D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-880L => Topic started by: mparegian on August 24, 2016, 03:44:56 PM

Title: AC1900 Wireless Wi-Fi Router
Post by: mparegian on August 24, 2016, 03:44:56 PM
I have been happily using the D-Link AC1900 Wireless Wi-Fi Router with the D-Link AC1900 Ultra Wi-Fi USB Adapter on one computer and the D-Link DWA-171 Wireless AC Dual Band USB adapter on another computer.  Both computers immediately hooked up to the 5 GHz band and have been achieving wonderful internet speeds.  Today neither will hook up to the 5 GHz band and both simply hooked up to the much slower 2.4 GHz band and I cannot get them working correctly again.   Can anyone help?
Title: Re: AC1900 Wireless Wi-Fi Router
Post by: RYAT3 on August 24, 2016, 08:04:41 PM
How long has this combination been working?

What about tomorrow?


I'm guessing you power cycle the PC daily?  Try power cycling all the devices?
Title: AC1900 Wireless Wi-Fi Router
Post by: mparegian on August 24, 2016, 08:17:09 PM
Thanks RYAT3 for the reply - they have been working perfectly for months now - no problems at all.  I have power cycled everything, modem, router and both computers along with their respective AC adapters.  They have now come back to their correct speed - but no longer say they are on the 5 GHz band as they did before and my Wi-Fi connection is now set to "Public Network" rather than private as it was before.   I fear I may have to completely start over and re-set the modem/router from scratch.  Any suggestions?
Title: Re: AC1900 Wireless Wi-Fi Router
Post by: FurryNutz on August 25, 2016, 06:46:04 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)

Is this the DIR-879 model router? Just confirming model.


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48327.0) and Managing Signal Congestion (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53228.0) and Good Neighbour Policy (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=10634.0)


What OS platform is the wireless usb adapter connected too?

I have been happily using the D-Link AC1900 Wireless Wi-Fi Router with the D-Link AC1900 Ultra Wi-Fi USB Adapter on one computer and the D-Link DWA-171 Wireless AC Dual Band USB adapter on another computer.  Both computers immediately hooked up to the 5 GHz band and have been achieving wonderful internet speeds.  Today neither will hook up to the 5 GHz band and both simply hooked up to the much slower 2.4 GHz band and I cannot get them working correctly again.   Can anyone help?
Title: AC1900 Wireless Wi-Fi Router
Post by: mparegian on August 25, 2016, 04:12:16 PM
I have attempted to answer your questions as best I can - the speed is now back to what it should be but it has switched to a public network rather than private network and I no longer see where it is using the 5 GHz band like before.  Although apparently it is.  How do I get it back to a "private network"?

Is this the DIR-879 model router? Just confirming model.   No, this is the DIR-880L

What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.  H/W Ver. A1

What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.   F/W Ver. 1.05WW  (07-17-15) current.

What region are you located?  United States, Western Region, CA

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations   ISP:  Charter Communications

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?   Cable

What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?  Modem Model:  Arris TM8222

Wireless Configurations

Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbor Policy

What wireless modes are you using?
2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N or AC on 5Ghz?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.   Have already tried that.

Try setting a manual Channel to an open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz.   Presently using 5Ghz Channel 149 on devices that support 5 GHz and 2.4Ghz on devices that do not.

What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.   WPA2/AES

What wireless devices do you have connected?   2 computers that support 5Ghz, 1 that does not, a printer and a Chromecast device.

Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.   They are all up to date.

Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?    None

Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences?  Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?   There are a few devices using 2.4 GHz none using 5 GHz.

For routers with Smart Connect Technology , try disabling this feature and test. Under Wireless.   Did that no difference.

What OS platform is the wireless usb adapter connected too?   Windows 10 with Anniversary Update installed.
Title: Re: AC1900 Wireless Wi-Fi Router
Post by: FurryNutz on August 25, 2016, 04:52:46 PM
How do you mean using a public network and not a private network? Your wireless device is connected to the SSID name of the router or a different name from a different wireless source?
Title: AC1900 Wireless Wi-Fi Router
Post by: mparegian on August 25, 2016, 06:28:03 PM
It now shows my active network as public even though I realize the router itself stops that from happening - it always used to say "Private Network".  I don't know how to attach a picture to this post or I could show you.
Title: Re: AC1900 Wireless Wi-Fi Router
Post by: FurryNutz on August 25, 2016, 06:30:01 PM
 Adding Screenshots In A Post (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=58120.0)
Title: Re: AC1900 Wireless Wi-Fi Router
Post by: RYAT3 on August 25, 2016, 07:13:25 PM
It now shows my active network as public even though I realize the router itself stops that from happening - it always used to say "Private Network".  I don't know how to attach a picture to this post or I could show you.


http://www.howtogeek.com/245982/whats-the-difference-between-private-and-public-networks-in-windows/
 (http://www.howtogeek.com/245982/whats-the-difference-between-private-and-public-networks-in-windows/)
Title: AC1900 Wireless Wi-Fi Router
Post by: mparegian on August 25, 2016, 08:48:36 PM
Thank you RYAT3 - I was finally able to get all of the computers to now say "Private Network" - each one had to be done separately.  They still do not hook up to the original network account labeled 5 GHz - they hook up to the other original one which I assumed was the 2.4 GHZ  - but they are achieving the correct speed for the 5 GHz setting.  I simply don't understand why everything got switched overnight - there were no updates and nothing unusual happened.  All the settings just changed for no reason and has caused me considerable anguish.  Thanks to all of you - I have been able to get it back working correctly even though it does not "look" the way it did before.  I'll just wait now to see what happens next - Thank you.   
Title: Re: AC1900 Wireless Wi-Fi Router (RESOLVED)
Post by: FurryNutz on August 26, 2016, 06:59:46 AM
Glad it's working now. Sounds like this was a windows issue.

Enjoy.  ;)