D-Link Forums

D-Link Connected Home => DSP-W215 => Topic started by: dichaelen on December 24, 2014, 01:51:26 AM

Title: DSP-W215 makes my network crash
Post by: dichaelen on December 24, 2014, 01:51:26 AM
Hi everyone,

This is Michael writing to you from Denmark.  I am the happy owner of several D-Link products and have considered myself a small D-Link-fan ever since my fantastic DIR-655 router. Now I have the DIR-880, which isn’t as geeky, but it does the job and is pretty fast. I also have some DCS-cameras on my network.
I am not sure whether to post this issue in the DSP-W215 section or the DIR-880. The DIR-880 is a HW revision A1 and runs firmware revision 1.02 (DHCP enabled and public IP – please ask for more info if needed!!). I was unable to update the DSP-W215 since my network crashes the moment it connects – so I guess it runs whatever firmware revision the first EU-version ships with.  The issue is as simple as it is incapacitating.
1: Everything runs smooth with 8 to 20 units on my network, which connects to both theLAN, 2.4GHz and the 5GHz WiFi.
2: After a very slow setup of the DSP-W215 it finally connects – in five seconds and the router crashes and becomes unavailable and the WiFi-SSIDs becomes invisible (naturally)
Every unit loses connection (naturally)
3: Router successfully recovers and all units reconnect and the second the DSP-W215 reconnects the same thing happens all over again and so it continues until I pull the DSP-W215 from the plug – finally a stable network.
I experienced exactly the same with the DAP-1320 (Wireless N300 Range Extender). Could it be the same radio chip or something like that? I am puzzled and in search of some special domain knowledge to solve this issue. I have notified D-Link if a firmware upgrade could be required.
Merry Christmas
Kind regards,
Michael
Title: Re: DSP-W215 makes my network crash
Post by: FurryNutz on December 24, 2014, 01:33:37 PM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

Does it crash if you connect the DSP to the old router?
What Rev HW and what FW is loaded on the DIR-655?

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Title: Re: DSP-W215 makes my network crash
Post by: dichaelen on December 25, 2014, 01:58:48 PM
I an not sure why ISP service have anything to do with this issue. But anyway :-)  -> The switch could/should work without internet on my network, right? But it is a fiber connection 100/100Mb to the house and gigabit wired internally. The ISP modem is a Alcatel-Lucent G-241W-P
The wifi antenna on my 655 has burned out- that is why I bought the new dir-880. I would love to try it another router when I find one to borrow, but it SHOULD work together with the DLINK DIR-880!!! Right?
Title: Re: DSP-W215 makes my network crash
Post by: FurryNutz on December 25, 2014, 02:14:36 PM
Yes it should. The 880L and the DSP are fairly new products and may not have been tested together to fine any problems.

I would recommend contacting D-Link on the phone and ask for level 2 or higher support and see what they say...

Title: Re: DSP-W215 makes my network crash
Post by: dichaelen on December 26, 2014, 07:13:49 AM
I use b/g/n. But I have tried to limit it to only n-mode. The result is the same :-(
Title: Re: DSP-W215 makes my network crash
Post by: FurryNutz on December 26, 2014, 02:27:52 PM
I'd contact D-Link support and ask. I'll forward this on to D-Link for review. I'll post if I get any information. Let us know what they say when you contact them please.

Title: Re: DSP-W215 makes my network crash
Post by: RyoS on December 29, 2014, 10:09:04 AM
Hi everyone,

