D-Link Forums

D-Link Network Video Recorders => DNR-202L => Topic started by: BAMoh on August 29, 2016, 09:06:22 AM

Title: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 29, 2016, 09:06:22 AM
So I just installed a 202L...
Questions:
1) When watching live video I keep seeing "connecting" in red. Seems signal is dropping? Didn't see this last night. For clarification, the "connecting" issues appears in the 202L GUI but in mydlink on Android it is rock steady and has always been so. Never had a problem on PC either through mydlink.com.


Observations:
1) Older USB HDD's won't work. Seems the port doesn't give enough power. Newer one's despite much higher capacity are OK.
2) DNS Interface only allows 15 digit PWs. Normal mydlink allows 30 digits.
3) Setup process is terrible
a) On setup given two router choices despite I only have one. Identical IP and MAC addy. My guess is because the router is dual band. If so, they need to fix this as have to guess.
b) GUI is ****py IMO. Sort of intuitive but could be better. Firware update improved it but still leaves lots to be desired.


Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 29, 2016, 11:29:47 AM
The answer is it only happens in 4 channel mode to conserve/allocate bandwith. Only when viewing but doesn't affect recording.

Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 29, 2016, 08:20:15 PM

I get the dropping a lot on the Wireless-N cam.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 30, 2016, 09:44:58 AM
Bamoh,

Try an export of video clip.

Does it do like this for me?

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65377.0;topicseen (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65377.0;topicseen)
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 07:14:00 AM
OK I can probably do this tomorrow. No worry.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 09:46:01 AM
Im having trouble with installing a portable USB HDD with the 202L. Using a USB 3.0 2TB without success. DLINK support says wont work unless 2.0. Used an older USB 2.0 with only 300GB capacity and it didnt work. They have no answer on that. All drives are Western Digital Passports. GUI doesnt recognize the drives. The install wizard software does for the 2TB but wont format it.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 31, 2016, 10:02:13 AM
Can you post a link to the exact model?

I want to compare to my wd ultra passport usb 3.0 3TB. I do know my packaging doesn't say "5400 rpm" like the newer ones I saw on store shelf.

I only have 1 plugged in, and I have used both ports.

The dnr202l is in a power strip with a DNR 890l.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 31, 2016, 10:13:20 AM
You did upgrade the f/w on the dnr202l?
I went from like 1.0 to latest 2.something.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 10:21:41 AM
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/wd-my-passport-ultra-2tb-external-usb-3-0-hard-drive-black/9617227.p?id=1219033486638&

I tried this and the 202L doesnt see via the GUI. Via the setup wizard it does see it but on next step to format it states no HDD found.

Support said USB 3.0 is not backward compatible per their lab.

How did you get yours to work? You have the same drive but higher capacity.

Also I read your other post and I formatted it to FAT 32 and it still doesnt recognize.

Yes for the 202L I upgraded the firmware.

The only thing working so far is a USB flash drive. As I said a 1st gen WD Passport at 300GB capacity USB 2.0 didnt work. I didnt format it to FAT32 though but the wizard didnt recognize it at all nor did the GUI.

All my stuff is plugged into a power strip as well. Power strip too weak?
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 31, 2016, 12:27:00 PM
This is the one I ordered from new egg.

I paid $115 on 7/4/16.

https://m.newegg.com/Product/index?itemnumber=N82E16822236985 (https://m.newegg.com/Product/index?itemnumber=N82E16822236985)

I do remember having some issue initially.  Maybe I put it in my computer to make sure it was formatted. Mine reports as ntfs in Windows.  I don't think I formatted in the dnr. I've got about 50% full now.


Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: FurryNutz on August 31, 2016, 12:31:35 PM
Be sure USB drives 1Tb or bigger have there own power supplies...
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 31, 2016, 02:11:56 PM
Bamoh:

Here's the drive list. Mines under "new".

