D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-890L => Topic started by: apb0703 on February 27, 2015, 04:44:56 PM

Title: Reserved ip
Post by: apb0703 on February 27, 2015, 04:44:56 PM
Hello,

I am looking for some help. I just got the DIR-890L today. Coming from a ASUS RT-AC87R.

I have a lot of devices that I connect to the router. Desktops, Laptops, Game Consoles, Tablets and phones. I like to set static ip's for all my devices. I have both wired and wireless devices connecting. I also have a dlink 24 port switch hooked directly into the router.

When I got the 890L, I first upgraded the FW to 1.03. I then changed the default ip address i 192.168.1.1 so it would match the ASUS. This way I could keep all the same ip's of my devices.

I see on the 890L there isn't a place to go in and type in MAC addresses to reserve ip addresses, but you do it by clicking on the connected device and editing the rule for it and enabling reserved ip.

I have done that for about 10 devices. When I try to do more, it won't save.

Does anyone know why this would happen? Is there a limit? My DHCP range is 192.168.1.1-192.168.1.254


Any suggestions?
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: FurryNutz on February 28, 2015, 10:47:17 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)


At this moment I have 12 reservations setup for some of my devices. I'm not sure of the reservation limit. I'm also using the default IP address of .0.1 as well. I don't think changing the routers address pool should make any differences.

I have a mix of reservations and statics. I use static IPs ON devices that don't need any router management, things like printers, controllers and devices that don't need much or little internet access. This helps save on reservation resources. >DHCP (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=58017.0)
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: apb0703 on March 07, 2015, 06:24:58 AM
There needs to be a table where you can assign MAC addresses manually. On every router I have owned you could do this. It makes not sense that you can only reserve an IP address on connected devices.
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: FurryNutz on March 07, 2015, 07:41:35 AM
With the new UI and how they have it designed, not sure it this would be added as a feature. I think they set it up to auto detect MAC addresses and it not really unusual for a home class router not to have this freature. I think D-Kink is going for a more simplified operation for home class routers. Most home users dont have advanceds needs for configuring MAC addresses and just want a quick and easy setup. However, you can phone contact D-Link support and ask them about it and see if they will add it. 
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: apb0703 on March 08, 2015, 12:32:29 PM
Not useful for a home class router? Really? Every router I have owned in the past 5 years has been able to do that. And they were all home class routers. Ones that we less expensive then this.

Most home users also, would not buy a 300 dollar router. A router that cost this much should have the the capability to do this for a number of reasons.

1. being that if less expensive routers can do it, then there is no reason this one shouldn't be able to.

2. To be able to reserve IP addresses for connected  devices makes no sense what so ever. What if one of my clients that I reserve an IP address for breaks and I replace it. I need to change the MAC address for the reserved IP, but I can't connect the old one.

It seems they are trying to dumb down the router, but in the end they really missed the boat on some features that need to be there.
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: FurryNutz on March 09, 2015, 07:33:08 AM
May have been a feature before however again, these are home class routers and most home class users may not have such needs for some advanced features. Most home class users just want to set up the router and go. Less hassle and configuration is need the better for most home users. Ya I agree that maybe some more advanced features could be added or have a advanced menu for those wanting it, however for was routers do, I presume that at some point there is a level where the designers are cutting off advanced features since the usage of them maybe less on home class routers and any more advanced features and configurations maybe set up for business class environments. I have never needed to configure MAC addresses for my home network. I let the router handle all of the management aside the MAC filtering which I've only used for testing and reproduction of problems. I think generally users are just used to having features which they saw and probably used however with the new design, could be just that they are removed and are handled behind the scenes for some features that we were able to configure manually. Some features maybe done automatically now. Probably not for MAC addressing. I presume if users are really needing to configure MAC addresses that they should contact D-Link support and voice there requests to add it back in.  ;)
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: rgw122 on March 31, 2015, 07:53:47 PM
MAC address filtering is a must imo. I have been going through all the documentation looking for it. Had I known it didn't have it I wouldn't  have bought it. This needs to be added  as a feature request.
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: FurryNutz on March 31, 2015, 09:02:29 PM
 MAC Filtering isn't supported at this time...not sure if it will be...I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask about information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: Hard Harry on March 31, 2015, 09:15:54 PM
"I think D-Kink is going for a more simplified operation for home class routers"