This is Michael writing to you from Denmark.  I am the happy owner of several D-Link products and have considered myself a small D-Link-fan ever since my fantastic DIR-655 router. Now I have the DIR-880, which isn’t as geeky, but it does the job and is pretty fast. I also have some DCS-cameras on my network.
I am not sure whether to post this issue in the DSP-W215 section or the DIR-880. The DIR-880 is a HW revision A1 and runs firmware revision 1.02 (DHCP enabled and public IP – please ask for more info if needed!!). I was unable to update the DSP-W215 since my network crashes the moment it connects – so I guess it runs whatever firmware revision the first EU-version ships with.  The issue is as simple as it is incapacitating.
1: Everything runs smooth with 8 to 20 units on my network, which connects to both theLAN, 2.4GHz and the 5GHz WiFi.
2: After a very slow setup of the DSP-W215 it finally connects – in five seconds and the router crashes and becomes unavailable and the WiFi-SSIDs becomes invisible (naturally)
Every unit loses connection (naturally)
3: Router successfully recovers and all units reconnect and the second the DSP-W215 reconnects the same thing happens all over again and so it continues until I pull the DSP-W215 from the plug – finally a stable network.
I experienced exactly the same with the DAP-1320 (Wireless N300 Range Extender). Could it be the same radio chip or something like that? I am puzzled and in search of some special domain knowledge to solve this issue. I have notified D-Link if a firmware upgrade could be required.
Merry Christmas
Kind regards,
Michael

Greetings Dichaelen,

Merry Christmas.  Thank you for contacting the D-Link US forums and bringing your observations to our attention here in the US. As the devices are running the EU firmware, which are different than our US units, I recommend contacting your local Denmark Technical Support office to best address this issue (link below.)

http://www.dlink.com/dk/da/support/contact (http://www.dlink.com/dk/da/support/contact)

Telephone Support (Denmark)
Home products: 90 13 88 99* 9:00 − 18:00, Monday − Friday

Title: Re: DSP-W215 makes my network crash
Post by: giorgioo on November 27, 2015, 01:06:55 AM
 Im George from Hungary , today i bought 2 DSP-w215 smart plugs , and a same thing happended with me as You, in a last december. I hope already You know the solution at the problem. I have a DIR-880L also, so the situation is the same. I tried all of them but the same thing is happening , i thing it will be some wifi setup but i  don't want to try all the possibilities.

DIR-880L
WPA/WPA2-Personal
Chanel-Auto
TP-High
ChW : Auto 20/40
visible

So if You have a solution already I'd be gratefull if You could share with me.

Thanx

Giorgio
Title: Re: DSP-W215 makes my network crash
Post by: FurryNutz on November 27, 2015, 11:51:15 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)



Im George from Hungary , today i bought 2 DSP-w215 smart plugs , and a same thing happended with me as You, in a last december. I hope already You know the solution at the problem. I have a DIR-880L also, so the situation is the same. I tried all of them but the same thing is happening , i thing it will be some wifi setup but i  don't want to try all the possibilities.

DIR-880L
WPA/WPA2-Personal
Chanel-Auto
TP-High
ChW : Auto 20/40
visible

So if You have a solution already I'd be gratefull if You could share with me.

Thanx

Giorgio
Title: Re: DSP-W215 makes my network crash
Post by: giorgioo on November 27, 2015, 12:04:35 PM
Hi FurryNutz

Modell : DIR-880LA1
H/W : A1
FW: 1.02

Im in Hungary, so i think its EU
Title: Re: DSP-W215 makes my network crash
Post by: FurryNutz on November 27, 2015, 12:09:30 PM
Is there a more recent version of FW in our region? I believe there is v1.05WW that you could try:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63479.0 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63479.0)
Title: Re: DSP-W215 makes my network crash
Post by: giorgioo on November 28, 2015, 01:16:40 PM
Thank You, that was a solution !!!  After a router firmware upgrade everything works perfect ! ()I tried upgrade the firmware from the router firmware upgrade page , but my router told : my firmware is a newest ! So thank you again for the link and a fw ! )
Title: Re: DSP-W215 makes my network crash (RESOLVED)
Post by: FurryNutz on November 30, 2015, 07:50:31 AM
Yes the FW update servers are not kept up to date sometimes. I recommend manually updating FW anyways. Please follow this for doing any future router FW udpates:
Link> >FW Update Process (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42457.0)

Enjoy.  ;)