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/catalog/?segment=2 (http://www.wdc.com/en/products/catalog/?segment=2)

I found this energy efficiency document, but looks a year old. I'm guessing lower is better?

http://www.wdc.com/regulatory/compliance/Energy%20Consumption_20160322.pdf (http://www.wdc.com/regulatory/compliance/Energy%20Consumption_20160322.pdf)

All the drives appear spec'd at 5400 rpm from documents and product specs I've seen.

Must be newer labeling on the microcenter wd packaging I saw.

I have another dnr202l and another drive of the same vintage which I'll test at some point.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 03:09:39 PM
Be sure USB drives 1Tb or bigger have there own power supplies...
Yes but RYATT says he has a USB 3.0 WD Passport 3TB. And it works! That model doesnt permit external power. So DLINK support contradicts themselves. It is a lot of work to remove data from old drive and test repeatedly. Why does RYATT's work when I have the same drive but only lower capacity?
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 03:10:35 PM
This is the one I ordered from new egg.

I paid $115 on 7/4/16.

https://m.newegg.com/Product/index?itemnumber=N82E16822236985 (https://m.newegg.com/Product/index?itemnumber=N82E16822236985)

I do remember having some issue initially.  Maybe I put it in my computer to make sure it was formatted. Mine reports as ntfs in Windows.  I don't think I formatted in the dnr. I've got about 50% full now.

I will format again back to NTFS. But am sure the result will be fruitless as well.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 03:12:48 PM
Can you post a link to the exact model?

I want to compare to my wd ultra passport usb 3.0 3TB. I do know my packaging doesn't say "5400 rpm" like the newer ones I saw on store shelf.

I only have 1 plugged in, and I have used both ports.

The dnr202l is in a power strip with a DNR 890l.
Just checked now. Per Crystal Disk its 5200 RPM. That adds further to the mystery why yours works and mine doesn't!
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: FurryNutz on August 31, 2016, 03:36:08 PM
Does the new drive you got been already formatted by the Mfr or using there software?
Can you format the drive on a Windows PC for NTFS?

Does the usb drive have it's own power adapter?
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 04:09:05 PM
Does the new drive you got been already formatted by the Mfr or using there software?
Can you format the drive on a Windows PC for NTFS?

Does the usb drive have it's own power adapter?

Was already formatted to NTFS out of the box. I reformatted to NTFS FAT32 and exFAT. All no go. Now trying NTFS in MSDOS as last effort.

IMO support at DLINK will tell you anything to get you off the phone and should lose their job for such reason. I was told USB 3 doesnt work. Read 2 cases on Amazon where it does work and per RYATT it does. So support is lame and I have bad hardware IMO. F this, its going back after a few more attempts with a ripping review on Amazon from me.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 04:35:22 PM
Does the new drive you got been already formatted by the Mfr or using there software?
Can you format the drive on a Windows PC for NTFS?

Does the usb drive have it's own power adapter? NO. If it required that DLINK should market it as such. Other people are not using it. So the build quality is inconsistent and I should compensate by buying yet another drive and/or enclosure? Thats lame.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: FurryNutz on August 31, 2016, 04:40:33 PM
From the support site:
"Eternal Device Interfaces       
 10/100 BASE-TX Fast Ethernet Port for network connection             
 2 x USB 2.0 ports for external HDD storage"

I'm trying to remember if I connected my odd ball USB drive case at the time I got the DNR. The case was USB 3.0 compliant.  Been a while and since then I've moved that drive to my XB1.

I presume that if the Mfr USB drives were backwards compatible, it should work with the DNR and connect at 2.0.

I'll see if I can get some info on the DNR and USB support.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: FurryNutz on August 31, 2016, 04:42:26 PM
Thats probably the issue. You need a USB drive that comes with it's own power adapter.
Even with routers and other devices, I've seen any drive size 1Tb and over, needs it own power supply.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 31, 2016, 04:43:56 PM
Does the new drive you got been already formatted by the Mfr or using there software?
Can you format the drive on a Windows PC for NTFS?

