D-Link Forums

D-Link Network Storage => DNS-320L => Topic started by: Whipp on March 25, 2014, 07:14:04 AM

Title: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: Whipp on March 25, 2014, 07:14:04 AM
Hi my 320L does not run after restart. The blue diod is blinking but machine does not start. I tried to restart it with the button but it does not work.
How can I fix this?
Thank you.
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: JavaLawyer on March 25, 2014, 02:22:51 PM
Hi my 320L does not run after restart. The blue diod is blinking but machine does not start. I tried to restart it with the button but it does not work.
How can I fix this?
Thank you.

Try physically unplugging the DNS-320L for a minute and try again. Also, open the DNS-320L and make sure the HDDs are properly seated.
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: Whipp on March 25, 2014, 11:27:24 PM
I already did that. HDDs are in place, also cables are fine. Diode is just blinking. I let it over the night. But it does not work.
Just in case it is DNS 320L A2 with FW: 1.02b
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: maol on March 26, 2014, 10:47:43 AM
The send to service is your only option. They will replace the unit... as usually.
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: JavaLawyer on March 26, 2014, 11:57:11 AM
Last thing to try. . . You can try a factory reset. While the DNS-320L is plugged in, press and hold the reset button for > 9 seconds. If that doesn't work then perhaps you should call D-Link technical support for an RMA (presuming the device is still within the one year warranty).

D-Link's toll free support number is located here: ShareCenter - Important Posts & Information (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=58137.0)
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: Whipp on March 26, 2014, 02:05:34 PM
Yop I ve contacted Dlink support. Hope they will help me.
Thank you for your comments.
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: Whipp on March 26, 2014, 02:14:21 PM
You are awesome do you know it?
I made one mistake I press restart button when the sharecenter runs. I try it with power off and it is alive!!
Many thanks
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: JavaLawyer on March 26, 2014, 02:16:17 PM
Shwew!!! I'm glad you got it working!  ;)
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: Whipp on March 26, 2014, 02:27:09 PM
Hm I upload new firmawe reboot failed and diode is blinking again:(
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: Whipp on March 26, 2014, 02:32:01 PM
Is there any problem in DNS-320L_fw_revA_1-02b07_all_en_20130508 firmware? :(
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: Whipp on March 26, 2014, 02:44:52 PM
:( now even restarting does not work, hmm
Do not understand it.
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: JavaLawyer on March 27, 2014, 04:36:46 AM
Sounds like you have a hardware problem. Try removing the HDDs and boot the device. If the DNS-320L does not start-up, I would consider calling D-Link customer support and requesting an RMA.
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: Whipp on March 27, 2014, 09:35:44 AM
Today I did it. I will post the result here.
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: JavaLawyer on March 27, 2014, 09:49:04 AM
Today I did it. I will post the result here.

D-Link already issued you an RMA?
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: Whipp on March 28, 2014, 12:18:32 AM
I am not sure what RMA is?
I used my waranty (in Czech republic where I live it is 2 years).
I send DNS back to seller now they have about 30 days to proceed my request.
Then I post the result here.
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: JavaLawyer on March 28, 2014, 04:55:12 AM
I am not sure what RMA is?
I used my waranty (in Czech republic where I live it is 2 years).
I send DNS back to seller now they have about 30 days to proceed my request.
Then I post the result here.


I'm glad you were able to exchange the unit through the retailer. D-Links RMA process (Return Merchandise Authorization), works well, but the end-user has to pay to ship the defective unit back to D-Link. To avoid the shipping cost, it's better to go through the original retailer/seller if that's an option for you.
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: Whipp on April 28, 2014, 02:58:13 AM
So here we go. Today I have got brand new DNS 320L.
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: JavaLawyer on April 28, 2014, 04:41:28 AM
So here we go. Today I have got brand new DNS 320L.

Let us know how your replacement works.  ;)
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: Whipp on April 28, 2014, 03:02:51 PM
Yes it is nice to have new one, but I put in it mine 2 hdds full of data and it seems to act strange:(
Connection to nas is not stable, I cannot set multimedia services and hard drive info says nothing

do I have to reformat mine hdds????:/

is it normal that my files page is empty, I cannot see firmware version, cannot upload or make backup of system settings? hdd configuratin button is not working...

is this a firmware bug or mine brand new nas is broken?

