D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-890L => Topic started by: Leutzu on March 05, 2016, 10:41:09 PM

Title: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: Leutzu on March 05, 2016, 10:41:09 PM
Hi all,

I need some help to make my router to work like it should.
Provider: RDS-RCS Romania
Internet: Cable
Bandwidth: 100Mbps upgrade to 1000Mbps in a few weeks
Router Status: DIR-890L   HW:A1   FW:1.08

The most annoying think is: the "limitation" on 2.4 Ghz band. On all notebooks from home i have a maximum 5,5 Mb/s (50Mbps). On the phone (Samsung S4) i have the same speed i have on the cable (93-94 Mbps).

Another annoying problem is, the freezing situation on the router. If i make some modification on user or password, or other modification in Wizard menu, the  led from internet conection blinks orange and it's not conecting to the internet. The connection is PPPoe.

I made the firmware update from 1.06 to 1.08 and after a factory reset it's working fine but with the problems described upper.

Looking forward for some ideas from you guys.

Thank you !


Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: FurryNutz on March 06, 2016, 11:29:11 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)

  Link> >FW Update Process (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42457.0)

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

Are the wired LAN speeds good?
Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: Leutzu on March 07, 2016, 09:40:29 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)

  • Has a Factory Reset (http://blog.dlink.com/what-is-a-reset-button-when-should-i-use-it) been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42457.0)

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Are the wired LAN speeds good?

- Yes, I made a Factory Reset.
- Only after i made the firmware update
- I have cable ISP Service
- I don't have a modem from ISP. I made the connection directly from ISP cable. I made the PPPoE setup on my dlink router S/N: RZM61F6000580 model nr: DIR-890L, H/W ver. : A1, F/W ver. : 1.06
Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: FurryNutz on March 09, 2016, 06:49:00 AM
Any status on this?

Also... WAN and LAN Connection Rates and ISP Speeds FAQ (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63449.0)
Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: Leutzu on March 09, 2016, 11:16:04 AM
Ok, so...

I set up on router mode and i disabled the QoS Engine, and in N type the maximum speed is limited to 50-60 Mbps. On the smartphone i have the maximum speed around 94 Mbps download and upload. I tryed conection from router to my notebook via LAN and in this case i have the maximum speed around 94 Mbps.

I'm not happy because this router is an expensive router and i have the same speed as cheapest one.

After every modification i need to restart and reset the router because it doesn't what to connect on internet.

If it helps you, i can make some print screen with the setup of my router.

Thank you !
Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: FurryNutz on March 09, 2016, 11:23:45 AM
What frequency is the phone connecting too?
Try Mixed mode on both radios.
Try testing with smart connect enabled with the phone.

You might try factory reset, manual load of the v1.09 beta, factory reset then set up from scratch. Just set up the ISP account and set a new SSID name and PW for the WiFi, leave smart connect enabled then test. Test LAN speed first then wifi with the phone.
Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: Leutzu on March 09, 2016, 11:46:21 AM
The S4 is on 5Ghz frequency and i have maximum speed on the phone.
On Iphone 5S i have same problem, half from the maximum speed.
The problem is on 2.4 Ghz on the router and notebook.

I will try right now to make da update to v1.09. BRB with a feedback.
Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: Leutzu on March 09, 2016, 12:19:29 PM
What frequency is the phone connecting too?
Try Mixed mode on both radios.
Try testing with smart connect enabled with the phone.

You might try factory reset, manual load of the v1.09 beta, factory reset then set up from scratch. Just set up the ISP account and set a new SSID name and PW for the WiFi, leave smart connect enabled then test. Test LAN speed first then wifi with the phone.

I follow the steps and i have same results:
Lan conection from the router to the notebook
(http://s24.postimg.org/r0oj6ltcx/Test_lan.png) (http://postimg.org/image/r0oj6ltcx/)
Wireless N type from the router to the notebook
(http://s24.postimg.org/5czkw5syp/wireless_test.png) (http://postimg.org/image/5czkw5syp/)

Actual Setup:
-Router mode
-No firewall
-No QoS Engine
-No dinamic DNS
-No VPN
-Smart connect ON
Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: FurryNutz on March 09, 2016, 12:43:56 PM
Ok, so this is either a problem with the router or between the router and your ISP/hardware.

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: Leutzu on March 10, 2016, 11:25:15 AM
I think the problem is from the wireless board from the laptop.

(http://s23.postimg.org/scv5obbl7/wireless.jpg) (http://postimage.org/)
image (http://postimage.org/)

Can you help me to make the wireles to "see" the bandwidth capability setup ? I have the last driver.

Thank you !
Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: FurryNutz on March 10, 2016, 11:30:15 AM
Is this adapter N or AC mode supporting. That 72Mb is not reflecting N or AC mode connection rates.
Do you have a different PC or LT that you can test with?
You may have a bad adapter.
Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: Leutzu on March 10, 2016, 11:43:03 AM
Is this adapter N or AC mode supporting. That 72Mb is not reflecting N or AC mode connection rates.
Do you have a different PC or LT that you can test with?
You may have a bad adapter.

Is a N type wireless board. The notebook is Asus K95V and the wireless is Qualcomm Atheros AR9485WB-EG Wireless Network Adapter.
Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: FurryNutz on March 10, 2016, 12:48:54 PM
What connection rate do you see on the adapter when you manually set up 2.4Ghz radio with single mode N, Auto channel width, manual channel 11 and disable WPA security temporarily? Re-enable security after testing.

Do you have a different PC or Laptop to test with? Maybe a friends or neighbors to barrow for a quick test?
Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: Leutzu on March 11, 2016, 11:55:10 PM
I made a test with channel 11 and disable WPA and the result is the same.

Below i put 2 image with setup and status of the network. On d-link setup i can put on 40Mhz because i don't have this option.

I have another notebook Asus R501VB model but have same problem, the problem is that it have the same Qualcomm Atheros AR9485WB-EG.

(http://s21.postimg.org/kt2e6zv9f/in_SSIDer_wireless_status.png) (http://postimg.org/image/kt2e6zv9f/)

(http://s21.postimg.org/w451vd24j/Only_20_Mhz_on_router.png) (http://postimg.org/image/w451vd24j/)
Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: FurryNutz on March 12, 2016, 09:44:07 AM
Any chance of finding a non Qualcomm device to test with?
This may still need to be reviewed by D-Link support.
Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: Leutzu on March 12, 2016, 10:04:46 AM
Unfortunately i don't have other device witch doesn't have qualcomm. I'll try to find something this week for testing.
Keep in touch.
Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: FurryNutz on March 12, 2016, 10:11:51 AM
 ;)
Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L
Post by: Leutzu on March 29, 2016, 01:34:04 AM
Problem Solved !
Set HT20/40 Coexistence: disabled.

Test is in N band ,150 Mbps wireless onboard adapter, on notebook.

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/5206299332.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5206299332)

Lan test wired from router.

(http://www.speedtest.net/result/5206317610.png) (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5206317610)
Title: Re: Need HELP configuration DIR-890L (RESOLVED)
Post by: FurryNutz on March 29, 2016, 07:27:38 AM
So you had to disable SC to disable HT20/40?

Glad you figured it out.