D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-880L => Topic started by: ktriebol on July 07, 2014, 08:27:43 AM

Title: Save Configuration
Post by: ktriebol on July 07, 2014, 08:27:43 AM
Shortly after getting my DIR-880L up and running, I successfully saved my router configuration using the "Save Settings to Local Hard Drive" feature found in Management/System Admin/System. However, I have since tried saving my configuration and have not been successful. I even deleted my old configuration file and that did not help. When I click on the "Save" button, I get a circulating arrow symbol in the browser tab indicating a busy state, but I do not get the field asking where to save the file, and nothing else happens. The file does not get stored.

This problem first occurred under firmware 1.00, but I upgraded to 1.01 today and am still having this problem. Does anyone have any idea how to fix this?
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: FurryNutz on July 07, 2014, 08:44:44 AM
FW Update Process (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42457.0)

PC 3rd Party Security Software Configurations


PC Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again.
Disable any security browser Add-ons like No Script and Ad-Block or configure them to allow All Pages when connected to the router.
Clear all browser caches.
Be sure to log into the Admin account on the router.
Try turning off these features in Chrome:
Top right corner, little bars for options > Settings > Settings (on left) > Show advanced settings.
Uncheck these:
Use a web service to help resolve navigation errors
Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar
Predict network actions to improve page load performance
Enable phishing and malware protection
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: ktriebol on July 07, 2014, 10:27:31 AM
I did a factory reset and that fixed the problem. Thank you for that suggestion. It's a little disturbing that this happened in the first place, though. All I did was the usual configuration stuff. It gives me the feeling that this may happen again. Maybe the firmware needs to be made more robust.
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: FurryNutz on July 07, 2014, 10:31:22 AM
If you can provide some feed back to the questions presented, this will help us gain a better idea of your system and maybe we can try some other suggestions.

So far the FW is solid and robust from what I can tell.
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: ktriebol on July 07, 2014, 10:47:17 AM
Here is some feedback to your questions that I see in your first post:

I did not perform a factory reset before or immediately after the firmware update. Of course, the "Save Configuration" problem showed up before doing any firmware update or factory reset, so that to me exposes an opportunity to make the firmware more robust. I did a factory reset about two hours after the firmware update and then set up from scratch. That fixed the "Save Configuration" problem.

My web browser is I.E. 11.

I believe those were your only questions.
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: FurryNutz on July 07, 2014, 11:01:45 AM
Please follow this for doing any FW updates:
FW Update Process (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42457.0)

This will ensure that your FW is updated and gets applied correctly for a good robust upgrade. I use this all the time.

For IE you can try compatibility mode as a alternative suggestion, however normal operation of IE should work with the new FW.

Thank you.
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: ktriebol on July 07, 2014, 11:16:41 AM
The "Save Configuration" issue came back. Before the problem came back, I changed the wireless channels for 2.4 Ghz from Auto to 11, and on the 5 Ghz from Auto to 36. Then I saved the changes and went into Management to save the configuration, and got the exact same problem that I described before. I then went back and changed the wireless channels back to Auto, saved that change, and then tried to save the configuration, but the problem is still there. As you can see, I did very little with this router in the last hour, but the "Save Configuration" problem still reappeared.
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: FurryNutz on July 07, 2014, 11:22:49 AM

Would you try doing this same thing in FF or Opera and see if it happens there as well.

If it does, would you follow the FW Update Proccess and re-apply the same FW version again, with doing a factory reset, load FW file, factory reset then set up and test for this problem.
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: ktriebol on July 07, 2014, 11:38:49 AM
I am in North America.
I am wireless connected to the router, although I was wired when I did the firmware update.

I have read your web browser suggestions and will keep that in mind, but for now the only browsers I have on my computer are IE and Chrome. I could install FF or Opera if necessary, though. However, I think my first step will be to try to find out if switching the wireless channel setting actually does cause the problem, or if it was a fluke. To find this out I will:

1. Factory reset the router.
2. Re-load my saved configuration from before the problem occurred. This will restore all of my settings, including the Auto setting for wireless channel on both bands. The "Save Configuration feature should now work again based on past experience.
3. Make no other changes to the router and operate normally for 24 hours. Save the configuration from time to time (even though there is no change to the configuration) and see if the "Save Configuration" feature continues to function normally during that 24 hour period.
4. If, after 24 hours the "Save Configuration" feature is still working normally, then I will change the wireless channel settings on both bands from Auto to a fixed channel. Then try to save the configuration and see if it works or not.
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: FurryNutz on July 07, 2014, 11:45:00 AM
Please try Chrome as well when doing the Save Configuration.

