D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-890L => Topic started by: xtis on November 20, 2016, 03:22:18 AM

Title: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: xtis on November 20, 2016, 03:22:18 AM
Hi!
Really happy with my new DIR 890L, I have just one problem when I try to rename or affect fixed IP to a device/client.
I have error message : The maximum number of permitted DHCP reservations has been exceeded
What is the limit of reservations ?
Even when I delete 1 fixed IP (to eventually add 1 another), I have the same message....

Can you help me ?

Thanks !
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: RYAT3 on November 20, 2016, 06:30:14 AM
Which f/w do you have loaded?
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: xtis on November 20, 2016, 08:01:20 AM
it's indicating DIR-890L    HW:A1    FW:1.10
an idea ?
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on November 20, 2016, 11:53:23 AM
Try v1.11 and do a factory reset, load FW manually, factory reset then set up from scratch. Clear your browser caches before and after load the FW file. Use IE11 or FF. Do not use chrome!

Reservations are limited to 24 on most D-Link routers. I don't know why they set a limitation. So don't ask.
I recommend doing the following for devices that don't need any router management or much Internet access or filtering. Set a static IP address out side of the default DHCP IP address pool ON devices that don't need router management. Devices like printers, controllers, cameras, streamers, NAS and phones. Doing this will give more room for devices that need router management and free up IP address reservation limits.
Please review: DHCP (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=58017.0)
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: xtis on November 21, 2016, 01:40:48 AM
ok, thanks for your reply.
 :)
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on November 21, 2016, 06:58:01 AM
Good Luck.  ;)
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: sebehk on November 22, 2016, 10:15:53 PM
When I first setup my 890, I had all of my devices on DHCP. After learning that 24 is the maximum, I placed most of them on static IP addresses and only 10 will remain on DHCP.

Trying to add the last 3 devices on DHCP, the 890 gave me the "The maximum number of permitted DHCP reservations has been exceeded" error message.

So, how does one clear/purge the DHCP list from the 890? Is a factory reset the only way to clear this list?

Thanks.

Firmware: 1.10.B07

--->Robert
8-)
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on November 23, 2016, 06:45:02 AM
There was some issues in the DHCP and assigning and naming of devices.

I would give v1.11 a try and see how it does for you. Again, same limitations however naming of devices should be ok.

Please follow the FW update process to apply the update and set up from scratch.

When I first setup my 890, I had all of my devices on DHCP. After learning that 24 is the maximum, I placed most of them on static IP addresses and only 10 will remain on DHCP.

Trying to add the last 3 devices on DHCP, the 890 gave me the "The maximum number of permitted DHCP reservations has been exceeded" error message.

So, how does one clear/purge the DHCP list from the 890? Is a factory reset the only way to clear this list?

Thanks.

Firmware: 1.10.B07

--->Robert
8-)
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: sebehk on November 25, 2016, 05:11:02 PM
Receiving same error after installing 1.11 and following the firmware update procedures.

Other than that, I still love my 890.

--->Robert
8-)

There was some issues in the DHCP and assigning and naming of devices.

I would give v1.11 a try and see how it does for you. Again, same limitations however naming of devices should be ok.

Please follow the FW update process to apply the update and set up from scratch.
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on November 26, 2016, 09:40:09 AM
So just naming the connected devices, your seeing a limit reached message even if you don't set reservations?
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: sebehk on November 26, 2016, 04:20:26 PM
Yes. I first edit and save the devices on DHCP and then do the same for the devices on static IPs. I receive the same error.

--->Robert
8-)

So just naming the connected devices, your seeing a limit reached message even if you don't set reservations?
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on November 27, 2016, 11:48:30 AM
Ok, thanks for this information.

Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: sebehk on November 28, 2016, 10:48:26 PM
Very strange...I no longer receive the error and was able to add all of my static and DHCP devices. I guess it's an early Christmas miracle.  ;D

FYI: I did not see it in 1.10, but with 1.11, multiple devices had the same name before I edited them.

--->Robert
8-)
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on November 29, 2016, 07:01:21 AM
So you were able to edit the names of all the devices with out getting a message?
What browser are you using when your editing the names?
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: sebehk on November 29, 2016, 09:02:32 AM
I am using latest Safari on MacOS X 10.12.1.

So you were able to edit the names of all the devices with out getting a message?
What browser are you using when your editing the names?

Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on November 29, 2016, 10:23:45 AM
Ok. I still have yet to load Sierra.  ::)

Thanks for the info...
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on December 09, 2016, 01:08:28 PM
I have Sierra loaded on my Mac Mini. I'll check on this again.
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: sebehk on December 17, 2016, 11:09:57 AM
I received the error again after trying to add 3 DHCP devices to an already 10 devices. My static devices total 20. All device names have been previously edited before the 3 new dynamic devices.

