D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-857 => Topic started by: Dunegoon on December 03, 2014, 11:32:52 PM

Title: Yet another dropped connection thread-
Post by: Dunegoon on December 03, 2014, 11:32:52 PM
I've had my DIR-857 for a couple of years and it has been awesome and rock solid..... until a few weeks ago.  Upon investigation, I determined that the wireless and the internal hardwired LAN were working fine, just the Internet access was down.  The first time it happened, I did the usual ISP (Charter) shuffle:  Shut down everything and then power up things in logical order.  First the cable modem (Surfboard 6121), then the DIR-857, then the PCs.  That works.  But the connection started  going down a few times a day, so I soon got on Google with search strings about "connection down DIR-857", etc.  Most of the links took me to this board.  So now I have been through all of the posts and FAQs here that seem to apply and have made a few router changes as a result. 

What has changed?  We recently brought a couple of Samsung S5 smart phones home....  Just thought I'd mention that.

Anyway, I reviewed the router configuration, saved a backup, and then:

We bought the DIR-857 for  its throughput.  My wife is a CPA and works over the Internet.  This network must work flawlessly during tax season, she says.  :o  I have an auto shop and machine shop on it as well.  I have used all my previous routers as APs and switches: A DIR 825, DIR-625 and a WR54G Linksys.  Cat 6 cables everywhere, everything that counts is hardwire.  ISP is typically 40 megs down, 5 megs up and 50-150 ping.

All of my LAN and WiFi seems to be rock solid, It's just the ISP connection that is the problem.  No, I haven't called them (are you kidding? ;D)  The cablemodem admin page shows no abnormalities anyways.

here is a typical log fragment:
Time    Message
Dec 3 23:12:42    UDHCPD Inform: add_lease 192.168.0.102
Dec 3 23:12:42    UDHCPD Inform: add_lease 192.168.0.100
Dec 3 23:02:39    UDHCPD Inform: add_lease 192.168.0.102
Dec 3 23:02:39    UDHCPD Inform: add_lease 192.168.0.100
Dec 3 22:52:37    UDHCPD Inform: add_lease 192.168.0.102
Dec 3 22:52:36    UDHCPD Inform: add_lease 192.168.0.100
Dec 3 22:52:25    Debu: Joining group 224.0.0.251 upstream on IF address 97.90.124.41
Dec 3 22:52:25    Debu: Leaving group 224.0.0.251 upstream on IF address 97.90.124.41
Dec 3 22:52:25    Debu: Joining group 224.0.0.251 upstream on IF address 97.90.124.41
Dec 3 22:52:25    Debu: Leaving group 224.0.0.251 upstream on IF address 97.90.124.41

When it has failed, I just don't see a "Debu: Joining group 224.0.0.251 upstream on IF address 97.90.124.41" entry.

Well, I'm off to turn off the WiFi on the  new phones.   We don't have cell coverage at this location, so they'll  be bricks for a day or so.... :(

Any help will be appreciated, of course.
Title: Re: Yet another dropped connection thread-
Post by: FurryNutz on December 04, 2014, 07:19:00 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)

>FW Update Process (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42457.0)

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

I recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. For DSL or Fiber service lines, ensure that the ISP is using good working phone or cable lines to the DSL modem and that the phone lines are filtered correctly. For cable Internet, RG-6 coaxial cable is needed, not RG-59. Check for t.v. line splitters and remove them as they can introduce noise on the line and lower the signal going to the ISP modem. I recommend having the ISP service physically check the lines going from the out side to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The router operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router. Besure to log into the Admin account on the router.


Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48327.0) and Managing Signal Congestion (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53228.0) and Good Neighbour Policy (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=10634.0)

Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
3-6' feet minimum safe distance between devices.
Placement on main level floor and central in the building and WELL ventilated is preferred. Not in basements or closets as building materials, or near by electronics devices could interfere or hinder good signal propagation.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics/31083-smallnetbuilders-wireless-faq-the-essentials (http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics/31083-smallnetbuilders-wireless-faq-the-essentials)
Title: Re: Yet another dropped connection thread-
Post by: Dunegoon on December 04, 2014, 09:28:48 PM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)
Thanks for the quick reply, I think you have a template of good ideas ready!  I have some news to report:  It dropped at 8:13 AM this morning and, as usual, there was nothing new in the logs.   So I started a 24 hour test of running the two Samsung S5 phones with the WiFi turned OFF.  Even more excitement occurred at about 10:30 AM today when the ISP fell flat- no signals to the cable modem AND no signal to the telephone-cable box (another service from Charter. I think it runs on separate logical infrastructure from the Internet service.)  Anyways, both down, dead cable, no signaling at all. Cable TV still up, which tells me that the cable plant and the line amplifiers were OK, therefore a head-end issue.

It's back up as of 6:00PM.  Now I am wondering if I had been seeing some early warning signs of a failure on their end.  Time will tell.

