D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-890L => Topic started by: FurryNutz on April 06, 2016, 05:20:25 PM

Title: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: FurryNutz on April 06, 2016, 05:20:25 PM
Get it here:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=64760.0 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=64760.0)

Let us know how it works for you...
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: FurryNutz on April 06, 2016, 05:21:46 PM
FW updated with Windows 7x64 and IE11

Configured router from scratch using OSX 10.11.4 and Safari v9.1
Setup wizard passed.
IP Reservations passed.
QoS save and persistence passed.
Smart Connected and Enabled passed.
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63841.msg262111#msg262111 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63841.msg262111#msg262111) fails.
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63837.0 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63837.0) passes.
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63786.msg262311#msg262311 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63786.msg262311#msg262311) passes.

Speed test sites:
CableOne ISP
Download Speed: 106395 kbps (13299.4 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 3280 kbps (410 KB/sec transfer rate)
Latency: 14 ms
Jitter: 4 ms
March 27, 2016 at 4:16:41 PM MDT

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/5202718908.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5202718908)

(http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/3441877.png)

Smooth setup and configuration to date. Looks great. Can we get the 880L on the same track?  ;D

Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: Muyfa666 on April 06, 2016, 09:05:34 PM
Well +1 from me. Runs very good so far. :-)
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: FurryNutz on April 07, 2016, 07:25:39 AM
 ;)
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: Blueyed1 on April 09, 2016, 12:16:21 AM
Get it here:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=64760.0

Let us know how it works for you...

Since I am located in Denmark Europe, I guess I can not use firmware 1.09? Its only available on the US Dlink site.
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: Muyfa666 on April 09, 2016, 07:42:39 AM
I'm from Sweden and I have been using all the NA firmwares so far without issue. There seem to be no difference at all.

I even got a link to the last NA beta firmware from the swedish support when I had initial problems with the default firmware.
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: FurryNutz on April 10, 2016, 11:41:13 AM
 ;)
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: BiggShooter on April 13, 2016, 11:45:40 PM
Just wanted to share my experience with the most recent beta firmware upgrade.   :)

I began the process on Sunday morning (04/10).  The beta firmware upgrade went without any problems (followed recommended procedure for firmware upgrade - DID NOT use the SETUP WIZARD).  I ENABLED SC, which is something I DID NOT use with any previous FIRMWARE versions.  After about 30 minutes, I began to experience issues with IP Reservations and Editing / Renaming Devices (see next paragraph for details).  I have several devices connected to my home network (not all at one time), both wired and wireless.  Not all devices are assigned IP reservations, and some devices are set to "static" IP addresses.  In all, I have almost 40 devices total, with only about 20-25 (maximum) connected at any given time.

I began making IP reservations for about 17-20 devices, knowing that the maximum is 24 devices (reserved IP's).  I also assigned "static" IP addresses for seven devices.  During the process, I ran into a problem where I was UNABLE to rename devices / add additional devices and assign IP addresses.  Even if "new" devices connected to my home network, I couldn't edit / rename them.  I performed some "troubleshooting" steps and determined I could edit previously reserved IP addresses / edit names of previous devices already added after initial set up of the router.  I did have conversation with Furry[Nutz] during the process and discussed the issues I was having.  BTW, these were the SAME ISSUES I ran into with the previous beta firmware version.  It was suggested to perform a factory reset and set up the 890L from "scratch" once again.

I performed a factory reset and once again set up the router (DID NOT USE THE SETUP WIZARD).  During the setup, I found that some devices would not connect wirelessly to the 890L (assigning an IP address not within the DHCP pool).  After about 20 minutes, I decided to perform a factory reset, reload the latest beta firmware (once again), and perform a factory reset.

I'm now on my third time trying to get the 890L set up / operating without any issues.  Once again, after reserving IP addresses / editing and renaming devices / setting "static" IP addresses for devices, I ran into the same problem - I was UNABLE to rename devices / add additional devices and assign IP addresses.  After further discussion with Furry[Nutz], it was suggested that I perform ONE final factory reset, but this time using the SETUP WIZARD and allowing the router to "just do it's job" for at least 24 hours with a few additional set up "tweaks", and not assigning any IP reservations or editing / renaming devices.  It was also suggested that I only allow "absolute necessary devices" to connect to the 890L, and eliminate any devices that didn't need to have a connection.  I was able to eliminate about 10 devices (Smart TV's / Blu-ray Disc Player / 2 Xbox 360 consoles) for the time being.