--->Robert
8-)
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on December 17, 2016, 11:58:38 AM
DO you have this version of FW loaded?
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=66025.0 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=66025.0)


I received the error again after trying to add 3 DHCP devices to an already 10 devices. My static devices total 20. All device names have been previously edited before the 3 new dynamic devices.

--->Robert
8-)
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: sebehk on December 18, 2016, 09:33:28 AM
No, I have version 1.11 loaded, the security update.

--->Robert
8-)

DO you have this version of FW loaded?
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=66025.0 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=66025.0)
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on December 19, 2016, 07:13:02 AM
If you get some time, can you load the v1.10 version from the Canada site and see if you get the same thing?
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: sebehk on December 19, 2016, 05:28:22 PM
Sure thing. I'll post my results when I can.

--->Robert
8-)
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on December 20, 2016, 06:40:59 AM
Thank you for your time.
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: sebehk on December 26, 2016, 04:53:38 AM
Successfully uploaded Canadian firmware 1.10b07 BETA onto my 890L/R.

I still get the same >:( error >:( after adding and editing names for 13 reserved DHCP and 12 static IP devices.

--->Robert
8-)

If you get some time, can you load the v1.10 version from the Canada site and see if you get the same thing?
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on December 26, 2016, 01:24:52 PM
Would you submit a support ticket on this and include this forum thread in the ticket for review as well?
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: sebehk on December 27, 2016, 08:12:03 AM
Support ticket entered and forum thread included.

--->Robert
8-)

Would you submit a support ticket on this and include this forum thread in the ticket for review as well?
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on December 27, 2016, 01:57:15 PM
Thank you very much.
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: Richpat on January 25, 2017, 04:26:33 PM
hmmm,
I have this problem before. The maximum number of device that you can reserve is 24.

If you name a device without a reserved IP address, it takes one of the 24 allocated memory.

In others words,

Named a device is the same as reserved an IP address for a device.

If you named the  "unknown" device as IP camera, you lost one of 24 memories.

Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on January 25, 2017, 04:44:15 PM
Is this still happening for you?

hmmm,
I have this problem before. The maximum number of device that you can reserve is 24.

If you name a device without a reserved IP address, it takes one of the 24 allocated memory.

In others words,

Named a device is the same as reserved an IP address for a device.

If you named the  "unknown" device as IP camera, you lost one of 24 memories.
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: Richpat on January 29, 2017, 01:33:43 PM
Sorry for the late update. I was quite upset with this router. I was trying not to do anymore testing on it. I should have return it for refund instead of taking the advise from Dlink tech support saying the problem will be fixed in the next firmware update. The first day I installed it, I encountered issue. Now one year warranty is expired, i stuck with it.

Going back to the problem.

I have updated the router firmware to the latest canadian version 1.10b07. I reset the router to factory default, then a power cycle it.
I manually entered all the network configuration then another power cycle.

I did not named any device or reserved any IP address until now.

On the home page of the router, Dlink smart plug will display correctly, some others devices will display correctly, but 70% of connected device will be displayed as either "unknown" or duplicated named device on the network. i.e. it could display you have 4 HP printers instead of only 1.

I can named up to 24 devices (no IP reservation) then the message "The maximum number of permitted DHCP reservations has been exceeded".

So I can verify that the problem is still there. Naming a device is the same as IP reservation

On top of that, the home page/router cannot truly tell you the number of connected devices on the network.
I have 37 devices connected onto the network. The home page can only display max 27 which i have seen so far.
But it is not always display 27 devices, most of time less it is than 27.

This create a problem if I want to add a new device on the network. It is because the new device NEVER appear on the home page, hence I would not know its new ip address. Therefore I cannot configure the new device via its web portal.

Luckily I can use a mobile phone apps LAN scanner to identify the new device ip address.

So far, Dlink tech support told me to DISABLE Smart Connect, QoS Engine.

It is because I discover random disconnection problem.



Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on January 29, 2017, 05:39:06 PM
I'll pass this on to D-Link for review. Thank you for the information.

If you have devices like printers and such that don't need much internet access or router management, use static IP addresses out side the routers default DHCP IP address pool.
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on July 19, 2017, 03:06:50 PM
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=66984.0 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=66984.0)
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: sebehk on July 21, 2017, 06:24:51 AM
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=66984.0 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=66984.0)
Loaded:  DIR-890L_REVA_FIRMWARE_PATCH_v1.11B02.BETA01

Tried to add new DHCP reservation/name to the list and no luck. I still get the same error as before.
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on July 21, 2017, 09:11:40 AM
Did you have some reservations set already and how many or just let everything go then come back and try to add something?

I just tried to add some reservations and was able too however my routers as rebooted several times last evening.  ::)


http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=66984.0 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=66984.0)
Loaded:  DIR-890L_REVA_FIRMWARE_PATCH_v1.11B02.BETA01

Tried to add new DHCP reservation/name to the list and no luck. I still get the same error as before.
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: sebehk on July 21, 2017, 12:41:26 PM
Did you have some reservations set already and how many or just let everything go then come back and try to add something?

