D-Link Forums

D-Link IP Cameras for Home => DCS-2330L => Topic started by: angelo4chris on October 29, 2015, 11:10:57 AM

Title: Firmware Upgrade Error
Post by: angelo4chris on October 29, 2015, 11:10:57 AM
I was looking around the forums for a possible solution but no luck. I have a DCS-2330L which I am not able to perform an upgrade from version 1.03 to 1.12. I have reset the camera and started setup wizard again but it has not worked. I tried manually uploading the FW in the GUI but every time i click on upload i get page cannot be displayed (IE) or a 500 error  in Firefox. I have other DCS cameras and ive updated them no problem. I contacted the technical support but they have no solution to this at the moment. If i try to upgrade from the Mydlink Page it only keeps loading and never finishes. Camea is wired to router.
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Error
Post by: FurryNutz on October 29, 2015, 11:13:25 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)


Are you directly wired to the camera with a LAN wired PC or is the camera LAN wire connected to the main host router? Besure you are LAN wired.

What Mfr and model is the main host router?
What wireless modes are you using?
I recommend setting a static IP address ON the cameras outside of the main host routers default DHCP IP address pool: DHCP (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=58017.0)

PC 3rd Party Security Software Configurations
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Error
Post by: angelo4chris on October 29, 2015, 11:20:06 AM
Hardware verison A1
And actually the correct version is Ver. 1.01
Im in the Eastern Region of the United States

Correct, I have tha camera wired to one of the LAN ports behind the router

Im on the 2.4 Ghz connection

yeah I have Norton Antivirus and i disabled and restarted my pc but still kept getting the error on the browsers every time i click upload in the GUI of the camera. :-\
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Error
Post by: FurryNutz on October 29, 2015, 11:24:02 AM
Can you try loading the v1.02 version see here?
http://support.dlink.com/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DCS-2330L (http://support.dlink.com/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DCS-2330L)
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Error
Post by: angelo4chris on October 29, 2015, 12:18:42 PM
Still encountered the same issue
* Used IE and gave us : Page Cant be displayed the moment i clicked on upload
* Im on Windows 7 went to Run and typed : hh http:(IP of camera)
* was asked to for the camera log in and I conducted the same steps but no luck still got the same issue
- I just reset the camera again for 1 minute and added camera back to cloud but still does not let me update the version
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Error
Post by: FurryNutz on October 29, 2015, 12:33:41 PM
Do you have a different PC to test with?
What windows version are you using currently?
Besure any browser add-ons or security is disabled.

How about re-loading the same v1.03 version, will it take it?
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Error
Post by: angelo4chris on October 29, 2015, 12:45:35 PM
I tried on a Windows 7 and a Widows 10 with firewall and antivirus disabled
Different network and still no luck
tried on IE, Firefor and hh but no solution

Is it a defective camera?
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Error
Post by: FurryNutz on October 29, 2015, 12:53:53 PM
Ya if you've tried two different PCs and can't get it to accept any FW, it needs to be RMAd or replaced.
I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Error
Post by: angelo4chris on October 29, 2015, 01:13:04 PM
thanks, the camera has been considered as faulty (RMA)
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Error
Post by: FurryNutz on October 29, 2015, 01:13:32 PM
Let us know how the replacement does.  ;)
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Error
Post by: FurryNutz on October 29, 2015, 01:14:17 PM
Fountain Valley CA?
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Error
Post by: ceglia on November 28, 2015, 10:37:44 AM
thanks, the camera has been considered as faulty (RMA)

did you ever get a new camera?  if so, were you able to upgrade the firmware?  same exact issue as you.  camera has 1.01.06 firmware, trying to upgrade to 1.12.  thanks.
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Error
Post by: ceglia on November 28, 2015, 11:02:03 AM
got it to upgrade!  crazy.  i rebooted the camera (not sure that helped at all), then tried upgrading again through the web admin page (not mydlink).  it failed.  tried two more times, and the third time it just worked!  so maybe try rebooting the camera and then give it multiple tries??

now to see if the upgrade was worth it... good luck to all.
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Error
Post by: RYAT3 on November 28, 2015, 02:20:04 PM
Ya if you've tried two different PCs and can't get it to accept any FW, it needs to be RMAd or replaced.
I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.

I bought the camera over a year ago.
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Error
Post by: FurryNutz on November 30, 2015, 07:37:46 AM
PC 3rd Party Security Software Configurations


PC Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try IE FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again. These are recommended for doing any FW udpates.
Disable any security browser Add-ons like No Script and Ad-Block or configure them to allow All Pages when connected to the router.
Clear all browser caches.

got it to upgrade!  crazy.  i rebooted the camera (not sure that helped at all), then tried upgrading again through the web admin page (not mydlink).  it failed.  tried two more times, and the third time it just worked!  so maybe try rebooting the camera and then give it multiple tries??

now to see if the upgrade was worth it... good luck to all.
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Error
Post by: solace on December 29, 2015, 05:57:58 AM
Can you try loading the v1.02 version see here?
http://support.dlink.com/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DCS-2330L (http://support.dlink.com/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DCS-2330L)

Hi, I've signed up for an account just to share the solution of this commonly encountered problem with firmware upgrades
Non of the other reset unit, using mydlink, out of DHCP range IP addresses, changing browsers or disabling AV/ FW worked for upgrading my 2330L from V1.00 to V1.12

However - when I used a stepwise approach to upgrading ; V1.00 - V1.02 then V1.12 , this worked a treat with the ethernet/wired connection
Someone should add to the FAQ that the firmware is incremental / stepwise!

Hope this helps someone save 3 hours
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Error
Post by: FurryNutz on December 29, 2015, 10:54:52 AM
So your saying that users who have v1.00 currently loaded should update to v1.02 then v1.12 in that sequence?