D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-890L => Topic started by: chetvolpe on September 14, 2017, 10:44:21 AM

Title: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity... quit working
Post by: chetvolpe on September 14, 2017, 10:44:21 AM
In the past, in the Home screen, Connected Clients (#). shows a list of active clients. When click on one of the connected client cards (not the edit icon) would show activity for the device. This no longer works. No updates have been made.

Model Name: DIR-890L   Hardware Version: A1   Firmware Version: 1.10
iMac14,2
Chrome or Safari (latest versions)
Title: Re: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity... quit working
Post by: FurryNutz on September 14, 2017, 10:50:59 AM
You mean this?
(https://image.ibb.co/d9a1ik/Screen_Shot_2017_09_14_at_11_48_40_AM.png)

Mines in AP mode currently. I don't know if it works in AP mode...Not seeing any data thus far.
Title: Re: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity... quit working
Post by: chetvolpe on September 14, 2017, 11:00:16 AM
Exactly, that doesn't happen anymore...
Title: Re: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity... quit working
Post by: FurryNutz on September 14, 2017, 11:00:49 AM
Have you tried the latest version of FW?  ???
Title: Re: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity... quit working
Post by: chetvolpe on September 14, 2017, 11:04:28 AM
Have downloaded DIR-890L_REVA_FIRMWARE_PATCH_v1.11B02.BETA01 and waiting to install until others in the house will not be impacted. Also, need to find the V1.10 to download to have as a backup.
Title: Re: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity... quit working
Post by: FurryNutz on September 14, 2017, 11:06:16 AM
Should be in the same area that you can download.

I've ask for some review on this as well. Let us know when you can with the newer FW.
Title: Re: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity... quit working
Post by: Gattsu on September 14, 2017, 12:20:57 PM
I think this one requires the QoS Engine enabled. Please check.
Title: Re: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity... quit working
Post by: FurryNutz on September 14, 2017, 12:36:21 PM
How about AP mode?

I think this one requires the QoS Engine enabled. Please check.
Title: Re: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity... quit working
Post by: GreenBay42 on September 14, 2017, 12:37:38 PM
QoS has to be enabled to even show up (with firmware 1.11B02). I enabled it and ran a youtube video on my computer and it displayed traffic.
Title: Re: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity... quit working
Post by: FurryNutz on September 14, 2017, 01:27:16 PM
Im wondering if in AP mode, this feature should be hidden?

QoS has to be enabled to even show up (with firmware 1.11B02). I enabled it and ran a youtube video on my computer and it displayed traffic.
Title: Re: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity... quit working
Post by: chetvolpe on September 14, 2017, 01:32:01 PM
Yep! That fixed it. Much appreciated - turned QOS back on and now have the activity display.
Title: Re: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity... quit working
Post by: FurryNutz on September 14, 2017, 01:33:01 PM
Let me test with WAN to LAN in AP mode and see if I get anything. Current is LAN to LAN.

Im wondering if in AP mode, this feature should be hidden?

QoS has to be enabled to even show up (with firmware 1.11B02). I enabled it and ran a youtube video on my computer and it displayed traffic.
Title: Re: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity... quit working
Post by: Gattsu on September 14, 2017, 01:37:38 PM
This is only able to measure WLAN/LAN to WAN traffic.

It will not see WLAN to WLAN or LAN to LAN or WLAN to LAN.
Title: Re: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity... quit working
Post by: GreenBay42 on September 14, 2017, 01:38:41 PM
chetvolpe - Glad it is working now.  Is that with the 1.10 firmware? You may want to try the 1.11B02 beta. Wireless stability and connectivity is much better and fixed some security exploits. But if it aint broke dont fix it :)
Title: Re: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity... quit working
Post by: chetvolpe on September 14, 2017, 01:44:13 PM
Still running V1.10 but about ready to install 1.11 as I am having some wireless issues with some devices dropping.

Thanks,

Chet
Title: Re: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity... quit working
Post by: FurryNutz on September 14, 2017, 02:27:29 PM
Go for v1.11. It's way better. Solid WiFI now.
Title: Re: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity... quit working
Post by: chetvolpe on February 07, 2018, 08:49:02 PM
So, it has been a while, but here is the update on any and all issues I was having with my DIR-890L, Hardware Version: A1.

Did a factory reset and installed Firmware Version: 1.1.

Now only problem left was all of my smart switches kept going offline (as well as any other 2.4 band devices). Fixed this by:
   1. turned off Smart Connect
   2. disabled HT 20/40
   3. removed all reserved addresses

It has now been 18 days without any smart switches or other 2.4 band devices going offline.  :) :) :)

The router is now solid as a rock.

Thanks,

Chet
Title: Re: In past, click on connected clients card showed device activity. (RESOLVED)
Post by: FurryNutz on February 07, 2018, 09:31:24 PM
Enjoy.  ;)