On Monday (04/11), I performed another factory reset.  I used the SETUP WIZARD and ENABLE SC, as well as performed a few other "setup tweaks".  I did not assign any IP reservations or edit / rename any devices.  On Tuesday (04/12), I made a few IP reservations (iMac / 2 MacBooks / 2 Xbox One Gaming Consoles).  I had not problems doing this.  I also edited / renamed a few devices that were connected.  I also had no problems doing this.  It had been over 24 hours and I wasn't experiencing any of the issues I experienced prior. 

Yesterday (4/12), I edited / renamed a few other devices, as well as set a few more IP reservations to devices connected to my home network.  Once again, I had no problems doing this. 

So, what does all this mean?  I've come to the conclusion that the 24 device MAXIMUM includes IP RESERVATIONS / STATIC RESERVATIONS / EDITING and RENAMING DEVICES (not including devices already renamed during assigning IP reservations).  I'm hoping D'LINK will attempt to "test" / "troubleshoot" this exact issue I experienced above and comment.  Also, if any 890L users with a similar situation as mine (several devices in home network) can "test" / "troubleshoot" this exact issue and comment, that would be great.  I'm trying to determine if the issues I'm having are specific to my router, or if it's a firmware issue.

Thanks for taking time to read this post.  I really hope it helps other 890L users should they experience issues like I've had.

Finally, I must mention that the 890L is THE BEST router I've used to date!  It's ROCK SOLID and performs well beyond my expectations.  The 890L handles my home network traffic without any issues!  I really hope D'LINK continues to support the 890L for at least a few more years, and the next generation router is as solid as the 890L!   ;D
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: FurryNutz on April 14, 2016, 06:51:03 AM
Thanks for finalizing the details. Glad we got it figured out.

I would like you to try the following.
1. Save current router config to file for back up.
2. Turn on all non-essential devices and connect them.
3. Try to edit just the names of the non-essential devices only. Do not set a IP reservation. Let them use Dynamic for now.
4. Report your experiences here.
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: BiggShooter on April 14, 2016, 02:13:48 PM
Thanks for finalizing the details. Glad we got it figured out.

I would like you to try the following.
1. Save current router config to file for back up.
2. Turn on all non-essential devices and connect them.
3. Try to edit just the names of the non-essential devices only. Do not set a IP reservation. Let them use Dynamic for now.
4. Report your experiences here.

Will do!  I'll try and get the above done over the next few days.  I have a golf tournament the next three days (Friday / Saturday / Sunday).   :)
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: FurryNutz on April 14, 2016, 04:58:02 PM
 ;)
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: BiggShooter on April 24, 2016, 08:44:02 PM
Thanks for finalizing the details. Glad we got it figured out.

I would like you to try the following.
1. Save current router config to file for back up.
2. Turn on all non-essential devices and connect them.
3. Try to edit just the names of the non-essential devices only. Do not set a IP reservation. Let them use Dynamic for now.
4. Report your experiences here.

Will do!  I'll try and get the above done over the next few days.  I have a golf tournament the next three days (Friday / Saturday / Sunday).   :)

I just wanted to update everyone on this post.  I've reached point where I can NO LONGER rename additional devices.  I've come to the conclusion that the 890L has a maximum number of devices that can be "edited" or "renamed", similar to the 24 max device IP reservation.  THIS DOES NOT APPLY TO DEVICES ALREADY EDITED / RENAMED.  I CAN rename / edit any/ all devices that I previously renamed / edited.

I'm hoping this can get forwarded to D'Link for review.  Also, if any other 890L users can confirm whether or not they've experienced this same issue, that would be beneficial (especially for D'Link).  It's difficult to determine how many devices I've already renamed / edited, but I'm guessing it is somewhere between 24 an 30.

Hopefully this issue can get addressed in a future beta firmware / official firmware update.
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: FurryNutz on April 25, 2016, 06:46:08 AM
Thanks for updating this. Please post this in the Bugs and Requests thread. I'll make sure D-Link is made aware of it.