I recommend not reloading the saved configuration file as a test. I know this is a hassle, however if your configuration file is from prior version FW, there could be some differences from last version to this version or a possible corruption in the file that maybe causing the router to go into a bad state when doing a Save Configuration again. At some point, please do a factory reset, load FW, factory reset, then setup from scratch and save a new configuration file. You can name it anything and keep them on hand. I do.

I'm just trying to make sure that all avenues are checked to narrow down where the problem maybe coming from. If we can and we can point to the FW, then I'll make sure D-Link reviews it for a fix.
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: ktriebol on July 07, 2014, 01:15:05 PM
Well, I'm taking a break from this for now, but here is an update of my latest efforts.

Using IE, I reset the router and reloaded my config file, and then went directly to save the config file again, but it wouldn't save. So, I thought I would switch over to a wired connection and try the factory reset, load FW (with 1.01 even though I already had 1.01 loaded), factory reset, using IE. After doing that, I immediately went to save the configuration, and still had the problem. I did not even try to load my config file before trying to save the new configuration. I simply tried to save the config file in the configuration that occurs after a factory reset. After a while I'll try the same thing again using Chrome and see what happens. Fortunately, I am getting wireless connectivity as normal, so there is nothing urgent here. The only problem is in saving the config file.
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: FurryNutz on July 07, 2014, 01:19:24 PM
Awesome information. I'll send this over to D-Link for review. I'll post back if I hear anything.

Thank you.
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: FurryNutz on July 07, 2014, 01:22:11 PM
If you do the same thing using Chrome or FF, does it happen as well? Just need to know if it happens in other browsers.

Thank you.
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: ktriebol on July 07, 2014, 01:58:10 PM
Well, I went to try the factory reset, load FW, factory reset using a wired connection on Chrome but before doing the first reset, I tried to save the config file while on Chrome and it worked. Tried it again a few more times and it worked every time, so it seems to me that the "Save Configuration" problem that I was seeing is being caused by the way the DIR-880L firmware interfaces with IE11. Apparently the interface with Chrome is different in a way that does not cause a problem. I imagine this issue will go away as Microsoft makes changes to IE and/or firmware changes happen with the DIR-880L. In the meanwhile, I'll just use IE as normal, but switch over to Chrome when I need to save a config file.
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: FurryNutz on July 07, 2014, 02:12:12 PM
Did you happen to test IE with compatibility mode set? Please let us know.



Well, I went to try the factory reset, load FW, factory reset using a wired connection on Chrome but before doing the first reset, I tried to save the config file while on Chrome and it worked. Tried it again a few more times and it worked every time, so it seems to me that the "Save Configuration" problem that I was seeing is being caused by the way the DIR-880L firmware interfaces with IE11. Apparently the interface with Chrome is different in a way that does not cause a problem. I imagine this issue will go away as Microsoft makes changes to IE and/or firmware changes happen with the DIR-880L. In the meanwhile, I'll just use IE as normal, but switch over to Chrome when I need to save a config file.
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: ktriebol on July 07, 2014, 02:18:48 PM
I did not test IE with compatibility mode set.
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: FurryNutz on July 07, 2014, 02:26:18 PM
Please try compatibility mode set and let us know results please.
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: FurryNutz on July 09, 2014, 03:51:16 PM
Have you been able to try this?  ???

I did not test IE with compatibility mode set.
Title: Re: Save Configuration
Post by: ktriebol on July 09, 2014, 04:32:09 PM
I just tried it in compatibility mode, but before doing that, I tried it again in normal mode and it saved the config file just fine. Then, in compatibility mode, it saved the file with no problem too. I switched back to normal mode and tried it one more time and it still saved with no problem. Yesterday there were several Windows 8.1 updates, so that may have helped the situation.
Title: Re: Save Configuration (RESOLVED)
Post by: FurryNutz on July 09, 2014, 05:20:27 PM
Awesome, hope maybe that was the cause. I seems it was central to the IE browser only in Win 8.

Keep us posted if you notice this again.