D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-506L => Topic started by: pracom on September 09, 2013, 12:46:05 AM

Title: Unable to Setup Repeater
Post by: pracom on September 09, 2013, 12:46:05 AM
Despite following the instructions in the manual, I have been unable to successfully configure the device in the Repeater mode.  I can connect to the device with my PC, which shows Internet connectivity on the taskbar, but I am still unable to connect to any webpage.  Also, while attempting to fix the problem I found that one cannot turn off DHCP and/or change the device IP under Network Settings, at least while in Repeater mode.

Any suggestions on what I should try next? ???
Title: Re: Unable to Setup Repeater
Post by: FurryNutz on September 09, 2013, 07:46:55 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=41537.0)

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

Some features are not supported in Repeater mode.
What Mfr and model # is the main host router?
What wireless modes are you using on the main host router?
Did you use the on-board set up wizard to help you configure the 506L for Repeater mode?
Title: Re: Unable to Setup Repeater
Post by: pracom on September 09, 2013, 11:34:23 PM
Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.A2
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.2.13
What region are you located?United States
Has a Factory Reset been performed?Yes - multiple times

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?Cable
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?Motorola SB6121
What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?About 6 Mbps down and 1.5 Mbps up

Some features are not supported in Repeater mode.
What Mfr and model # is the main host router?Netgear WNDR3700
What wireless modes are you using on the main host router?WPA-PSK + WPA2-PSK
Did you use the on-board set up wizard to help you configure the 506L for Repeater mode?The set up wizard does not provide a Repeater mode option
Title: Re: Unable to Setup Repeater
Post by: FurryNutz on September 13, 2013, 07:17:21 AM
Well the main web site says it supports repeater functions. It should have options or at least the wizard should have and help you set up the repeater mode.

Can you try a simple test with the main host router and turn OFF WiFi security and then attempt to connect the 506L as a repeater? Will it connect then?

What modes are you using on the Main host router? A, B G and N? Try Single mode G or N or Mixed G and N.