D-Link Forums

D-Link PowerLine Adapters => DHP-701AV => Topic started by: Leathal on December 05, 2015, 04:13:47 AM

Title: DHP-701AV
Post by: Leathal on December 05, 2015, 04:13:47 AM
So I downloaded the PLC Utility to see what firmware my powerline devices had for their firmware. And since the when I open the PCL software on any computer and hit scan it comes up empty. Why is that?

I am using Windows 10 x64.
Title: Re: DHP-701AV
Post by: FurryNutz on March 02, 2016, 09:44:15 AM
Any status on this?  ???
Title: Re: DHP-701AV
Post by: pigglety on September 17, 2016, 05:04:10 PM
After quite a bit of experimenting, I was able to get the PLC utility to run on 64-bit Windows 10 and find DHP-700AVs when doing a scan. Anyone having trouble getting a scan to work on Windows 10 can try the following:


Before trying npcap, I had tried WinPcap 4.1.3 and Win10Pcap 10.2.5002, but neither of those worked for me. The idea of trying npcap came from http://www.oklabs.net/cain-abel-on-windows-10-workaround/ (http://www.oklabs.net/cain-abel-on-windows-10-workaround/) .
Title: Re: DHP-701AV
Post by: FurryNutz on October 17, 2016, 09:13:47 AM
Thanks for posting a solution. Hope it helps future users.

I recommend phone contacting D-Link support and asking about this and the use of there SW on Windows 10 x64 platforms. They probably need to update the installation SW to support Windows 10x65 platforms.

After quite a bit of experimenting, I was able to get the PLC utility to run on 64-bit Windows 10 and find DHP-700AVs when doing a scan. Anyone having trouble getting a scan to work on Windows 10 can try the following:

  • When running DHP-701AV_REVA_PLC-UTILITY-LITE_1.01_WIN.EXE on Windows 10, clear the "Install WinPcap library" option.
  • Download the latest npcap installer from https://github.com/nmap/npcap/releases (https://github.com/nmap/npcap/releases) (I downloaded npcap-0.09-r13.exe on September 17, 2016).
  • When running the npcap installer, select the "Install Npcap in WinPcap API-compatible Mode" option. (I cleared the "Support loopback traffic" option, but that is probably not necessary.)

Before trying npcap, I had tried WinPcap 4.1.3 and Win10Pcap 10.2.5002, but neither of those worked for me. The idea of trying npcap came from http://www.oklabs.net/cain-abel-on-windows-10-workaround/ (http://www.oklabs.net/cain-abel-on-windows-10-workaround/) .
Title: Re: DHP-701AV
Post by: FurryNutz on October 20, 2016, 09:38:43 AM
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65764.0 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65764.0)