D-Link Forums

D-Link IP Cameras for Home => DCS-2630L => Topic started by: padman on June 30, 2016, 04:29:31 AM

Title: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: padman on June 30, 2016, 04:29:31 AM
Hello all,
I've got the camera yesterday, upgraded to latest firmware v1.03.03 and tried to set it up.
I was testing it around 10ft from the router and 30ft from the router on 2.4Ghz band.
My router is ASUS RT-AC68U, wireless mode set to Auto, 20Mhz channel bandwitch, WPA2-Personal, AES encryption and channel manually set to 11.
The only other router I can pickup with Wi-fi scaner is on channel 6, so no interference from it.
Camera is set to static IP outside of DHCP range.

Issues I've discovered so far:

If my router has channel selection set to Auto then the camera will never reconnect if router decides to change channel unless I power cycle the camera. Tested with camera standing 10ft from the router in straight line with no obstacles, full signal strength.

If I reboot the router camera will not reconnect to it unless I power cycle the camera. Tested with the same conditions as above.

Now I've placed the camera around 30ft from the router. Signal has to travel through at least 2 drywalls. DlinkLite app shows signal strength as 2/4 sometimes 3/4.

Anywhere from 10min to 1 hour the camera will disconnect from Wi-Fi and the only way to make it reconnect is to power cycle it.

This "not reconnecting" issue is really serious and needs to be addressed.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: RYAT3 on June 30, 2016, 04:43:18 AM
Nice find.

Unfortunately, I find that the 2.4 Ghz is most stable on Mr asus. I gave up on 5Ghz. So I definitely agree with you on this.

The 960l is stable on 5ghz.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: padman on June 30, 2016, 05:34:56 AM
I've tried it on 5Ghz too. It works fine as long as signal strength is good. If its not too strong there's a risk of the camera disconnecting.
And then it will never reconnect. It can happen any time between few minutes to few hours.
But if it disconnects that's it. Power cycling the camera is the only way to get it back on the network.
If my 5Ghz network changes channel  or if I restart the router then the camera will disconnect too.
It can stand right in front of the router. It doesn't matter. It will simply NOT reconnect unless power cycled.
This is a deal breaking bug and needs to be addressed.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: FurryNutz on June 30, 2016, 06:42:24 AM
So does your 2530L not reconnect to the router if the camera looses connection or the router is rebooted?

Is 5Ghz stable for you?

Nice find.

Unfortunately, I find that the 2.4 Ghz is most stable on Mr asus. I have up on 5Ghz. So I definitely agree with you on this.

The 960l is stable on 5ghz.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: padman on June 30, 2016, 07:02:24 AM
If the router is rebooted - camera will not reconnect, need to power cycle it.
If camera looses connection it will not reconnect either, need to power cycle it.
If router changes channel on which it's broadcasting ( when it's set to Auto) - it will not reconnect, need to power cycle it.
That applies both to 2.4 and 5Ghz band. Regardless of signal strength. Camera can stand on front of the router. It won't reconnect after it disconnected.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: FurryNutz on June 30, 2016, 07:05:26 AM
I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.

If the router is rebooted - camera will not reconnect, need to power cycle it.
If camera looses connection it will not reconnect either, need to power cycle it.
If router changes channel on which it's broadcasting ( when it's set to Auto) - it will not reconnect, need to power cycle it.
That applies both to 2.4 and 5Ghz band. Regardless of signal strength. Camera can stand on front of the router. It won't reconnect after it disconnected.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: padman on June 30, 2016, 07:11:22 AM
I've imported the camera from US into Europe.
This model is not even sold in Europe. I'm afraid they'll not be able to help me.
There is only 720p model being sold here (DCS-960L).
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: FurryNutz on June 30, 2016, 07:16:28 AM
I see. Ya, support would not be helpful I guess. It's not recommended to import model products that are not available in other regions. Makes it hard to get official support. D-Link doesn't support cross regional products.

I've passed this on to D=Link USA here for review. I don't know when any fixes will be pushed.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: padman on June 30, 2016, 07:33:27 AM
I see. Ya, support would not be helpful I guess. It's not recommended to import model products that are not available in other regions. Makes it hard to get official support. D-Link doesn't support cross regional products.

I've passed this on to D=Link USA here for review. I don't know when any fixes will be pushed.

Thank you! For some reason DCS-960L in Europe costs more than DCS-2630L bought from US including all the shipping and customs fees.
And it has 1080p resolution compared to 720p in 960L. Also 960L availablity is really low here too. Most retailers won't have them until the end of July.
I really needed surveilance now and I didn't want to go for 480p options...it's 2016.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: FurryNutz on June 30, 2016, 07:40:07 AM
Understand. Better some, then none thought.