Furry, normally were on the same page, but not being unable to set manual DHCP reservation on a 300$+ router is bull poop and I think you know it, and I quote:
"Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting and maintain consistency for applications that need to connect as well as mapped drives." from your own FAQ @ http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=54498.0   :P

You could do that on a DIR-615, which was specifically designed to be sold to ISP for low tech consumers. Anyone buying this router is not a normal consumer, they are a power user. And they installed a GUI that insults my intelligence at best, and renders the router unusable at worst. My suggestion to OP is to upgrade to dd-WRT ASAP. If this is the GUI going forward I will never buy another Dlink router again.

FYI Emulator I am going by http://support.dlink.com/emulators/dir890l/100/Login.html (http://support.dlink.com/emulators/dir890l/100/Login.html)
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: FurryNutz on March 31, 2015, 09:36:28 PM
THere is Manual Reservation. Its a slider bar. The main problem is that when the reservation is made, and if the device goes off line, then the user can't un-reserve the setting. D-Link knows about this.

I'd expect a bit more understanding Harry.
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: Hard Harry on March 31, 2015, 09:48:56 PM
"This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected"

The whole point of setting manual reservation is so the device get a IP before it connects to DHCP. This model does something similar but requires the devices to be on and connected to DHCP, which defeats the purpose of having it IMO. We had entire conversations about this back in the day, and you even put it in a lot of your FAQ's. Seems your troubleshooting style has "changed" since becoming a moderator, and thats one of the reasons I chose not to be one.

As for understanding, that is something gained after debate, not before. I can offer you empathy though, I too have had to talk the corporate line when in reality I knew better. And I only speak so frankly because I consider you a friend. You should know by now I have NO filter.  :-[
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: FurryNutz on March 31, 2015, 09:55:46 PM
You can set a manual reservation....
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: Hard Harry on March 31, 2015, 10:13:08 PM
You can set a manual reservation....

Not without the device being connected. If not connected, won't show on network map on main(home) right? If it is not there, how can I click on it to edit the details to set the IP reservation?  What if I want to set 20-30 reservation, does that mean EVERY device has to be on site, turned on and connected to the Dlink router? I understand IP reservation CAN be done the way it is, but its not as convenient and more resource hungry. Why not go back to the way they used to do it?

http://support.dlink.com/emulators/dir615_revC/310NA/lan.htm
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: FurryNutz on March 31, 2015, 10:15:37 PM
This is a known issue already.
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=61715.0 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=61715.0)

Thanks.
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: Hard Harry on March 31, 2015, 10:21:19 PM
So you have joined the dark side already hmm? I think I will stay away from this forum then. Good day.
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: FurryNutz on April 01, 2015, 07:13:29 AM
Do you even own a D-Link product anymore? Just curious.

There is no dark side. Just the forum.

Sorry you feel that way. Good Luck.
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: FurryNutz on April 17, 2015, 10:41:51 AM
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=62502.0 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=62502.0)
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: apb0703 on April 20, 2015, 06:10:17 AM
Still does not work
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: FurryNutz on April 20, 2015, 06:51:35 AM
Could you be more descriptive?

What isn't working?  ???

Still does not work
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: apb0703 on April 20, 2015, 02:34:49 PM
Ummm. I posted the first thread explaining the issues with Reserved IP. You posted the link to the new firmware so I assumed it was a given that the Reserved IP still does not work, even after updating to the new FW.
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: FurryNutz on April 21, 2015, 06:57:03 AM
So you still can't reserve more than 10 IP addresses? Reservations are working for me...