Does the usb drive have it's own power adapter?

Was already formatted to NTFS out of the box. I reformatted to NTFS FAT32 and exFAT. All no go. Now trying NTFS in MSDOS as last effort.

IMO support at DLINK will tell you anything to get you off the phone and should lose their job for such reason. I was told USB 3 doesnt work. Read 2 cases on Amazon where it does work and per RYATT it does. So support is lame and I have bad hardware IMO. F this, its going back after a few more attempts with a ripping review on Amazon from me.

They might not have tried the newer Gen drives.  I'm sure a drive 3.0 with power adapter will work.

Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: FurryNutz on August 31, 2016, 04:53:53 PM
I'm sure most drives they test probably had the power adapter on line for testing.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 04:57:27 PM
RYATT yours works. Mine doesnt. We have the same drive except yours is higher capacity.
the others had latest gen Seagates and WD. One was the same as ours but 1TB capacity.

No dlinksays the DNR 202 formats it in Linux.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 05:00:05 PM
I'm sure most drives they test probably had the power adapter on line for testing.
They claim they have never tested any other than 2.0
Well they should consider its 2016 and they are not sold like that. So they should put a sticker on the box warning people. OR provide a workaround if possible.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 05:01:51 PM
Per Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/product-reviews/B00F0R9V76
UPDATE
8) The system is working really well now. I've upgraded the hard drive to a Western Digital® My Passport Ultra External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive, 1TB that works smoothly and also is the same size as the DNR-202L so they sit on top of each other nicely. Just to add to my previous notes:- I've changed all the cameras and the recorder to static ip addresses so that after a power outage the system should boot up correctly and every camera links to its correct ip address as stored by the DNR-202L.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: FurryNutz on August 31, 2016, 05:02:58 PM
There specs say USB 2.0 only. This is hardware specific so I presume they only tested with 2.0 devices. Any USB 3.0 drive would need to be backwards compatible to 2.0. As well as having there own power adapters, which you need with your drive.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 31, 2016, 05:10:09 PM
RYATT yours works. Mine doesnt. We have the same drive except yours is higher capacity.
the others had latest gen Seagates and WD. One was the same as ours but 1TB capacity.

No dlinksays the DNR 202 formats it in Linux.

No, my model is "new" for this year.  The 3TB didn't exist for your model/series.  See the WD product link I posted earlier and compare your model # and my model #. They made internal changes to get more data storage in there.  (unless they had more room).  There might be power gains from smaller internals.

(https://s21.postimg.org/s0rpanj2v/20160831_172526_resized.jpg) (https://postimg.org/image/mclejreqb/)

(https://s22.postimg.org/chjncqryp/wd_my_passport_ultra_dnr202l.png) (https://postimg.org/image/i5py3mwb1/)

*edit: removed mac id from image.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 31, 2016, 05:17:00 PM
Per Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/product-reviews/B00F0R9V76
UPDATE
8) The system is working really well now. I've upgraded the hard drive to a Western Digital® My Passport Ultra External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive, 1TB that works smoothly and also is the same size as the DNR-202L so they sit on top of each other nicely. Just to add to my previous notes:- I've changed all the cameras and the recorder to static ip addresses so that after a power outage the system should boot up correctly and every camera links to its correct ip address as stored by the DNR-202L.

Both of those drives are probably from the newer series.

The other person here couldn't get a 1 TB drive working.

My model:  WDBBKD0030BBK
Your model: WDBMWV0020BBK

Search on this page both model #s:

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/catalog/?segment=2 (http://www.wdc.com/en/products/catalog/?segment=2)

Maybe my unit is a freak unit.    :o I don't know.  I can only assume it's the drive series without testing more drives.  I do have some older Passport drives, but they have data on them, and I'm not going to experiment just yet.

I'll plug in the 2nd new drive (#WDBBKD0030BBK) and see if the DNR 202L gets overloaded from power issues.


Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 05:18:41 PM
They now tell me that any backward compat USB 3.0 should work.
But obviously it doesnt.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: FurryNutz on August 31, 2016, 05:19:49 PM
Your drive doesn't have the external power adapter. If you had it, it would probably work.  ::)
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 05:24:06 PM
I looked on my box and it reads WDBBKD0020BBK-NESN
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 31, 2016, 05:25:10 PM
I looked on my box and it reads WDBBKD0020BBK-NESN

The plot thickens then!!!!    :o
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 05:25:48 PM
I dont want to use a power adapter. DLINK stated it was not a requirement per support.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 31, 2016, 05:27:38 PM
My box says Made in Malaysia.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 05:28:36 PM
I looked on my box and it reads WDBBKD0020BBK-NESN

The plot thickens then!!!!    :o

I think we have identical drives except yours is higher capacity. I may try to reset but right now am formatting the HDD again and will take a while. After that I may just return the DNR. Already wasted time with a lower capacity drive moving data in prep only to find out it wont work. 3 days of dealing with this  BS is enough. DLINK deserves a &&& rating IMO regardless of the outcome.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 05:29:17 PM
Made in Thailand.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 31, 2016, 05:36:08 PM
My older passport boxes are a mix of Malaysia and Thailand. One was a 1.5TB drive which model # isn't on that product page, so it's definitely earlier.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 05:37:58 PM
FYI the DNR actually formats it to EXT3 for Linux per support.

Im guessing possible workaround is to format the HDD in Lunix first. But I dont use Linux.

I read on another review site where the reviewer formatted NTFS on PC and the DNR wont recognize the drive. Formattted on exFAT and it worked. But for me it did not work. Support also disputes there is a drop down menu which shows FAT32 and NTFS as formats for the drive in their own software. They really need to get their act together IMO.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 31, 2016, 05:44:46 PM
FYI the DNR actually formats it to EXT3 for Linux per support.

Im guessing possible workaround is to format the HDD in Lunix first. But I dont use Linux.

I read on another review site where the reviewer formatted NTFS on PC and the DNR wont recognize the drive. Formattted on exFAT and it worked. But for me it did not work. Support also disputes there is a drop down menu which shows FAT32 and NTFS as formats for the drive in their own software. They really need to get their act together IMO.

I mentioned in another post here, my drive shows at "FAT32" on that HARDDRIVE screen.  Furry is probably right that it is for formatting, and not reporting current drive status.

Let's ask another question - which Hardware version of the DNR 202L do you have?

My 2nd one says "H/W Ver A2".  Purchased like a month or 2 ago.

I'm still looking for the box of the 1st one I have in use to find H/W Ver. That was purchased earlier this year and is the one in use..
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 31, 2016, 05:50:08 PM

The bottom of the one in service says BNR202LL .... A1

so it must be H/W vers A1.

Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 05:52:29 PM
Mine reads version A1. From Amazon last week. Seems I got an old one?
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 05:54:26 PM
Mine reads version A1. From Amazon last week. Seems I got an old one?

On the WD seems the new model come with hardware encryption whereas the old one doesnt.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 31, 2016, 05:57:14 PM
Mine reads version A1. From Amazon last week. Seems I got an old one?

Yes, same as the one I am using with the 3TB.  So this points to the drive in my opinion still.


I opened the new one, it does say "A2" instead of "A1"... the label goes further and says "H/W Ver A2" on the bottom.  So this unit is newer. I haven't tested it.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 31, 2016, 06:09:48 PM
Attached 2nd WD 3TB drive.  It showed 0.0.  I formatted NTFS.

(https://s17.postimg.org/ubkw479a7/wd1.png) (https://postimg.org/image/n8d0ol3uj/)

(https://s16.postimg.org/60whlhvbp/wd2.png) (https://postimg.org/image/ot8cp2rpt/)
(https://s14.postimg.org/47310awc1/wd3.png) (https://postimg.org/image/4juf6help/)
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 06:23:55 PM
So are saying the 3TB is newer and has newer internals and thus compatible with the DNR?

