D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-880L => Topic started by: wolfzr2 on October 03, 2015, 05:23:00 PM

Title: 2 quick questions
Post by: wolfzr2 on October 03, 2015, 05:23:00 PM
Just picked up an 880L HW A1 to replace an ASUS RT-N66U that fried itself.

Long story short, after some initial slowness the router had been performing exceptionally well. I noticed this evening my speeds were under 1MB ( normally I get 50-65 ). Tried both wired and wireless connections. Rebooted router and cable modem. Problem resolved.

Decided to see if I was on the latest FW. I was not. I was on 1.02, and I saw that 1.05WW is out. So, I jumped right in and updated my firmware. No problem. However, I got a little overanxious and skipped the factory reset step. So, I was greeted with the following screen:  (http://i.imgur.com/JOCSDuN.png)

After performing the factory reset and rebuilding my config from scratch, everything seems ok. Was this due to some differences in 1.05 and 1.02? Basically I guess I tried to apply settings that were created and stored in 1.02, and something in 1.05 did not like that very much. Should that be the end of it?

2nd question. The slowdown I referred to earlier. I've had really bad luck in the past with Netgear and Linksys stuff where I was having to power cycle the equipment frequently to keep speeds where they should be. Is this something I can expect with the 880L also?



Region - North America
Internet connection type - DOCSIS 3.0 Cable
ISP internet mode - DHCP
Down speed: 60mbps, Up speed: 5mbps
Modem - Cisco DPC3010 - DHCP
Main Router - D-LINK DIR 880L  set to DHCP
Router hardware version - A1
Firmware - 1.05 WW
Devices connected to router - iPhone 6s, iPhone 6, PS4, HP Printer, 3 laptops with a mix of Intel and Broadcom NIC, 3 iPads. Cisco RE1000 extender via DHCP.
Title: Re: 2 quick questions
Post by: FurryNutz on October 05, 2015, 07:10:22 AM
As long as you follow this for doing FW updates, you'll be fine:
Link> >FW Update Process (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42457.0)

Routers and wireless equipement should not need to be rebooted every so often. If it does, then there is a problem that needs to be troubleshot:
Router Troubleshooting Suggestions and Tips (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=54498.0)
Title: Re: 2 quick questions
Post by: wolfzr2 on October 05, 2015, 10:19:41 AM
After much cursing, rebooting, and testing...

Bad cable between my router and cable modem.  :P
Title: Re: 2 quick questions (RESOLVED)
Post by: FurryNutz on October 05, 2015, 10:22:40 AM
Seen that before. Glad you got it working.  ;) CAT6 is recommended.

Enjoy.
Title: Re: 2 quick questions
Post by: wolfzr2 on October 19, 2015, 12:09:53 PM
Same thing just happened again. Same thing in the GUI as in my fist post. Reboot of the router fixed it, but I really should not have to do this. At the very least, I should be able to schedule a reboot nightly as preventative maintenance.
Title: Re: 2 quick questions
Post by: FurryNutz on October 20, 2015, 07:42:49 AM
You maybe experiencing something between the ISP modem and router. I haven't seen this issue with my router however I don't have your modem ISP modem. Mines a SB 6121.

Routers don't need to be rebooted unless for troubleshooting or FW updates. If your having reboot to clear a problem, then the problem needs to be identified and if it's a FW issue, D-Link needs to review it and fix it.

I've never had to reboot this model router while operating in normal mode.

You might factory reset, re-load v1.02, factory reset then set up from scratch?