D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-880L => Topic started by: hayley3 on December 27, 2015, 02:07:27 PM

Title: Bad modem or bad router or ?
Post by: hayley3 on December 27, 2015, 02:07:27 PM
Everything was fine until we had a storm and the electricity went out for 4 hours.  Lightening didn't hit us or anything, but damaged a utility pole somewhere.  My internet speeds fall rapidly from 8Mbps to nothing but it seems to be an intermittent problem.

I have the DIR 880L router and an ISP supplied modem.
If I direct connect to the modem, I have 8Mbps speeds.  If I connect to router I can barely move, my speeds drop to .75.  So I tried a different brand new router and the same thing happens.  So I unplugged everything from lan ports except my pc and I still have .75 d/l speed so I can't move.    However, right now I am connected to router and I have a speedtest of 6.43.  So this is an intermittent thing.  I did reset the modem to see if that would help.

Only one time did the modem appear to be defective.  When I direct connected the modem to my pc, it said my d/l speed was 1.75. So I"m thinking modem or line is defective but intermittently.  However the majority of the time, when I can't move, I direct connect and all seems well.

So my question is, can something be defective in the modem that causes the router to fail? 

Thanks,
Cheryl

Title: Re: Bad modem or bad router or ?
Post by: FurryNutz on December 27, 2015, 03:18:19 PM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)

  Link> >FW Update Process (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42457.0)

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations


I recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. For DSL or Fiber service lines, ensure that the ISP is using good working phone or cable lines to the DSL modem and that the phone lines are filtered correctly. For cable Internet, RG-6 coaxial cable is needed, not RG-59. Check for t.v. line splitters and remove them as they can introduce noise on the line and lower the signal going to the ISP modem. I recommend having the ISP service physically check the lines going from the out side to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The router operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router. Be sure to log into the Admin account on the router.
Is QoS set for for any configurations?
Title: Re: Bad modem or bad router or ?
Post by: hayley3 on December 27, 2015, 05:48:08 PM
It was related to losing electric service..I know that.  Had nothing to with firmware updates.  And all updates have been installed.  As I said in my OP, I did a factory reset.  The router was working fine before the electricity went off.  I'm trying to determine if it's the router or modem.  One got hurt.

Title: Re: Bad modem or bad router or ?
Post by: RYAT3 on December 27, 2015, 07:20:40 PM
Hard to say, but after trying 2 different routers, it can't be 2 routers that are the issue.

Log into the modem.  If you don't know how - google whatever brand it is.

Check your logs in there for messages - and check signal strength of bonded channels (assuming cable modem here.. )

Title: Re: Bad modem or bad router or ?
Post by: Hard Harry on December 28, 2015, 03:40:59 AM
Who is your ISP and what model modem do you have?

Also, what tier or speed plan do you have with them? Is 8Mb normal when connected direct to the modem?

My guess is  the surge causes something to happen to the signal going to the modem. If your having a intermittent speed issue at the ISP level, maybe the router is just magnifying it.
Title: Re: Bad modem or bad router or ?
Post by: hayley3 on January 01, 2016, 05:50:30 AM
Okay I got a new modem but still have the same issues.  Someone said on a traceroute that the modem is the first hop but is that true in all cases?  I thought the IP # would show as 192.168.0.1  ?

Here is the tracert:

Tracing route to google.com [173.194.46.105] over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2121 ms 2149 ms * 216.49.101.80

2 2160 ms 1990 ms * 216.49.101.115

3 2019 ms 2016 ms 2372 ms 208.185.28.137

4 2019 ms 1962 ms 2068 ms 64.125.21.217

5 * 2175 ms 1960 ms 72.14.217.53

6 1896 ms 2108 ms * 209.85.254.128

7 2009 ms 2178 ms 2168 ms 209.85.245.225

8 * 2148 ms 2375 ms 173.194.46.105

Trace complete.

I'll try to look at the modem logs but it's not a cable modem.    My isp is PSCI.net and I can't ping them because they don't allow that.  My plan is the 10mb plan but of course I get about 8mbps.   Yes I wondered if the router could not handle the modem dropping the speed so erraticly but wasn't sure.

Thanks,
Cheryl
Title: Re: Bad modem or bad router or ?
Post by: Hard Harry on January 01, 2016, 08:11:52 AM
Do you have cable of fiber through PSCI.net?

Also, what model modem do you have? It looks to be bridged with the router, but I don't see the 192.168.x.x of the router in the tracert. Was that with the router bypassed?

Overall, I see a extreme amount of latency (2000ms) by the first hop. Need to know what was connected when that trace was done to isolate. Looks initially like a ISP issue.
Title: Re: Bad modem or bad router or ?
Post by: FurryNutz on January 04, 2016, 09:52:25 AM
Any status on this?  ???

Okay I got a new modem but still have the same issues.  Someone said on a traceroute that the modem is the first hop but is that true in all cases?  I thought the IP # would show as 192.168.0.1  ?

Here is the tracert:

Tracing route to google.com [173.194.46.105] over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2121 ms 2149 ms * 216.49.101.80

2 2160 ms 1990 ms * 216.49.101.115

3 2019 ms 2016 ms 2372 ms 208.185.28.137

4 2019 ms 1962 ms 2068 ms 64.125.21.217

5 * 2175 ms 1960 ms 72.14.217.53

6 1896 ms 2108 ms * 209.85.254.128

7 2009 ms 2178 ms 2168 ms 209.85.245.225

8 * 2148 ms 2375 ms 173.194.46.105

Trace complete.

I'll try to look at the modem logs but it's not a cable modem.    My isp is PSCI.net and I can't ping them because they don't allow that.  My plan is the 10mb plan but of course I get about 8mbps.   Yes I wondered if the router could not handle the modem dropping the speed so erraticly but wasn't sure.

Thanks,
Cheryl