On the DNR what do you think the hardware revision represents? I'm thinking of returning mine as I want an A2.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: FurryNutz on August 31, 2016, 06:28:02 PM
Got this from D-Link. The DNR can only support 500Ma which USB 2.0 specifies. USB 3.0 calls for 900Ma power. Any rotating drive, other that SSD, needs there own power adapters.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 31, 2016, 06:28:13 PM
So are saying the 3TB is newer and has newer internals and thus compatible with the DNR?

On the DNR what do you think the hardware revision represents? I'm thinking of returning mine as I want an A2.

I don't work for WD.  I can only suspect there's some new stuff inside in going to more space.

No idea either on what DLink has done with A2.  I haven't tested the A2.  It might fail with the 3 TB HD?

The DNR202L device I am using with the 3 TB drive is A1.

Usually a "B1" with dlink is a pretty  big change - and the firmware's don't cross...

A1 and A2 F/W's are the same from what I've seen.




Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: FurryNutz on August 31, 2016, 06:40:50 PM
Regardless of the Rev version of the DNR, any connected USB drive sized 1Tb and over will need a power adapter to go with it.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 06:44:58 PM
Regardless of the Rev version of the DNR, any connected USB drive sized 1Tb and over will need a power adapter to go with it.
Not according to DLINK support. I agree that is the conventional view but they said no.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: FurryNutz on August 31, 2016, 06:49:54 PM
Regardless of the information, specs of USB 2.0 vs 3.0 power specs and how the DNR is designed, you'll need a power adapter for rotating drives 1Tb and bigger.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 31, 2016, 07:00:55 PM
I plugged in DNR202L with H/W A2 with A2 power adapter (same specs, but different manufacturer, and plug adapter might be the same, but is no longer 90 degrees).

I plugged in the new 3 TB HD, and it shows up as ready to go.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 07:15:17 PM
Regardless of the information, specs of USB 2.0 vs 3.0 power specs and how the DNR is designed, you'll need a power adapter for rotating drives 1Tb and bigger.

So RYATT is an anamoly?
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: FurryNutz on August 31, 2016, 07:17:35 PM
Possibly, his drive maybe handling the 2.0 differently and the DNR seems to be accepting it.

Find a drive with a power adapter and Im sure things will improve. Your not gaining anything by using a USB 3.0 drive as it's being down converted to USB 2.0 anyways.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 07:46:18 PM
You try to buy a USB 2 only drive in 2016.

I looked at the Best Buy and Newegg reviews. Lots of people got their greater than 1TB USB 3 drives to work.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: FurryNutz on August 31, 2016, 07:47:43 PM
Probably with the power adapter for the drive.  ::)
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on August 31, 2016, 08:10:30 PM

I am making a backup of a 2 TB WD Ultra Passport drive-Thailand, 3 hours remaining... Might be 2014 or 2015 model. 

Not too certain about formatting it..  I might be able to find another spot to backup too first before going that route.


I'll plug it in tomorrow night to see if it is recognized.



Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 08:19:18 PM
Probably with the power adapter for the drive.  ::)
With all due respect you are out of touch with the marketplace. Both WD and Seagate sell the most portables. And based on consumer preference none of them have separate power. Check yourself. Read my lips when I say those people used non AC single USB cable drives. This means any WD Passport for sure.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 08:21:41 PM

I am making a backup of a 2 TB WD Ultra Passport drive-Thailand, 3 hours remaining... Might be 2014 or 2015 model. 

Not too certain about formatting it..  I might be able to find another spot to backup too first before going that route.


