D-Link Forums

D-Link Network Video Recorders => DNR-202L => Topic started by: BAMoh on September 21, 2016, 11:25:15 AM

Title: No HDD in slot 1. HDD plugged into slot 2
Post by: BAMoh on September 21, 2016, 11:25:15 AM
Situation:

No HDD in slot 1. HDD plugged into slot 2 and recording properly but not yet filled.
Plug empty HDD into slot 1, DNR buzzes wildly and reads from HDD slot 1 and ignores HDD slot 2.

The firmware is not "smart" enough to continue writing to HDD slot 2 before using HDD slot 1.

Please fix this problem.  DLINK can do their own testing if they desire to. Customer reports problems and not responsible to prove existence when already experienced and as a courtesy relayed to DLINK via DLINK proxy board.
Title: Re: No HDD in slot 1. HDD plugged into slot 2
Post by: FurryNutz on September 21, 2016, 11:29:22 AM
What happens if you unplug the DNR then plug in HDD to slot 1 then plug in the DNR?
And do these USB drives have there own power adapter?

What happens if you plug in a drive to slot 2 while slot 1 is already connected.
Title: Re: No HDD in slot 1. HDD plugged into slot 2
Post by: Kakashi::. on September 21, 2016, 12:16:29 PM

Thanks for your report!

We'll have D-Link do their job...  ;)


Situation:

No HDD in slot 1. HDD plugged into slot 2 and recording properly but not yet filled.
Plug empty HDD into slot 1, DNR buzzes wildly and reads from HDD slot 1 and ignores HDD slot 2.

The firmware is not "smart" enough to continue writing to HDD slot 2 before using HDD slot 1.

Please fix this problem.  DLINK can do their own testing if they desire to. Customer reports problems and not responsible to prove existence when already experienced and as a courtesy relayed to DLINK via DLINK proxy board.


Title: Re: No HDD in slot 1. HDD plugged into slot 2
Post by: BAMoh on September 21, 2016, 03:05:09 PM
Fuzz I dont have time to do any testing.

What I did notice later unfortunately is the procedure took HDD slot 2 and the drive connected to it off record mode. So I missed several hours of recording. When I noticed it I plugged it into HDD slot 1 and it functions. DLINK should really fix this or warn people in their manual. HDD2 is more or less a secondary slot. If you have HDDs in slot 1 and 2, and slot 1s HDD fills it will record on slot 2's HDD. You can unplug HDD 1 and it will be fine. But dont mess with HDD slot 1 until HDD2 is full.
Title: Re: No HDD in slot 1. HDD plugged into slot 2
Post by: FurryNutz on September 22, 2016, 06:33:37 AM
Thanks for your report!

We'll have D-Link do their job...  ::)