I just tried to add some reservations and was able too however my routers as rebooted several times last evening.  ::)

I already had 12 DHCP clients and 25 static clients already saved. Tried to add ONE more client in the DHCP pool and gave me the error. (Too busy to do a full reset.)

--->Robert
8-)
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on July 22, 2017, 09:44:49 AM
Ok. I've asked D-Link what we should be expecting to see...
 ::)
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: a714gomez on July 25, 2017, 08:40:28 AM
Hello sebehk!

Are you naming some of the devices with static ips? Saw on your reply #12 that the multiple devices sharing the same name resulted in a mix up.
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on July 25, 2017, 08:55:26 AM
I believe I was naming some of my static devices long with setting reservations on others. I ran into this problem a few versions back and expressed to the admin at the time that we were running to the maximum exceeded message back then.
Since then I have stopped doing that for the time being and giving names if there is a unknown host name devices found. Currently I have 6 unknown host name devices in my list as I haven't had a chance to name them as of yet.
(https://image.ibb.co/j38gN5/Screen_Shot_2017_07_25_at_9_50_26_AM.png)
(https://image.ibb.co/jgk6pk/Screen_Shot_2017_07_25_at_9_50_58_AM.png)
I notice that some of the unknown names are devices that use a static IP address out side of the default DHCP IP address pool.  ???
Some are with in. Like the DCS-936L and my Xbox One, lol  :o

Hello sebehk!

Are you naming some of the devices with static ips? Saw on your reply #12 that the multiple devices sharing the same name resulted in a mix up.
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: sebehk on July 25, 2017, 11:37:34 PM
Hello sebehk!

Are you naming some of the devices with static ips? Saw on your reply #12 that the multiple devices sharing the same name resulted in a mix up.

Yes. I am naming devices with static IPs along with devices on DHCP.

When I first bought this router, I added the DHCP devices first and then the static IP devices. I got the error.

So after uploading the next firmware (the latest one from Canada), I added static IP devices first and then DHCP devices. After adding 26 static IP devices I tried to add the 14th DHCP device and it gives me the error.

Every firmware I have tried up to this point always gives me the error.

--->Robert
8-)
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: Richpat on August 01, 2017, 08:35:12 PM
The max number of the reserved IP on the router is 24. Even if you just named a device without the ip reservation enabled, it is also seen as a ip reservation by the router.

Name a device (without ip reservation enable) = IP reservation enable( without  naming) = Naming a device with Ip reservation.

I have 42 devices on the network, I just have to accept the limitation on this router. I have some unknown devices and some duplicated named devices on the network.

I have given up on testing of this router and just simply accept all the problems that come with it.

At least the most important functions, connect to internet, Ethernet connection and wifi (not smart connect) are seem working fine.
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on August 01, 2017, 09:02:42 PM
Thanks for posting about this and about your experiences. I've passed this on to D-Link support. This is under review. I hope that something can be done.
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: Richpat on August 06, 2017, 08:12:38 AM
well. After I have the router new firmware run for weeks, it finally failed for the first time. The router hung up/locked. The only light on was the power(green) and the internet (Orange), all other light were off. It was not possible to connect to the router home page via LAN. It was not possible to get connected with wifi. According to the wifi scanner apps on the mobile phone, the wifi signal was ON and OFF. I did not use smart connect.

I ran a power cycle on the router and now seem OK. I will monitor it for a while. Should I create a regular power cycle schedule with this router?

This Dlink TOP END router really kill my image with them.

Can anyone suggest a way to monitor/test  the wifi signal. I use my phone to listen to the internet radio streaming. From time to time, the streaming was broken. I always suspect this router wifi is NOT reliable. That is why I use LAN for IP cameras as much as possible. Someone may said it was problem with the streaming apps.


Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on August 06, 2017, 11:20:33 AM
Green Power LED?

Mines White or Red...

Did you have the wifi radio output set for High or Medium?
What all did you have connected to the router when it seems to hang?
Was both wireless and wired connections inaccessible?
Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: Richpat on August 06, 2017, 07:41:27 PM
Sorry my mistake, white colour on power, red on internet.

All output power are high.

I woke up in the morning trying to get my phone connected to the wifi, then I noticed the problem.

According to the phone wifi setting, i can see the wifi SSID (both 2.4Gz and 2 5GHz) But i noticed the SSID is on and off.  Then I used a LAN connection to access the router home page and it could not be reach. I went to the router to check, I saw only power and internet LED light only.

Both wireless and wire connections are inaccessible. After a power cycle, it seems ok now.
I will monitor it for a few weeks. By the way, the QoS cannot be changed.

Title: Re: maximum DHCP reservations exceeded
Post by: FurryNutz on August 06, 2017, 08:19:08 PM
Try setting wireless output to Medium and see if there are any changes.