I am in Roseburg Oregon

>FW Update Process (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42457.0)
No factory reset, just a firmware upgrade to 1.04.  I think this is a good idea to do but if a person changes multiple things at once, you never know what fixed it.  So, I think I'll wait 24 hours and then make the reset part of the next phase.
Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
Charter Cable bundle: TV, Internet, telephone.
I own and manage the modem.  It is a Motorola SB6121.  It's on 192.168.100.1 and I use a web browser to monitor it.  I don't change things there, just monitor or remote reboot.
It's Dynamic and I don't see a place to change that.  But the DIR-857 is set for Dynamic (DHCP) to match.

Downstream    Bonding Channel Value
Channel ID    4     1     2     3
Frequency    621000000 Hz    603000000 Hz    609000000 Hz    615000000 Hz
Signal to Noise Ratio    37 dB    37 dB    37 dB    37 dB
Downstream Modulation    QAM256    QAM256    QAM256    QAM256
Power Level
The Downstream Power Level reading is a snapshot taken at the time this page was requested. Please Reload/Refresh this Page for a new reading
   -3 dBmV     -3 dBmV     -3 dBmV     -2 dBmV 

Upstream    Bonding Channel Value
Channel ID    4
Frequency    31000000 Hz
Ranging Service ID    5391
Symbol Rate    5.120 Msym/sec
Power Level    40 dBmV
Upstream Modulation    [3] 16QAM
[3] 64QAM
 
Ranging Status    Success


As per my previous message, I typically see around 40 Megabits down, 5 Megabits up from this
Nice write up, will do.
No DSL.

I recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. For DSL or Fiber service lines, ensure that the ISP is using good working phone or cable lines to the DSL modem and that the phone lines are filtered correctly. For cable Internet, RG-6 coaxial cable is needed, not RG-59. Check for t.v. line splitters and remove them as they can introduce noise on the line and lower the signal going to the ISP modem. I recommend having the ISP service physically check the lines going from the out side to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The router operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.
This is all in great shape- RG-11 incoming.  The cable tech and I spend an afternoon getting this all perfect (last year, though)

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router. Besure to log into the Admin account on the router.
No advanced, OK here.
Unicasting is off, seems to work fine this way.
Previously done, Name Bench works great.
Previously done.
Previously done.
Previously done.
SPI and anti-spoofing is on, Previously done. Endpoint Independent not found on this model?
I've had uPnP off and off and on, makes no difference.  I left it on but I don't know what uses it really.
No WISH or WPS, previously turned off.
I left it on auto
NTP and DST all set up.


Wireless ConfigurationsAll of my WiFi works perfectly, always.
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48327.0) and Managing Signal Congestion (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53228.0) and Good Neighbour Policy (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=10634.0)

Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
3-6' feet minimum safe distance between devices.
Placement on main level floor and central in the building and WELL ventilated is preferred. Not in basements or closets as building materials, or near by electronics devices could interfere or hinder good signal propagation.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics/31083-smallnetbuilders-wireless-faq-the-essentials (http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics/31083-smallnetbuilders-wireless-faq-the-essentials)
Title: Re: Yet another dropped connection thread-
Post by: FurryNutz on December 04, 2014, 09:36:09 PM
Sounds like this could be a ISP service issue. Keep us posted on how it goes over the next day or two. This is a solid router and works well. It does depend on good service from the ISP though.  ::) You have a good ISP modem too. I have the 6121 as well. Motorola makes good modems.

Keep us posted.  ;)
Title: Re: Yet another dropped connection thread-
Post by: Dunegoon on December 10, 2014, 11:03:19 AM
Update:
WiFi was turned off on both of the Android 4.4.2 (Samsung S5) phones since my last posting.  While they were off, Charter had a network outage.  I had some hopes that my problems were actually due to something on their end and that whatever they replaced would help me somehow.   Additionally. I took the time to clear the DIR-857 router to factory defaults and then hand configured all of the entries from previously printed notes (screen shots).  With Charter back up and several days of good performance, I decided to enable WiFi on one of the phones last night.  BINGO! --- the router locked up at 7:50 am this morning.  I've spend some time this morning looking at logs, about 1/2 hour before rebooting the router, and then even more time trying to find anything inside the phone that occurred at about the same time.  I don't yet know how to find activity logs in Android.

Note again that only Internet connectivity is affected on the router.  WiFi and local LAN is always up and good.

It's going to be hard to discover the cause of this, I fear, because there is not much in the way of log tools or traces of any kind to go from.
Title: Re: Yet another dropped connection thread-
Post by: FurryNutz on December 10, 2014, 11:23:52 AM
Lets test the WiFi with 5Ghz disabled only,

2.4Ghz:
Lets try single mode G on manual channel 11 if nobody else is using it, if someone else is try 1 or 6. Set WPA and TPIK only and manual channel width of 20Mhz.

Report any router problems. If nothing,
Try single mode N, manual channel 11 if nobody else is using it, if someone else is try 1 or 6. Set WPA2/AES only and Auto Channel width. Disable HT20/40Mhz Coexistence. Report any router problems.

