D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-868L => Topic started by: FairyMental on June 27, 2016, 03:53:23 AM

Title: Cannot bypass 350 Mbps.
Post by: FairyMental on June 27, 2016, 03:53:23 AM
Hello. Here are the specs:
HW Version: A1
FM Version: 1.07

Motherboard: MSI B150 PC MATE (Yes, it can handle 1000Mbps)
ISP: RCS-RDS
Country: ROmania
WAN: DHCP
Cable type: CAT5E

If I connect my PC directly to the ISP cable, it can reach 950+ Mbps, if I connect it through the router, I only get 350 Mbps.
QOS disabled. Anything else is probably set to default.

I'm not an advanced user of routers, please try to explain even simple processes :)
Title: Re: Cannot bypass 350 Mbps.
Post by: FairyMental on June 27, 2016, 04:19:40 AM
Possible solutions attempted:
-Changed CAT5E cable with another CAT5E cable. No change.
-Reset router to factory settings. No effect :(
-Turned off wireless broadcast, only LAN is active, only 1 computer connected. No effect.
-Turned off Advanced DNS, DNS Relay and every possible option of firewall. No effect.
-Changed firmware to ddwrt: Cap increased to 420 Mbps.

Title: Re: Cannot bypass 350 Mbps.
Post by: FurryNutz on June 27, 2016, 06:53:35 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

Link> Cat6 is recommended. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CAT6)[/li][/list]

Downlink speeds and connection rates are different. Connection rate is the connection between the PC and the router only. !000Mb is a rate between them and not data flow. Data flow and speeds is the flow from the ISP thru the Router to the PC.

After a factory reset, disable Traffic Shaping, QoS, SPI and set IPv6 to Local Only and test...
Title: Re: Cannot bypass 350 Mbps.
Post by: FairyMental on June 27, 2016, 07:06:05 AM
Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? Cable, I believe? I have optic fibre contract.
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have? No modem present in my house.
What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? Link> http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5434896644

Cat6 cable I'm getting that either tomorrow, or this thursday. Current cable: Cat5e, should though perform good enough.

Factory resetted and turned everything possible off, including QOS (Disabled by default anyway), Traffic Shaping ((Disabled by default anyway) and I do not have IPv6.

Now I switched my firmware to DDRWT, slight increase of speed...sometimes :))

As stated in the main topic: I get 900+ Mbsp directly connected to ISP, through router is falls to 350~ ish Mbps. So it's either the router, or the cable, or both. Also having settings that would reduce the download speed by 70%, I find it bulls*** as a programmer, efficiency = NEGATIVE!

Gonna send this router soon enough to warranty, and hope to get a different one. Seems I'm not the only one fighting with this issue that has no clear solution to anyone.
Title: Re: Cannot bypass 350 Mbps.
Post by: FurryNutz on June 27, 2016, 07:23:18 AM
I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.