D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-880L => Topic started by: MisterD on January 12, 2015, 01:38:27 PM

Title: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: MisterD on January 12, 2015, 01:38:27 PM
Greetings :)
Router info from admin screen: DIR-880L   HW:A1   FW:1.02

Router works fine if I just follow the setup wizard.
However I want to set QoS to give priority to my NowTV box.
I drag the NowTV "icon" on the QoS screen to high priority and save the change.
The router reboots over and over again.

I get the feeling, but haven't thoroughly tested it, that the router reboots every time my laptop (from where I made the change to QoS) cojnnects to the wireless. My laptop is an HP Envy with a builtin Broadcom BCM4352HMB 802.11ac 2x2 Wi-Fi Adapter.
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: MisterD on January 12, 2015, 01:42:22 PM
Oh......FYI the same thing happens with the older firmware 1.01?
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: FurryNutz on January 12, 2015, 02:21:38 PM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)

>FW Update Process (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42457.0)

Doe it only happen with this NowTV box? What happens if you select a different device to place into QoS?
Test the Laptop LAN wired to the router and disable the wireless adapter and test.

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48327.0) and Managing Signal Congestion (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53228.0) and Good Neighbour Policy (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=10634.0)

Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
3-6' feet minimum safe distance between devices.
Placement on main level floor and central in the building and WELL ventilated is preferred. Not in basements or closets as building materials, or near by electronics devices could interfere or hinder good signal propagation.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics/31083-smallnetbuilders-wireless-faq-the-essentials (http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics/31083-smallnetbuilders-wireless-faq-the-essentials)
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: MisterD on January 13, 2015, 01:12:30 PM
Hi FurryNutz,
thanks for the welcome and response.

I'm in the UK on Virgin Media cable internet.
I used the reset button (10 seconds?) to reset to factory defaults then used the setup wizard on the router. Router is rock solid until I configure QoS.

I'll try QoSing a different device and taking my laptop off of the WLAN too.
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: FurryNutz on January 13, 2015, 03:30:47 PM
Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?

What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: square_eyes on January 13, 2015, 08:38:05 PM
I have this problem also. I initially thought I had narrowed it to the router being set to Static IP rather than Dynamic IP. But after further testing found it was my QOS. Here's my post (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=61617.0), which I have edited to show my developments in testing.
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: MisterD on January 14, 2015, 11:03:06 AM
Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?

What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Factory reset was not performed after the firmware updates but I have performed factory resets since.....to fix the rebooting. Then followed the setup wizard....from scratch.

Modem is Virgin Media SuperHub in modem mode.

Everything works fine until QoS engine is enabled.

Set my Synology 214 Play as the QoS priority device.....boom....rooter reboots over and over.
Reset to factory.....setup from scratch.
Wireless card tirned off on laptop and QoS setup via LAN cable. One reboot to apply settings....then stable, wit 5 mins....still stable....disconnect LAN cable....enable wireless card.....boom....router reboots over and over.
As soon as the router sees the laptop wirelessly it crashes.
I will try turning AC off on the laptop to see if that makes a difference....or turn the laptop off and configure router from tablet.

Current suspicion that the router firmware has an issue with AC when the QoS engine is active.
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: FurryNutz on January 14, 2015, 11:09:24 AM
Ok, lets try this, Set Wifi mode from AC to Single mode N. Then test.

The Synology device should not be in QOS. It's mostly a LAN device that doesn't need much management. I would in fact set up a Static IP address ON the NAS to 192.168.0.214 since this should be out side of the default router IP address pool.
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: MisterD on January 15, 2015, 08:07:55 AM
Ok, lets try this, Set Wifi mode from AC to Single mode N. Then test.

The Synology device should not be in QOS. It's mostly a LAN device that doesn't need much management. I would in fact set up a Static IP address ON the NAS to 192.168.0.214 since this should be out side of the default router IP address pool.

I'll try the N test.

You said try something else in QoS....what I try is wholly irrelevant I chose the NAS and the router crashed. I don't want the NAS to have priority but you wanted to test something different from the NowTV box.
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: FurryNutz on January 15, 2015, 08:30:04 AM
Ok,

This NowTV, it has steaming features that it can connect to on the internet?