Where is the 857 place?
Do you have a laptop cooler by chance?
Title: Re: Yet another dropped connection thread-
Post by: Dunegoon on December 11, 2014, 01:22:55 AM
I'll drop the 5Ghz, nothing uses it except a few guests from time-to-time.
 
Only the Internet functions are going down, the WiFi network remains completely functional and I have tested its functions thoroughly both when the Internet has failed and during normal operations.  This seems to be a dead end as far as troubleshooting.  But, If you have some theory as to why the WiFi is shutting down the Internet, speak up!

It's not all that simple either:

192.168.0.1 is the DIR-857, the WiFi channel is set to 1.  This is the WAN interface, it sits next to the cable modem (192.168.1.100)  This equipment, along with a 24 port 10/100 switch is located in the wiring closet on the first floor.

192.168.0.2 is the DIR-825, WiFi channel 11, AP mode (no DHCP, hardwire link to the DIR-857), located on 2nd floor.

192.168.0.3 is Linksys, WiFi channel 8, AP mode (no DHCP, hardwire link to the DIR-857), in the machine shop about 100' away.

192.168.0.4 is DIR-625, WiFi channel 4,  AP mode (no DHCP, hardwire link to the DIR-857), in the machine shop about 100' away but 60' distant from the Linksys.

All this stuff works killer good and has for years.  Very important: almost all of my equipment is actually hardwire-CAT6 connected, wireless is more for occasional usage when I have to carry a laptop or wireless device away from its normal location.  In fact, only the Samsung S5 phones really require the WiFi.

Sort of off-topic: We also run a Cradlepoint router in the RV and it uses an AT&T telco-wireless dongle to give us mobile office functions while on vacation (although working on vacation sucks!)

Now, for why I really logged in tonight------------------

I have Wireshark set up on one of my laptops,  I've used it a few times in the past but I'm kind of "rusty" with it.  Wireshark is a network packet capture and analysis tool (free too!!).  I would like to capture the network traffic from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM that is related to the Samsung S% and the DIR-857.  I can't sniff the packets over the WiFi because Windows 7 adapters can not go into promiscuous mode.  Therefore, I need the router to mirror all traffic to a LAN port.  To that LAN port, I plan on capturing all the traffic for analysis.

Does the DIR-857 support mirroring OR can you think of a way to configure a forwarding rule that would accomplish the same thing?
Title: Re: Yet another dropped connection thread-
Post by: FurryNutz on December 11, 2014, 08:03:06 AM
Ok, this gives more details to your setup. You have some WiFi signals going on there. What you need to do is to isolate the 857 from all of the other signals first off to test the 857 alone to see if the problem is the 857 or coming from your environment.

I'd disconnect and completely turn OFF ALL other Wifi sources and just tests the 857 by itself with one phone and a wired PC on 2.4Ghz. Run some testing to see how the 857 handles the phone and PC and see if the behavior changes. Test channel 11 first then channel 1 with WPA/WPIK only on G mode then N mode. See if the problem appears. Then try channel 11 with WPA2/AES only and check for problems with phone then graduate adding another phone.

I'd like you to find a laptop cooler and place the router on top of the cooler as well if you can find one. Wal-mart has them for less that $20. Some users mentioned that the router was heating up and causing problems. Cooling fixed this.

Let us know how it goes.
Title: Re: Yet another dropped connection thread-
Post by: Dunegoon on December 11, 2014, 10:25:14 PM
Ok, It will take several days to find the downtime (and time).  I could turn off all WiFi on the 857 and that would unload the DIR-857 and all packets would then approach it via LAN.....
Title: Re: Yet another dropped connection thread-
Post by: FurryNutz on December 15, 2014, 08:32:44 AM
Keep us posted. We'll help you get this figured out...
Title: Re: Yet another dropped connection thread-
Post by: Dunegoon on December 19, 2014, 12:45:09 AM
No failure in several days, perhaps it's over.  I'll check in if there are problems, or after Christmas if not.
Title: Re: Yet another dropped connection thread- (RESOLVED)
Post by: FurryNutz on December 19, 2014, 07:24:40 AM
Seems like having all those WiFi devices running may have been the cause.

Hope it keeps working well. Good Luck and Merry Christmas.  ;)
Title: Re: Yet another dropped connection thread-
Post by: Dunegoon on December 30, 2014, 10:53:05 PM
As of today, no problems.  Basically, everything is running and running well.  I believe the problem was with the ISP.  I had them come out and they chased down some noise in the cable system and changed some things to give me 3dB more signal.  Plus, as mentioned previously, they had some type of cable failure the week before that that they fixed.

Some good came from all of this.  I got all of my boxes updated firmware and cleaned up the configurations.  I got the ISP to clean up their act.  And I learned more about the capabilities of my D-Link. 

Thanks.
Title: Re: Yet another dropped connection thread-
Post by: FurryNutz on December 31, 2014, 11:04:27 AM
Awesome. Glad its working well now. Enjoy.  ;)

Come back if you need more help and information. Happy New Year.  ;D