D-Link Forums

D-Link Connected Home => DSP-W110 => Topic started by: lalloobee on September 17, 2015, 05:34:54 AM

Title: Cannot reconnect the smart plug
Post by: lalloobee on September 17, 2015, 05:34:54 AM
Hello - I bought this plug yesterday and set it up at work to ensure that it worked (it did). Took it home and cannot get it to connect to my home wifi network. I have reset it, erased and re-downloaded the app, moved the plug as close to the router as possible...it isn't working. VERY frustrating. Please help!

I can't erase the device i set up at work nor i can change its settings. I am hitting "add new device", doing a manual set up with the wifi, it's says "searching for your device" and can't find it. No matter what i've tried. It's blinking orange.

I've got an iphone 5, using xfinity router, live in Nashville...
Title: Re: Cannot reconnect the smart plug
Post by: FurryNutz on September 17, 2015, 08:46:41 AM
What Mfr and model is the main host router?

Wireless Configurations
Title: Re: Cannot reconnect the smart plug
Post by: lalloobee on September 17, 2015, 11:01:37 AM
Hrm. I'm going to need some help with all this - these are settings i can change on my router? Itwon't just "reconnect"?  I have an Xfinity arris docsis 3.0 router with Xfinity plus internet service.
Title: Re: Cannot reconnect the smart plug
Post by: FurryNutz on September 17, 2015, 12:36:37 PM
You need to configure the main host router and see if this helps the DSP connect...
Title: Re: Cannot reconnect the smart plug
Post by: lalloobee on September 17, 2015, 02:49:00 PM
I don't even know what that means... I will see if that makes sense when i get home
Title: Re: Cannot reconnect the smart plug
Post by: lalloobee on September 17, 2015, 06:45:36 PM
Please help me understand how to do this. I just want to connect the plug to my home wifi.
i assume this is a lot like a chromcast which can change its wifi settings wherever it goes through the app. That is not the same for the plug? I'm feeling like i should return this for a refund.
Title: Re: Cannot reconnect the smart plug
Post by: lalloobee on September 18, 2015, 06:42:05 AM
 I called and customer service walked me through resetting the app and the plug. VERY easy. No need to configure the main host router.
Title: Re: Cannot reconnect the smart plug (RESOLVED)
Post by: FurryNutz on September 18, 2015, 07:03:17 AM
Glad they helped you get it going. Enjoy.  ;)