And when this in placed into any box in QoS, along with Say your PC or Laptop, the router crashes?
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: MisterD on January 16, 2015, 09:55:37 AM
Yes.....no matter what device I put in QoS as soon as my laptop connects on N or AC the router reboots :(

If I leave QoS alone the router works perfectly.

If I can provide any logs to see what is crashing please provide instructions.
I had syslog setup but it was just telling me which devices were connecting and DHCP info.
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: FurryNutz on January 16, 2015, 10:03:53 AM
Ok, I'll get my 880L back into router mode and see what happens here. Not sure if syslog will capture the info, you could try it.

If I can reproduce, I'll get syslog info.
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: FurryNutz on January 16, 2015, 03:16:31 PM
Ok, So i have my 880L back in main host router mode now. I put my 2007 MBP supports N only on 5Ghz, reserved IP address in the High section of QoS and turned on my Mac Mini with a DWA-180 supporting adapter on it and placed it in Highest section of QoS. After testing the DWA adapter, I unplugged it and used the on board WiFi for the mini, I don't think it support AC, only N. It connects at 450Mb however. Place the native WiFi adapters IP address in QoS High section and rebooted the router.

For my, my router seems stable as I'm not seeing any reboots currently. I've opened my browser with numerous tabs and both MBP and Mini loaded with out stalling due to a reboot on the router. I'll give it a while and see how it goes.

Current settings on 5Ghz is Mixed N and AC, WPA/WPA2Personal, Auto channel width and channel
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: MisterD on January 19, 2015, 11:39:33 AM
Factory reset with laptop connected via cable....wireless card turned off.
IP reserved, QoS enabled by setting NowTV to high priority. All working fine.
As soon as I enable the AC 2x2 wireless card the router reboots.

Repeated the above with wireless set to "AC Only" and "N Only" and the same thing happens.
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: FurryNutz on January 19, 2015, 12:51:23 PM
What is the Mfr and model of this AC wireless adapter?

Can you try a different wireless AC adapter?
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: MisterD on January 20, 2015, 09:49:03 AM
My laptop is an HP Envy with a builtin Broadcom BCM4352HMB 802.11ac 2x2 Wi-Fi Adapter.

I have no other AC adapter to try.

Do Dlink have any guidance on wireless adapter configuration? There are dozens of advanced driver settings on the card.
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: FurryNutz on January 20, 2015, 09:52:30 AM
I'd contact either HP or better yet, Broadcom and ask about configurations of that adapter.
Ensure the drivers are up to date.

You know that the wired connections are working, only when the wireless adapter is set up does it cause a reboot.

One test you can try, disable WPA on the 5ghz radio, save settings and reboot. Re-enable the wireless adapter...Does it cause a reboot still?
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: MisterD on January 31, 2015, 12:57:00 PM
It looks like D-Link have an issue that needs addressing.

I can confirm that square_eyes (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=61617.0) that the router only crashes when an AC device connects to 5Ghz with QoS enabled.

I disabled 5Ghz....connected with laptop....enabled QoS (NowTV)....router reboots....laptop reconnects....all ok.
Disable 5Ghz on the laptop.....enable 5Ghz on the router....laptop reconnects..all ok.
Enable 5Ghz on the laptop....BOOM! router starts rebooting over and over.....disable 5Ghz.....router stops rebooting.

Can I asume you feed these faults back to D-Link or do we end users need to raise a proper fault?
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: FurryNutz on February 01, 2015, 10:50:11 AM
That users issues were with a Apple Laptop...has not confirmed futher investigation on where the issue may be...Yes, similar in nature on 5Ghz.

Did you contact the Mfr on your client devices for any additional help or information?

You may need to contact D-Link support as well. Ask for level 2 or higher support.
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: square_eyes on March 12, 2015, 02:46:42 AM
Sorry I'm back. No I suspect the router. The MBP can connect to 5ghz AC on another network. I have updated that thread.
Title: Re: QoS causes constant reboots.
Post by: FurryNutz on March 12, 2015, 06:59:43 AM
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=61617.0 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=61617.0)

Sorry I'm back. No I suspect the router. The MBP can connect to 5ghz AC on another network. I have updated that thread.