D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-890L => Topic started by: AgaAP on March 30, 2015, 09:57:32 PM

Title: speed issue wit 890l
Post by: AgaAP on March 30, 2015, 09:57:32 PM
Anybody encounter problems with speed? I have 200Mbps internet but all I get through d-link 890 is 100Mbps on 5Ghz. Any idea how to solve it?
Title: Re: speed issue wit 890l
Post by: FurryNutz on March 31, 2015, 08:21:33 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations


I recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. For DSL or Fiber service lines, ensure that the ISP is using good working phone or cable lines to the DSL modem and that the phone lines are filtered correctly. For cable Internet, RG-6 coaxial cable is needed, not RG-59. Check for t.v. line splitters and remove them as they can introduce noise on the line and lower the signal going to the ISP modem. I recommend having the ISP service physically check the lines going from the out side to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The router operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.

Title: Re: speed issue wit 890l
Post by: AgaAP on March 31, 2015, 07:17:41 PM
Sorry for lack of info.
My D-link is DIR -890l, Ver.: A1, F/W 1.02. Im in China, Shanghai, connected to China Telecom. Modem to router is on CAT6.
I tested on speediest.net direct connection to modem: Down: 28 MB/s, Up: 3MB/s. Wireless on router: Down: 11MB/s, Up: 7MB/s.
I tested via ISP speed test site with similar results. All tested on Macbook late 2011.
My modem is standard broadband modem from ISP. Its DSL on fiber optic. Modem it is bit a mystery as its all in chinese. All I know is just dynamic addressing.
Any suggestion what  I could do to reach speed closer to modem over wifi?
Title: Re: speed issue wit 890l
Post by: Hard Harry on March 31, 2015, 08:01:04 PM
First, from the router's diagnostics home screen, what IP are you getting? This will be 2nd option down on right. For privacy reasons, all I need is the first two octets to know if private or public. For instance mine is 68.226.x.x.

Second, could you take a picture of the modem? I don't mind translating some chinese. I can google EVERYTHING!  ;D

"Down: 28 MB/s, Up: 3MB/s. Wireless on router: Down: 11MB/s, Up: 7MB/s."

Do you mean Megabits(Mb) or MegaBytes(MB)? 87Mb would be about right assuming you're 2011 has the 2x2 MIMO (BCM4322) instead of the newer 3x3 MIMO, and assuming you have moderate to moderate-low signal. Also, why does the above statement conflict with " I get through d-link 890 is 100Mbps on 5Ghz. "
Title: Re: speed issue wit 890l
Post by: AgaAP on March 31, 2015, 08:40:03 PM
Im geting IP 192.168.1.3

According to speediest.net setting should be megabytes.

My modem
(http://forums.dlink.com/Users/Aga/Desktop/IMG_0491.jpg)
(http://forums.dlink.com/Users/Aga/Desktop/IMG_0490.jpg)
Title: Re: speed issue wit 890l
Post by: AgaAP on March 31, 2015, 08:45:01 PM
Somehow pictures do not show up, sorry :(

On google modem shows up as EPON e8-C
Title: Re: speed issue wit 890l
Post by: FurryNutz on March 31, 2015, 09:04:04 PM
Its not really recommended to speed test via WiFi due to many variables that can cause inaccurate results....Mfr wireless device design and support will be a factor.  We don't recommend speed testing over WiFi as a default test due to issues like this and many other factors and variables that lead to inaccurate results. Testing over wired LAN cables for default speed tests is preferred.
Title: Re: speed issue wit 890l
Post by: AgaAP on March 31, 2015, 09:18:35 PM
On wired D-link Im getting from speed test: Down: 10MB/s, Up: 3MB/s
Title: Re: speed issue wit 890l
Post by: Hard Harry on March 31, 2015, 09:24:56 PM
If you getting a 192.168 IP from your ISP's gateway then that means it has Network Address Translation(NAT) enabled. I would suggest either trying to put the ISP gateway in bridge mode or the DIR-890L in Access point mode.
Title: Re: speed issue wit 890l
Post by: FurryNutz on March 31, 2015, 09:56:51 PM
Title: Re: speed issue wit 890l
Post by: AgaAP on March 31, 2015, 10:56:46 PM
I will try to put modem in bridge mode then. I need time though to find out how to make it in chinese. Its definitely not in bridge mode. The IP address seems to be not a problem
Title: Re: speed issue wit 890l
Post by: AgaAP on April 01, 2015, 01:30:13 AM
I failed with Access Point on 890l and I have problem with making bridge on chinese modem/router. Is it possible that when you disable wireless on it , it  behave like modem (can't change NAT)  and only port forwarding is available instead of NAT?
I had some chinese telecom service guy which blame only router and have no willingness to help. I will change to just modem + D-link router which sounds like more simple solution then dealing with chinese software.
Title: Re: speed issue wit 890l
Post by: FurryNutz on April 01, 2015, 07:17:54 AM
The router function would still be enabled if the WiFi was disabled on the modem. Which you still do do. Disable the WiFi on the modem and connect the 890L to the modem. Now look at the IP address the 890L gets from the ISP modem and input this address into the DMZ on the modem.

If your getting at spec speeds on wired, this is what you need to check for. Wireless speed testing will have some inaccuracies due to interferences and device support design. As along as your getting wired spec speeds, you'll be ok.
Title: Re: speed issue wit 890l
Post by: FurryNutz on April 01, 2015, 09:26:54 AM
Adding Screenshots In A Post (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=58120.0)

Im geting IP 192.168.1.3

According to speediest.net setting should be megabytes.

My modem
(http://forums.dlink.com/Users/Aga/Desktop/IMG_0491.jpg)
(http://forums.dlink.com/Users/Aga/Desktop/IMG_0490.jpg)
Title: Re: speed issue wit 890l
Post by: AgaAP on April 02, 2015, 12:08:20 AM
I tested on bridge mode, speed is still the same 50% through D-Link. I change for simple modem and its the same story. So I just think my D-Link 890 do not work properly :( Any other option I can try before I return D-Link ??
Title: Re: speed issue wit 890l
Post by: FurryNutz on April 02, 2015, 07:26:33 AM
I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. Ask for an RMA. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Title: Re: speed issue wit 890l
Post by: AgaAP on April 02, 2015, 05:50:18 PM
Speed solved :) Thank to all of you for help. I switched to simple modem (which still was giving me half speed of network). I reset all settings on D-Link one more time. Seems to be that QoS on router was making that problem. I was assigning my mac as highs speed , with only my mac online it was giving half speed on network. When I switched off QoS I get full speed.
Title: Re: speed issue wit 890l (RESOLVED)
Post by: FurryNutz on April 02, 2015, 07:44:10 PM
Glad you got it working. Enjoy.