Sorry we can't be of more help.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: Blubber on August 21, 2016, 12:12:53 PM
While we're on the subject of what needs to be fixed:

-Date is wrong from the get go and will not auto sync to the time server. It always thinks it's January 1st, 2015. This seems to work fine on the 960L model, so D-Link engineers should be able to make it work on this model.

-It periodically thinks it has no SD card, or can't write to it, or thinks it's not writeable. Please make the recording feature actually work continuously.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: remoteCamsFarAway on August 21, 2016, 12:25:10 PM
If I reboot the router camera will not reconnect to it unless I power cycle the camera. Tested with the same conditions as above.

I've got a remote installation with both 2630L and 2330L cams and have written significantly about exactly this and other issues for the 2330L camera at http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=59937.0 .  Though I have no solid solutions yet, you might take a look at that continuing saga for ideas.

I'm currently running 1.03 firmware on my 2630L cams and they've become much more stable than the 2330L cams with all of the changes I've documented and applied identically for both the 2630L and 2330L cams.  Probably the largest fix for my system stability was to add a UPS to the router.  That addressed the problem of needing to power cycle the cams if the router goes out.  That's an expensive solution to working around a camera problem but it really helps.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: remoteCamsFarAway on August 21, 2016, 12:53:17 PM
Now I've placed the camera around 30ft from the router. Signal has to travel through at least 2 drywalls. DlinkLite app shows signal strength as 2/4 sometimes 3/4.

I've never been able to find where the 2630L cam reports wifi signal strength like on the 2330L.  Where do you look for this?  I access all my cams on myDlinkLite for Android, myDlink.com on a laptop, and direct access to my cameras' web pages.  Can't find signal strength for the 2630L anywhere.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: RYAT3 on August 21, 2016, 12:56:09 PM
While we're on the subject of what needs to be fixed:

-Date is wrong from the get go and will not auto sync to the time server. It always thinks it's January 1st, 2015. This seems to work fine on the 960L model, so D-Link engineers should be able to make it work on this model.

-It periodically thinks it has no SD card, or can't write to it, or thinks it's not writeable. Please make the recording feature actually work continuously.

No idea about your SD Card issues.

This is how you set up the time.

(https://s13.postimg.org/r6wy8x29j/2630l_time.png) (https://postimg.org/image/uqivyq4z7/)free photo hosting (https://postimage.org/)

Mine is always correct.  I'd expect that on power cycle it might take a minute or so before it updates.

Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: RYAT3 on August 21, 2016, 01:07:12 PM
Now I've placed the camera around 30ft from the router. Signal has to travel through at least 2 drywalls. DlinkLite app shows signal strength as 2/4 sometimes 3/4.

I've never been able to find where the 2630L cam reports wifi signal strength like on the 2330L.  Where do you look for this?  I access all my cams on myDlinkLite for Android, myDlink.com on a laptop, and direct access to my cameras' web pages.  Can't find signal strength for the 2630L anywhere.

He does say the myDlinkLite app - but I never seen anything in there.

I'm on F/W 1.01 on my 2330L - so it might not be in this f/w.

I do see in my ASUS router, until System Log -> Wireless Log -> MAC's with RSSI listed at time of snapshot.





Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: FurryNutz on August 22, 2016, 06:39:02 AM
MD Lite app was updated this morning for those on iPhone.  ;)
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: xd123 on September 22, 2016, 08:07:36 AM
Hello all,
I've got the camera yesterday, upgraded to latest firmware v1.03.03 and tried to set it up.
I was testing it around 10ft from the router and 30ft from the router on 2.4Ghz band.
My router is ASUS RT-AC68U, wireless mode set to Auto, 20Mhz channel bandwitch, WPA2-Personal, AES encryption and channel manually set to 11.
The only other router I can pickup with Wi-fi scaner is on channel 6, so no interference from it.
Camera is set to static IP outside of DHCP range.

Issues I've discovered so far:

If my router has channel selection set to Auto then the camera will never reconnect if router decides to change channel unless I power cycle the camera. Tested with camera standing 10ft from the router in straight line with no obstacles, full signal strength.

If I reboot the router camera will not reconnect to it unless I power cycle the camera. Tested with the same conditions as above.

Now I've placed the camera around 30ft from the router. Signal has to travel through at least 2 drywalls. DlinkLite app shows signal strength as 2/4 sometimes 3/4.

Anywhere from 10min to 1 hour the camera will disconnect from Wi-Fi and the only way to make it reconnect is to power cycle it.

This "not reconnecting" issue is really serious and needs to be addressed.

same problem as what I am facing too.

The d-link ip cam always keep disconnecting no matter you are using 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz or even within strong wireless signal. 

Grateful d-link can address this problem and fix it in the coming firmware asap. 
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: FurryNutz on September 26, 2016, 10:59:40 AM
I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.


same problem as what I am facing too.

The d-link ip cam always keep disconnecting no matter you are using 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz or even within strong wireless signal. 

