D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => DIR-655 => Routers => Europe DIR-655 => Topic started by: Fnatic on July 05, 2015, 02:26:54 AM

Title: Dir655 needs reset several times a day
Post by: Fnatic on July 05, 2015, 02:26:54 AM
Since several months I have been experiencing an issue with several devices in my home: suddenly internet connection is gone.
I have this on wired PCs wireless tablets,laptops and phones. I used to switch off all the network devices and reboot them (modem switch router), which resulted in restored Internet. A few weeks ago, I had an ISP technician come by and check out their modem, switch, amplifier, cable and my PCs. He found the modem, switch, amplifier to be old enough to be replaced, so all of those are brand new now. Tests of the incoming coax cable showing something off, and additional tests were done outside my house on the hub that links to my home, upon which some issue was found about weak signal sometimes, and they said they fixed it.so far so good, if it not were so that I see the issue of loosing Internet on my PCs and tablet etc repeat...

So, this left with only 1 device not having been renewed, the dir 655.
Since several weeks I unplug the dir655 when the issue occurs, which restores Internet connection, but I find myself doing this like 5 days yesterday.

This morning I tried logging on to the router page from the very phone which lost Internet connection.
This worked. The router showed it still had Internet connection...
The logs showed several refused Mac addresses, all unknown to me.

The question: it looks like my Mac filtering has gone bezerk, can it be that the known devices in my home start showing to the router with wrong Mac addresses??
Title: Re: Dir655 needs reset several times a day
Post by: Fnatic on July 05, 2015, 02:29:52 AM
Update info: I rebooted the router from its webpage, which restores Internet connection.

Above question remains open, if so what's the solution?

Thanks!!
Title: Re: Dir655 needs reset several times a day
Post by: FurryNutz on August 06, 2015, 06:38:51 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)

  Link> >FW Update Process (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42457.0)


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

I recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. For DSL or Fiber service lines, ensure that the ISP is using good working phone or cable lines to the DSL modem and that the phone lines are filtered correctly. For cable Internet, RG-6 coaxial cable is needed, not RG-59. Check for t.v. line splitters and remove them as they can introduce noise on the line and lower the signal going to the ISP modem. I recommend having the ISP service physically check the lines going from the out side to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The router operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.