You seem to me our local user with the most devices.  :o


Thanks for finalizing the details. Glad we got it figured out.

I would like you to try the following.
1. Save current router config to file for back up.
2. Turn on all non-essential devices and connect them.
3. Try to edit just the names of the non-essential devices only. Do not set a IP reservation. Let them use Dynamic for now.
4. Report your experiences here.

Will do!  I'll try and get the above done over the next few days.  I have a golf tournament the next three days (Friday / Saturday / Sunday).   :)

I just wanted to update everyone on this post.  I've reached point where I can NO LONGER rename additional devices.  I've come to the conclusion that the 890L has a maximum number of devices that can be "edited" or "renamed", similar to the 24 max device IP reservation.  THIS DOES NOT APPLY TO DEVICES ALREADY EDITED / RENAMED.  I CAN rename / edit any/ all devices that I previously renamed / edited.

I'm hoping this can get forwarded to D'Link for review.  Also, if any other 890L users can confirm whether or not they've experienced this same issue, that would be beneficial (especially for D'Link).  It's difficult to determine how many devices I've already renamed / edited, but I'm guessing it is somewhere between 24 an 30.

Hopefully this issue can get addressed in a future beta firmware / official firmware update.
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: johnish on April 29, 2016, 08:23:05 AM
I upgraded today. This FW has been very buggy for me. When I'm on a config page the top navigation will disappear leaving me stranded.

Many or most of the config pages will not have any options on it for me to complete a configuration.   It also logs me out after a few minutes of inactivity which is really annoying since I'm trying to research how to fix this issue.

The upgrade admin screen doesn't have anything on it for me to do; Doesn't show me my current FW and doesn't have the button to check for new one.

This FW is useless for me; I can't complete any configuration options.

What can I do? How do I get this back to 1.08?

Console shows:
Code: [Select]
http://192.168.100.1/js/hnap.js?v=20160129154955
hnap.js?v=20160129154955:51 Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'getElementsByTagName' of null
ajaxObj.onCallback @ hnap.js?v=20160129154955:51
HTTPClient.__callback @ libajax.js?v=20160129154955:308
__httpRequest.onreadystatechange @ libajax.js?v=20160129154955:356
HTTPClient.sendRequest @ libajax.js?v=20160129154955:390
HNAP_XML.GetXML @ hnap.js?v=20160129154955:73
initialMenu @ menu.js?v=20160129154955:12Initial @ Admin.html:99
(anonymous function) @ Admin.html:490
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: FurryNutz on April 29, 2016, 08:29:15 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)

  Link> >FW Update Process (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42457.0)

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

Happens in other browsers?
PC Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF?
Disable any security browser Add-ons like No Script and Ad-Block or configure them to allow All Pages when connected to the router.
Clear all browser caches before and after upgrading FW.http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=64826.0 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=64826.0)

PC 3rd Party Security Software Configurations

This version of FW is working for me and others.  ;)


I upgraded today. This FW has been very buggy for me. When I'm on a config page the top navigation will disappear leaving me stranded.

Many or most of the config pages will not have any options on it for me to complete a configuration.   It also logs me out after a few minutes of inactivity which is really annoying since I'm trying to research how to fix this issue.

The upgrade admin screen doesn't have anything on it for me to do; Doesn't show me my current FW and doesn't have the button to check for new one.

This FW is useless for me; I can't complete any configuration options.

What can I do? How do I get this back to 1.08?

Console shows:
Code: [Select]
http://192.168.100.1/js/hnap.js?v=20160129154955
hnap.js?v=20160129154955:51 Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'getElementsByTagName' of null
ajaxObj.onCallback @ hnap.js?v=20160129154955:51
HTTPClient.__callback @ libajax.js?v=20160129154955:308
__httpRequest.onreadystatechange @ libajax.js?v=20160129154955:356
HTTPClient.sendRequest @ libajax.js?v=20160129154955:390
HNAP_XML.GetXML @ hnap.js?v=20160129154955:73
initialMenu @ menu.js?v=20160129154955:12Initial @ Admin.html:99
(anonymous function) @ Admin.html:490
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: mystiky on May 01, 2016, 08:05:44 AM
I upgraded today. This FW has been very buggy for me. When I'm on a config page the top navigation will disappear leaving me stranded.