Grateful d-link can address this problem and fix it in the coming firmware asap.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: remoteCamsFarAway on January 31, 2017, 07:41:04 PM
Running FW 1.04 on two surveillance 2630L cams at remote location three time zones ahead.  Motion detection emails me a video clip when the cams switch from night mode to day mode and vice versa.  I'd like to not be woken up at 3:30AM by these false motion detections at that occurred at 6:30AM at my vacation property.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: FurryNutz on February 01, 2017, 07:25:30 AM
Can you disable your phone or set vibration or no sound at all when sleeping?
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: remoteCamsFarAway on February 09, 2017, 08:41:43 PM
Yes I can disable ALL alerts from my Android phone.  However, I'm using these cameras for surveillance and intruder alerts with motion detection.  I want to know immediately when there is a genuine motion detect but I do not want to know when the sun is rising three time zones to the east.  There is no way to tell Android to ignore certain ones at certain times.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: FurryNutz on February 10, 2017, 06:55:45 AM
I believe motion detect is an immediate notification always and probably not changeable.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: remoteCamsFarAway on February 10, 2017, 08:44:34 PM
I'm not trying to change that motion detect is an immediate notification.  I'm trying to change that the automatic changing between day and night mode creates a FALSE event.  The firmware should disable motion detection for half a second while it changes between modes.  I've seen other requests from other users in other threads that are frustrated with the same problem.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: RYAT3 on February 10, 2017, 08:48:13 PM
And there has never been any solution...  :o ?
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: FurryNutz on February 11, 2017, 01:02:57 PM
This is something you should contact D-Link support about and request a review of it.

I'm not trying to change that motion detect is an immediate notification.  I'm trying to change that the automatic changing between day and night mode creates a FALSE event.  The firmware should disable motion detection for half a second while it changes between modes.  I've seen other requests from other users in other threads that are frustrated with the same problem.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: remoteCamsFarAway on February 12, 2017, 03:04:11 PM
I don't remember which thread I saw it on but I recall seeing someone saying that Dlink finally fixed that problem on one of the cameras.  It would be nice if they were consistent and fixed that in all of the cams.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: alanazar on February 19, 2017, 08:01:28 AM
There is a feature in the "Wireless Setup" that doesn't exist in my 2630L but exists in both my 2332L and 5222LB1:

...when selecting an SSID a line shows up called "Signal" and what I have figured out to be a score (higher is better and not RSSI). This allows me to know which router\AP to connect it to (not the same SSID).

It's also useful in testing the signal quality that you are getting.

Also, that line should be better explained so people understand whether it's a score of 1-100 or not. Also it should always be visible on your current SSID instead of having to select the SSID again to see it.


Thanks,
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: FurryNutz on February 19, 2017, 08:05:16 AM
This is something you should contact D-Link support about and request a review of it.

There is a feature in the "Wireless Setup" that doesn't exist in my 2630L but exists in both my 2332L and 5222LB1:

...when selecting an SSID a line shows up called "Signal" and what I have figured out to be a score (higher is better and not RSSI). This allows me to know which router\AP to connect it to (not the same SSID).

It's also useful in testing the signal quality that you are getting.

Also, that line should be better explained so people understand whether it's a score of 1-100 or not. Also it should always be visible on your current SSID instead of having to select the SSID again to see it.


Thanks,
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: alanazar on February 20, 2017, 02:49:57 AM
Done - thanks

This is something you should contact D-Link support about and request a review of it.
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: alanazar on March 03, 2017, 10:00:35 PM
An update:

They replied back 2 weeks later with this:
- Is the camera firmware already updated?
- What is the web browser you're using to access the User Interface of the camera?
- Did you try to reset the camera to factory settings?


Don't see the point in asking but I replied to them anyways...

It's no wonder development is so slow with them
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: FurryNutz on March 05, 2017, 11:58:01 AM
I'd phone contact them. Better response via phone.

An update:

They replied back 2 weeks later with this:
- Is the camera firmware already updated?
- What is the web browser you're using to access the User Interface of the camera?
- Did you try to reset the camera to factory settings?


Don't see the point in asking but I replied to them anyways...

It's no wonder development is so slow with them
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: alanazar on March 08, 2017, 10:08:37 AM
Thanks when i have time i'll do that...since there's no real issue but just a recommendation i may take my time on that :)

I'd phone contact them. Better response via phone.

An update:

They replied back 2 weeks later with this:
- Is the camera firmware already updated?
- What is the web browser you're using to access the User Interface of the camera?
- Did you try to reset the camera to factory settings?


Don't see the point in asking but I replied to them anyways...

It's no wonder development is so slow with them
Title: Re: What needs to be fixed in the next firwmare
Post by: FurryNutz on March 08, 2017, 10:25:18 AM
Let us know if you find out anything.  ;)