D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => WBR-1310 => Topic started by: relztrah on February 25, 2015, 12:33:55 PM

Title: Does my WBR-1310 router have a built-in DNS updater?
Post by: relztrah on February 25, 2015, 12:33:55 PM
I have been using an old WBR-1310 for years and it's been reliable so there's no reason to upgrade. I recently created a hostname with DynDNS which allows me to access the router remotely. Do I need to download and install a software update client or does the router perform this function automatically?  I have read that most newer routers perform this automatically without the need of a software update client, but due to the age of this router, I wasn't sure.
Title: Re: Does my WBR-1310 router have a built-in DNS updater?
Post by: FurryNutz on February 25, 2015, 12:39:32 PM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

I don't know for sure since this is an older model router that I've never used before. However most routers automatically update DNS addresses from what they detect from the ISP modem and services, unless custom DNS addresses are used or DDNS enabled features on routers are used and configured. If you use DDNS services, then you'll need to tell the router to use those services if it's got DDNS features. Or you can manually input DNS as well, however only draw back is that if DNS services change the IP addresses, you'll need to find out what the new ones are. Generally DNS doesn't change much if any. They will update on there own depending on these few configurations.
Title: Re: Does my WBR-1310 router have a built-in DNS updater?
Post by: relztrah on February 26, 2015, 08:05:54 AM
Thank you for your prompt reply. Hardware version B1, firmware version 2.02. I have cable internet using a Motorola Surfboard modem model #SB5101.
Title: Re: Does my WBR-1310 router have a built-in DNS updater?
Post by: FurryNutz on February 26, 2015, 08:25:48 AM
You can try this as well:
Turn off DNS Relay (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=45143.0) under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53222.0) and input new DNS addresses
Title: Re: Does my WBR-1310 router have a built-in DNS updater?
Post by: relztrah on February 27, 2015, 08:49:17 AM
Thank you again for your advice. After reading the posts I think the best option is to leave DNS Relay checked (on) and keep my DNS server address hard coded to OpenDNS, which is the current configuration.  I am able to access the router remotely which was my intention, so mission accomplished. I downloaded the DynDNS updater client for Linux--I'm using Puppy Linux on an old Lenovo ThinkPad--and it's working as far as I can tell. 
Title: Re: Does my WBR-1310 router have a built-in DNS updater?
Post by: FurryNutz on February 27, 2015, 09:04:33 AM
Good, if its working then best to use the current configuration.

Do a save configuration to file so you have it for back up in case something happens.

Enjoy.  ;)