUCTS/COVR-3902-US/BETA/COVR-2600R_Firmware_v101b05_0911_BFdisabled.zip)
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: davevt31 on September 14, 2018, 10:41:43 AM
Has this actually been tested or are we the ones testing it ?   (Fond memories of the extender firmware  :o) )
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: GreenBay42 on September 14, 2018, 10:49:09 AM
I am not sure about how much testing this had from the vendor. If you have nest product feel free :)  It is more for mloc3 to try.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: davevt31 on September 14, 2018, 10:59:57 AM
You may want to zip up the file as the link is directly to the binary itself. 

I don't have any camera so I will pass for now, unless its a check box to turn beamforming on/off,  sounds like its just disabled.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: GreenBay42 on September 14, 2018, 12:33:08 PM
You may want to zip up the file as the link is directly to the binary itself. 

Done
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: GreenBay42 on September 26, 2018, 07:35:22 AM
Any update mloc? Did you try the beta firmware?
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on October 07, 2018, 09:51:05 PM
What beta firmware are you referring to?  The beta firmware that is posted here is now the current production one, to my knowledge.  And no it did not change anything.  I not actively using the cover and firmware updates seem none existent.  I check back every now and then to see if anything new is posted, if so, I will test it out.  I am currently using a Linksys Velop.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: davevt31 on October 08, 2018, 04:13:41 AM
Received BETA firmware for the router. This has beamforming disabled so let me know if your nest products work. There may be a performance hit due to the fact that beamforming is disabled. Report any issues.

ftp://FTP2.DLINK.COM/PRODUCTS/COVR-3902-US/BETA/COVR-2600R_Firmware_v101b05_0911_BFdisabled.zip (ftp://FTP2.DLINK.COM/PRODUCTS/COVR-3902-US/BETA/COVR-2600R_Firmware_v101b05_0911_BFdisabled.zip)
This is the Beta
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on October 08, 2018, 11:38:28 AM
I believe the beta posted here was for your review and installation. It's not made into release. Last version of v1.05 was last year and fixed the channel issue we found on the 3902 that was stuck on channel 5 on 2.4ghz. Please give the beta linked in this forum thread a installation and let us know if it resolves anything for you.

What beta firmware are you referring to?  The beta firmware that is posted here is now the current production one, to my knowledge.  And no it did not change anything.  I not actively using the cover and firmware updates seem none existent.  I check back every now and then to see if anything new is posted, if so, I will test it out.  I am currently using a Linksys Velop.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: GreenBay42 on October 09, 2018, 07:16:17 AM
Correct that BETA I posted was for mloc.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on October 10, 2018, 06:49:09 AM
He informed me that he missed the linked and has it now as of yesterday.  ::)

Correct that BETA I posted was for mloc.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on October 10, 2018, 10:05:49 AM
So I went into testing the beta firmware and immediately had issues.  I have 6 cameras and at no one time would all cameras connect to the network at the same time.  If I could get 4 to connect to the network 2 would be down.  I one of the down cameras connected, one of the connected cameras would go down.  The beta firmware seemed to be a little worse.  I also noticed, and this is not specific to the beta firmware, but when using the dlink vs linksys velop, my feeds from my cameras have lighter or washed out images.  I don't know if that means anything.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on October 10, 2018, 10:25:51 AM
How was the FW applied to the router?

Did you turn OFF the cameras while setting up the Router then turn them on or just leave them on while you were setting up the router?

So I went into testing the beta firmware and immediately had issues.  I have 6 cameras and at no one time would all cameras connect to the network at the same time.  If I could get 4 to connect to the network 2 would be down.  I one of the down cameras connected, one of the connected cameras would go down.  The beta firmware seemed to be a little worse.  I also noticed, and this is not specific to the beta firmware, but when using the dlink vs linksys velop, my feeds from my cameras have lighter or washed out images.  I don't know if that means anything.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: GreenBay42 on October 10, 2018, 10:31:09 AM
Also, after the firmware update, reset the extender and setup, then connect the cameras.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on October 27, 2018, 10:56:33 AM
How was the FW applied to the router?

Did you turn OFF the cameras while setting up the Router then turn them on or just leave them on while you were setting up the router?

So I went into testing the beta firmware and immediately had issues.  I have 6 cameras and at no one time would all cameras connect to the network at the same time.  If I could get 4 to connect to the network 2 would be down.  I one of the down cameras connected, one of the connected cameras would go down.  The beta firmware seemed to be a little worse.  I also noticed, and this is not specific to the beta firmware, but when using the dlink vs linksys velop, my feeds from my cameras have lighter or washed out images.  I don't know if that means anything.
The firmware was applied with the router in use and a reset was done after.  I do not use the router because I can not have non functioning cameras.  I just take it out of the box when you want me to test.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on October 27, 2018, 11:53:33 AM
Did you power OFF the cameras while upgrading the FW or reboot them all?

Thanks for letting us know.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: FurryNutz on November 16, 2018, 07:13:56 AM
Any status on this? Let us know so we can gather more information for D-Link to get this fixed.

How was the FW applied to the router?

Did you turn OFF the cameras while setting up the Router then turn them on or just leave them on while you were setting up the router?

So I went into testing the beta firmware and immediately had issues.  I have 6 cameras and at no one time would all cameras connect to the network at the same time.  If I could get 4 to connect to the network 2 would be down.  I one of the down cameras connected, one of the connected cameras would go down.  The beta firmware seemed to be a little worse.  I also noticed, and this is not specific to the beta firmware, but when using the dlink vs linksys velop, my feeds from my cameras have lighter or washed out images.  I don't know if that means anything.
The firmware was applied with the router in use and a reset was done after.  I do not use the router because I can not have non functioning cameras.  I just take it out of the box when you want me to test.
Title: Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
Post by: mloc3 on November 20, 2018, 08:28:15 AM
Sadly I am using the Covr as a wired router only.  I am using a Linksys Velop mesh in bridge mode for my wireless connections.