Many or most of the config pages will not have any options on it for me to complete a configuration.   It also logs me out after a few minutes of inactivity which is really annoying since I'm trying to research how to fix this issue.

The upgrade admin screen doesn't have anything on it for me to do; Doesn't show me my current FW and doesn't have the button to check for new one.

This FW is useless for me; I can't complete any configuration options.

READ this.  This is exactly what happened to me:

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=64826.0


What can I do? How do I get this back to 1.08?

Console shows:
Code: [Select]
http://192.168.100.1/js/hnap.js?v=20160129154955
hnap.js?v=20160129154955:51 Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'getElementsByTagName' of null
ajaxObj.onCallback @ hnap.js?v=20160129154955:51
HTTPClient.__callback @ libajax.js?v=20160129154955:308
__httpRequest.onreadystatechange @ libajax.js?v=20160129154955:356
HTTPClient.sendRequest @ libajax.js?v=20160129154955:390
HNAP_XML.GetXML @ hnap.js?v=20160129154955:73
initialMenu @ menu.js?v=20160129154955:12Initial @ Admin.html:99
(anonymous function) @ Admin.html:490
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: FurryNutz on May 01, 2016, 08:24:32 AM
So was a factory reset performed before and after the upgrade and did you use FF or IE11 to do it and clear the browser cache? You can try same process w prior Fw version aswell.
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: Muyfa666 on July 13, 2016, 01:42:05 AM
I recently switched to VDSL2 30/10mbps at home and after this I experience micro pauses occasionally. I have made diagnostics with my service provider and the signal is very good and stable with no interuptions. Could the router possibly be the cause of this? The modem from the service provider is a bit old, but the firmware are updated on a regular basis, so it is supposed to be able to handle VDSL2.
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: FurryNutz on July 13, 2016, 07:31:20 AM
What is the Mfr and model of the ISP modem?

Might set the 890Ls WAN port speed from Auto to say 10 or 100Mb and test.
Be sure to set IPv6 to Local Only on the 890L.

May want to upgrade your ISP modem if one is available.


I recently switched to VDSL2 30/10mbps at home and after this I experience micro pauses occasionally. I have made diagnostics with my service provider and the signal is very good and stable with no interuptions. Could the router possibly be the cause of this? The modem from the service provider is a bit old, but the firmware are updated on a regular basis, so it is supposed to be able to handle VDSL2.
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: Muyfa666 on July 13, 2016, 10:01:37 PM
I am trying out a new modem from the ISP as we speak. No issues noticed so far, but I am using their router too for now, just to test out the stability.
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: ongxa41 on July 13, 2016, 10:51:51 PM
I was hoping this FW would've fixed the inability to save IPV4 FW rules.  Still happening.
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: FurryNutz on July 14, 2016, 06:52:09 AM
Let us know know it goes. If you put the 890L back online and you see the issues again, I would do a full factory reset, manual reload of the FW file. factory reset once more then set up from scratch?

Is your ISP using PPPoE or Dynamic DHCP for WAN IP addressing?

I am trying out a new modem from the ISP as we speak. No issues noticed so far, but I am using their router too for now, just to test out the stability.
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: FurryNutz on July 14, 2016, 06:55:03 AM
Problem has been reported to D-Link
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=61577.msg268853#msg268853 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=61577.msg268853#msg268853)

Let us know if you find out anything from support.

I am trying out a new modem from the ISP as we speak. No issues noticed so far, but I am using their router too for now, just to test out the stability.
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: Muyfa666 on July 17, 2016, 11:50:44 PM
The wifi on the ISP router/modem started acting up yesterday, so I bridged it and re-connected my DLINK. I made a factory reset on it, and so far no "freezes". I could be the new modem, or the reset. Either way it seem to work fine for the moment.
Title: Re: New - DIR-890L FW v1.09 Build 14 Official Release - NA Region Only!
Post by: FurryNutz on July 18, 2016, 07:16:35 AM
It's recommended to bridge ISP modems if they have built in routers if you use external routers such as the DIR-890L.

The wifi on the ISP router/modem started acting up yesterday, so I bridged it and re-connected my DLINK. I made a factory reset on it, and so far no "freezes". I could be the new modem, or the reset. Either way it seem to work fine for the moment.