D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-890L => Topic started by: mannye on July 09, 2016, 02:00:52 PM

Title: Connecting to non-bridgable uverse gateway? SOLVED
Post by: mannye on July 09, 2016, 02:00:52 PM
I have a 2-Wire Model 3600 HGV gateway with att uverse and I have been reading that it isn't bridgeable.  Do you guys know of the procedure that will allow me to use the DIR-890L with uverse?
Title: Re: Connecting to non-bridgable uverse gateway? How?
Post by: DBB1 on July 10, 2016, 10:01:20 AM
I had the 3600, but it developed issues, and AT&T replaced it with a 3801HGV.  The firmware menus look a little different, but the options and information all seem to be laid out the same.  Not sure about it not being able to bridge the 3600, though.  Maybe they could replace it, if that turns out to be the case?

I had looked into this for some time, too, and finally stumbled onto this site, which was quite helpful to me:  http://www.sbbala.com/uverse/index.html

It describes two modes for the AT&T Residential Gateway:  bridged, and modem.  I went the modem route, as I wanted my D-Link DIR-890L to handle all aspects of my network (firewall, IP assignments, etc.), so the AT&T box truly acts as a modem only.

Hope this helps!
Title: Re: Connecting to non-bridgable uverse gateway? How?
Post by: FurryNutz on July 10, 2016, 11:03:48 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
Title: Re: Connecting to non-bridgable uverse gateway? How?
Post by: FurryNutz on August 04, 2016, 07:14:18 AM
Any status on this?  ???

I have a 2-Wire Model 3600 HGV gateway with att uverse and I have been reading that it isn't bridgeable.  Do you guys know of the procedure that will allow me to use the DIR-890L with uverse?
Title: Re: Connecting to non-bridgable uverse gateway? How?
Post by: mannye on August 04, 2016, 09:07:31 PM
Yes! Sorry I didn't post earlier!  It was very easy. Luckily, I didn't care if the network was the same in thee two areas of the house. All off my devices switch between wireless networks seamlessly so if the front of the house is called dlink and the back is 2wire it matters not.

That being said, all I had to do was plug the thing into the router via the network cable (my house is wired throughout with cat6) and it automatically set itself up. I had to do NOTHING.  My iPhone found the new wireless network and I entered the security code and done. Ditto for every other appliance. Ring doorbell, Dell all in one, Amazon Fire Stick, etc. I was done in 10 min.
Title: Re: Connecting to non-bridgable uverse gateway? (RESOLVED)
Post by: FurryNutz on August 05, 2016, 06:32:00 AM
Good to hear. Glad its working now.

Enjoy.  ;)