What region are you located?
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: apb0703 on April 21, 2015, 10:07:15 AM
Correct, after about 10 reservations it will no longer save new ones. I haven't done a full count, so I might have a few more then 10. But at a certain point it stops saving info IE. Reserved ip, device name, etc etc
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: FurryNutz on April 21, 2015, 10:31:49 AM
What region are you located?

Been confirmed that D-Link reports the user of more than 10 reservations. Waiting on confirmation of the limit. I think I have about 15 as well.

What browser are you using currently when managing the router?
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: apb0703 on April 21, 2015, 11:22:52 AM
I am in North America. Running the latest FW.

I have tried it on Chrome, IE and Firefox.

I could be above 10, I don't have an exact count, but at any given time I could have 25-45 devices connecting either through wired connection or wireless. I have switches attached also. After a certain number when I try to save device name and reserve an IP for the device, the info won't save. I know I have done it with at least 10, but after a certain amount it won't save anymore.
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: FurryNutz on April 21, 2015, 11:24:56 AM
Need to count how many you have to confirm. Word is that 24 is probably the max reservation limit. D-Links standard for most of there home class routers.
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: apb0703 on April 21, 2015, 01:42:58 PM
I will  do a count tonight, but I am sure it is less then 24. Even if that is the case, again for  a high tech router such as t his, 24 is way to low, when routers out on the market today, including ones  just as powerful as this one, have limits of 64.
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: FurryNutz on April 21, 2015, 01:58:18 PM
24 has been D-Links standard for a while now. Ya, I know home users are getting more and more devices now days. You'll have to talk to D-Link about changing there standards. I do recommend that for devices that don't need any form of reservation or router management, set those devices up on Static IPs out side of the routers default DHCP IP address pool. Devices like printers, NAS, cameras, controllers and the like that don't need any QoS or router management, don't need to have a reserved IP address. Anything with short term connections can be left to Dynamic. Setting Static IPs will help balance the reservations better.

You might try turning OFF ALL devices save for one wired PC. Disable any and all 3rd party security SW and browser add-ons. These are known to cause FW upgrade problems. Factory reset, re-load FW file. Factory reset and then set up the router from scratch. Set up the 1st PC or device for a reservation. Turn on the next device and reserve it. Keep doing this until you run into the problem or something happens. This might help determine what device maybe a cause or the UI stops reserving at a certain point. I would use FF to do this, however your choice.

I have to upgrade mine. I'll try this evening and see what I find.  ::)

On my router, normal configuration for me is that I can disconnect my main switch that has everything connected to it. Do the upgrade process and when it's ready, I can connect the main switch back online and the router finds all the devices I have. All I do is to reserve each one I need and I'm good. I'll count my reservations.
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: apb0703 on April 21, 2015, 02:45:54 PM
I will do the same. But I still stand by my argument, that a router of this caliber should have a list that you can add reserved IP and MAC addresses to instead of this reserved IP when the device is connected. Even if you reserve an IP now in the current form, you have to disconnect and reconnect the device to have it get the correct IP. With a list you would be able to input the MAC address and the desired IP address, then connect the device.
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: FurryNutz on April 21, 2015, 04:33:28 PM
Probably a nice feature however I think D-Link is relaying on some form of auto detection to find devices. Again, this is all in the mind set of simplification of the user experience for home users. I can't only speculate why D-Link chose this route.
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: FurryNutz on April 21, 2015, 06:01:39 PM
So I loaded v1.06 B04 and seeing this issue. I can only seem to reserve about 12 devices before the device window hangs after saving the setting. Also for me, after doing some reservations, the setting display doesn't persist. It shows disabled after saving the setting, then opening the device window again. I'm working with D-Link at the moment on this.

I noticed that you can manually add a blank reservation with MAC addressing if you select the (+) icon button.  :o
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: apb0703 on April 21, 2015, 06:15:51 PM
Nice catch on the + thing. I didn't notice that.
Title: Re: Reserved ip
Post by: FurryNutz on April 21, 2015, 06:51:35 PM
 ;)