(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/6026427/Sn%C3%ADmek%20obrazovky%202014-04-28%20v%C2%A023.59.14.png)

(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/6026427/Sn%C3%ADmek%20obrazovky%202014-04-29%20v%C2%A09.29.12.png)

(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/6026427/Sn%C3%ADmek%20obrazovky%202014-04-29%20v%C2%A09.29.43.png)

(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/6026427/Sn%C3%ADmek%20obrazovky%202014-04-29%20v%C2%A09.31.56.png)

(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/6026427/Screenshot%202014-04-29%2009.46.02.png)

(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/6026427/Screenshot%202014-04-29%2009.44.40.png)
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: JavaLawyer on April 29, 2014, 06:33:54 AM
Yes it is nice to have new one, but I put in it mine 2 hdds full of data and it seems to act strange:(
Connection to nas is not stable, I cannot set multimedia services and hard drive info says nothing

do I have to reformat mine hdds????:/

is it normal that my files page is empty, I cannot see firmware version, cannot upload or make backup of system settings? hdd configuratin button is not working...

is this a firmware bug or mine brand new nas is broken?

These two threads apply to the ShareCenter series as well as network cameras:

Network Cameras - IE11 Not Fully Compatible with All Network Camera Functionality (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=58272.0)
Network Cameras - Lost "Live View" After Installing Java Version 7 Update 51 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=57476.0)
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: cable2 on April 29, 2014, 04:17:50 PM
Hi,
I am not sure how you had your hard drives setup, i.e., Standard, JBOD, RAID 1, or RAID 0,  but depending on the configuration, is it possible that you switched the drive positions in your NAS?  This would surely mess up JBOD and RAID 0.  Worth a try if nothing else works.  Good luck.
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: Whipp on April 30, 2014, 02:32:09 AM
No no I used same configuration as it was. HDD are in the same position. I do not want to format them I do not have where to store the data on them.:/
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: regi on April 30, 2014, 06:48:31 AM
i nearly had the same problem today, after reboot no hard drives found

tried to shut down the dns through browser without success even though browser said the dns is shut down.

took a closer look, power led was off....the two ledīs for disk were still on, fan was not spinning

i didnīt want to risk anything by pressing the reset button as the dns would reboot with my disks still inside so i pulled the power plug, took out the drives, waited 10 minutes, reinstalled firmware 1.03, this time shut down worked, placed the drives back and loaded my settings backup......now itīs working again.......at the moment

if a newer better firmware doesnīt come soon iīll replace the nas with a better brand.....restoring over 5 tb justs takes too long

Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: Whipp on May 01, 2014, 02:39:31 AM
I have written to dlink support, send them these pictures and got answer to return NAS and send it again to the dlink.
I am really angry about it. Have to buy new hdd and make backups:/ almost 2 tb of data, because you cannot put old hdd to the nas without re-formating it.
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: JavaLawyer on May 01, 2014, 04:36:06 AM
I have written to dlink support, send them these pictures and got answer to return NAS and send it again to the dlink.
I am really angry about it. Have to buy new hdd and make backups:/ almost 2 tb of data, because you cannot put old hdd to the nas without re-formating it.

Out of curiosity, how were the HDDs originally configured (RAID-1, Standard Configuration, etc.)? I ask because it sounds like you don't have a backup, and if your data is critical, then you should maintain an independent backup.

If you are using RAID-1, please keep in mind that RAID-1 is NOT a backup.
DNS ShareCenter - RAID-1 is NOT a Backup (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=52501.0)
Title: Re: DNS 320L does not run after restart
Post by: Whipp on May 02, 2014, 12:03:01 AM
I used Standard configuration one 250 GB HDD for TimeMachine (MBP is working so I do not care about them) and one 2 TB HDD as network drive for music, photos and study stuff. I thought that it is ok to put it in to the new (same type) NAS without formating the HDD. I have cloud backuped the photos. But the main NAS purpouse was to safely store other data as a backup.
I have to say this forum is great I can find almost all information I need so thumb up for it:)