D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-850L => Topic started by: hyelton on August 04, 2013, 11:01:51 PM

Title: just ordered one!
Post by: hyelton on August 04, 2013, 11:01:51 PM
Getting it wendsday. $70.99 brand new from NewEgg! I could get it Tuesday but it goes from 2 day free to 1 day $21 so I'll wai hahha.  My first ac router but dont really need wireless only my phone optimus g pro has wireless ac. 
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: FurryNutz on August 07, 2013, 09:29:14 AM
Kewl, keep us posted on how it does. I still like the little 826L.  ;D
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: hyelton on August 07, 2013, 12:32:32 PM
Well so far I like the 826L a lot better. Ping is Terrible! with nothing going on 100% stock no setting changed Wired and wireless Stock shipping firmware and latest Ping on my 826l and even my DIR-601 is between 5 and 25ms. With this its around 60-70ms. So I think I got a dud!

And QOS is a pain. It has BOTH up and down QOS. I only want UPlink qos and nothing else. QOS does not seem to work either even with setting my QOS to half of my 2 meg upload to 1 meg it still uploads at the FULL 2 megs and ping goes up to almost 1,000
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: FurryNutz on August 07, 2013, 12:39:19 PM
What FW version is loaded currently on the 850L?

Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: hyelton on August 07, 2013, 12:56:23 PM
1.07
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: FurryNutz on August 07, 2013, 12:58:51 PM
Did it come with it or did you loaded it? If you loaded it, factory reset before and after update?

What ISP modem and model do you have again?


1.07
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: hyelton on August 07, 2013, 01:01:32 PM
It came with 1.03. Did a Factory Reset after first hooking it up.  Ping sucked so I upgraded to the latest firmware, did another factory reset ping still sucks. and Upload QOS seems to not work properly either, as when uploading even with it set to 1024kbps it still makes my ping jump to over 1,000 when uploading. While ALL OTHER routers any brand including other dlinks I usually set it to about 1985kbps and my latency is always below 70 when uploading.
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: hyelton on August 07, 2013, 01:04:40 PM
Also whats sad is I hooked up my DIR-601 and bam no issues and my DIR-601 has tons of setting changes in it.
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: FurryNutz on August 07, 2013, 01:14:44 PM
Let me see if I can get some information on this...
What model modem do you have?
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: hyelton on August 07, 2013, 01:29:49 PM
Cisco DPC3010

Also same problems with the MOTOROLA SB6121 modem.

But I can use my DIR-601 and my Ping to my local office goes from 45ms(DIR-850L) to 8-9ms(DiR-601)
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: FurryNutz on August 07, 2013, 02:17:20 PM
Good info, thanks...I presume there could be a problem with either FW or HW...  ::)
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: hyelton on August 07, 2013, 02:26:25 PM
I`d hope fw.

I had been testing out the DIR-601 for a week seeing how a $8 referb router could handle 20 or so devices. Which it did well! not one hiccup!
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: FurryNutz on August 07, 2013, 02:44:27 PM
It's a good little router for general stuff. Can't game on it well.  ::)
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: hyelton on August 07, 2013, 03:53:53 PM
Any update on the 850L?
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: FurryNutz on August 07, 2013, 04:02:26 PM
It's under review now with D-Link. Please be patient while they review it. Not sure when we'll get more information.  :-\
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: hyelton on August 07, 2013, 04:07:18 PM
Oh thank you:D!

Also for some reason not sure but I cant seem to get my phone to connect to AC or AC speeds. It connects fine at 5Ghz. But only at 300MBPS. Then I select AC only under wireless settings and phone can NOT connect at all.  The Phone is the ONLY device that supports AC which I don`t need it but could be cool to test if it worked.
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: FurryNutz on August 07, 2013, 04:13:51 PM
How about if you temp disable WiFi security, will it connect then as a test?
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: hyelton on August 07, 2013, 05:06:08 PM
It was disabled when I was going to test it. Not to worried out where I live for security
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: FurryNutz on August 07, 2013, 05:24:07 PM
Is v1.01 FW avail? If so, can you load it up and test? D-link is going to test theres thats currenly at v1.01...
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: hyelton on August 07, 2013, 05:40:31 PM
How is there a v1.01? There was never a v1.01. The earliest is V1.03 which is the inital firmware for this router

http://www.dlink.com/us/en/home-solutions/connect/routers/dir-850l-wireless-ac1200-dual-band-gigabit-cloud-router
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: FurryNutz on August 08, 2013, 09:57:18 AM
I got information that the one 850L they have tested with was using v1.01, I guess it was never posted or released. They said from what information they gave me that the ping times (ms) was higher on v1.01 than v1.07. They also said to keep with v1.07 for now as going backwards might break AC wireless modes. There lab in quite busy at the moment however hope to test FW in the next few days. So please be patient. I've asked for any other troubleshooting ideas for you.  ;)

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer (http://www.teamviewer.com) if your interested. Its safe and secure.
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: hyelton on August 08, 2013, 11:40:45 AM
Can`t really do teamviewer most settings do a reboot of the router. I hooked up my DIR-601 and I`m gonna hook my DIR-850L into it so I can do better testing without cutting the entire household internet while testing :D My Ping today is WAY better so I`m not sure whats up with that. But that QOS system still sucks pretty bad. I think I`m just gonna return this. I have 60 days so I`m in no rush so today I got some time off so I`ll play around. Been thinking about using pfsense as my router but not sure yet.
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: FurryNutz on August 08, 2013, 11:48:03 AM
What are you ping times if you direct in to the ISP modem? Might help to check there as well.

 recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. Check for t.v. line splitters and remove them as they can introduce noise on the line and lower the signal going to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The router operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: hyelton on August 08, 2013, 12:36:24 PM
My Cableling and Cable Modem are perfect. I ran it myself as I have an OCD with my networking! haha. The Cable that runs that my Modem goes directly out the window and to the power line. No Switches no nothing a direct connection.

(http://boxhost.co.uk/filehost/files/1/Public/sdsdsd.PNG)

My signals are pretty dang good too for living 20min away from the local office out in the country side.
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: FurryNutz on August 08, 2013, 12:41:30 PM
Must be nice.  ::)
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: hyelton on August 08, 2013, 12:44:00 PM
Must be nice.  ::)

:) The Cable Company knows I don`t like them touching my stuff:D haha.  I was the first in the small county to get anything more than 12 megs which is 25 megs in December of last year.

But ping when hooked to my cable modem and nothing else is only 1ms less than what I get with my DIR-601 which is fine.
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: FurryNutz on August 08, 2013, 01:08:19 PM
Ok, well the ping times I got from D-Link are in the mid to low hundreds using v1.01 then they updated to v1.07 and low 10s to 20's using google DNS addresses. They ran 3 concurrent ping windows using 3 different DNS addresses, one in each window.
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: hyelton on August 09, 2013, 02:31:15 PM
I have sadly returned this. Found me a DGL-4300 to play with for awhile :) Hope to have it next week
Title: Re: just ordered one!
Post by: FurryNutz on August 13, 2013, 10:05:26 AM
Ok, sorry the 850L didn't work out for you. Enjoy the 4300.  ;)