I'll plug it in tomorrow night to see if it is recognized.
Thanks, I am really appreciative of your help with all this. Much more competent than I am getting from DLINK for sure.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 10:07:15 PM
The first drive I tried was  WD Passport WD3200XMX-00. USB 2.0 only in that era. This drive was bitlocker encryted. After unencrypting it I quick formatted NTFS. Maybe it needed a deep format but the DNR 202L would only see it in the setup wizard but not format. In the GUI it didn't see it.  Customers cant experiment all day. The DLINK marketing lit says "will work with ANY USB HDD" and includes no qualifying statements excluding any drives. They need to get their act together.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 10:10:48 PM
Got this from D-Link. The DNR can only support 500Ma which USB 2.0 specifies. USB 3.0 calls for 900Ma power. Any rotating drive, other that SSD, needs there own power adapters.

I can get that from Google search too.

What USB 3 means is it runs at a higher speed than USB 2. If you run a USB 3 HDD on a USB 2 only slot the HDD will default to USB 2. That is well defined. And per DLINK support they told me the same. I get my information from front line support. Maybe they are incompetent?  Many times I have to force them to answer my questions even if they have to elevate to someone else. I hate it when people are evasive or pretend they know. I can detect that from a mile away.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 10:20:43 PM
Per an Amazon review "Have not been able to successfully review video via the Internet or my Phone App. Also, after I initially setup the HD for it to record to. I deleted all the partitions, and reformatted. Then, it was painfull to get it to format and use the HD again. I finally just reset the 202 Recorder back to factory settings and reran the setup. I hate to think about the pain that might happen if I add a second, or even replace the HD to record to."

So maybe the issue is need to reset it? Im documenting this BS because DLINK is lacking in support effectiveness. IF this is the remedy this is what they should tell people. This is the worst support for a tech product I have rec'd ever.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 10:25:17 PM
Probably with the power adapter for the drive.  ::)
With all due respect you are out of touch with the marketplace. Both WD and Seagate sell the most portables. And based on consumer preference none of them have separate power. Check yourself. Read my lips when I say those people used non AC single USB cable drives. This means any WD Passport for sure. WD and Seagate do not make portable USB HDD with separate AC power. WD and Seagate do make DESKTOP USB HDD requiring separate power. For WD the Passport model is ONLY for portable HDDs. So anytime someone refers to a WD Passport they are talking about a non AC powered USB HDD.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: BAMoh on August 31, 2016, 11:43:27 PM
PER AMZN: "Yes. It has no internal storage capability. It needs an external hard drive with a USB 3.0 connector. I purchased the Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 3.0 Portable HDD from Amazon for $75.00 (now $99). It holds over two weeks of video from 4 cameras.

WD Elements 2TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive"

Another 2TB USB Drive. No it does not use AC power.
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: FurryNutz on September 01, 2016, 06:24:48 AM
Again, you need a power adapter to use with the 202L for large size drives, You need to understand the power draw of mechanical drives and USB power requirements. The DNR only supports so much. Again, check your self.  ::) Find a USB drive with a power adapter. Review USB specs. 500Mz for 2.0 and 900ma for 3.0.

Any encrypted drive may have Mfr formatting which may need a low level erase then a NTFS or FAT32 format in windows.

Your dragging this issue on for no good reason. Solutions have been provided. Please find a working drive solution as others have found drives that work or return the DNR and find a different solution for your camera recording needs.

This thread is locked until further notice!
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: RYAT3 on September 01, 2016, 06:24:23 PM
My older Thailand drive worked in the A1. (It was still listed on the previously mentioned WD devices, in the 2nd Ultra Passport area).

(https://s21.postimg.org/qssrpyx13/wd4.png) (https://postimg.org/image/mwfftzc1f/)
Title: Re: 202L New Install Questions and Observations
Post by: FurryNutz on September 02, 2016, 07:16:46 AM
Thanks for posting this info. Seems like there maybe some formatting issue along with some HW differences. Seem like all of this is a configuration issue... ::)

I can't wait to get my 2x4Tb Reds in.