D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-865L => Topic started by: MacRoy on August 03, 2013, 08:50:05 AM

Title: Dynamic DNS
Post by: MacRoy on August 03, 2013, 08:50:05 AM
Hello! Have just bought the D-Link DIR 865L just to be able to use my Dynamic DNS. According to the manual that I downloaded it says. The DDNS feature Allows you to host a server (Web, FTP, Game Server, etc. ..) using a domain name That you have purchased (www.whateveryournameis.com) with your dynamically assigned IP address. But I miss the one tab to fill in the Server address. I have installed the latest firmware A1 1:05 but no difference. Is this a huge bug or something that they forgot to put it?
Would be grateful for a solution to this. On my old D-ling DIR 655 which was cheaper there this feature, but unfortunately, the router has gone down, because I had to buy a new one and saw this model I have now bought the D-Link DIR 865L.

Attach a file so that you can see what I mean.

(http://)
Title: Re: Dynamic DNS
Post by: FurryNutz on August 03, 2013, 11:36:45 AM
Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=41537.0)


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations




Is DDNS listed under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL?
Title: Re: Dynamic DNS
Post by: MacRoy on August 03, 2013, 12:15:14 PM
Hi and thanks for your reply!

Region=Sweden
I a`m connected to Cable
Yes i Reset the router before and after
Yes the router was working before and after the firmware update

I use Cable/Fiber
I have Raycore
I have 100/100

None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP
Title: Re: Dynamic DNS
Post by: FurryNutz on August 03, 2013, 01:34:38 PM
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=51362.msg191968#msg191968 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=51362.msg191968#msg191968)
Title: Re: Dynamic DNS
Post by: MacRoy on August 03, 2013, 03:18:49 PM
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=51362.msg191968#msg191968 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=51362.msg191968#msg191968)

Select your DDNS provider from the drop-down Address: menu or enter the DDNS server address. But where would I enter it somewhere? That's what is missing here!

How or where can I find the function to upload a picture so I can show you what I mean


Regards

MacRoy
Title: Re: Dynamic DNS
Post by: FurryNutz on August 05, 2013, 08:45:10 AM
I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office, ask for level 2 or higher support and inquire about this feature.

Let us know how it goes please...
Title: Re: Dynamic DNS
Post by: MacRoy on August 05, 2013, 12:15:36 PM
I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office, ask for level 2 or higher support and inquire about this feature.

Let us know how it goes please...

Thanks for your response! I will do this because this is actually a feature that should already exist in this model, and this particular feature was the reason I bought it!

Regards

MacRoy
Title: Re: Dynamic DNS
Post by: FurryNutz on August 05, 2013, 12:20:11 PM
Please keep us posted. I'll have a look again my mine this week and see what I have.

 ;)
Title: Re: Dynamic DNS
Post by: MacRoy on August 06, 2013, 04:22:51 AM
Hi!
Have now spoken to support here in Sweden and they were very nice and at the same time excited to get to know this. It was the first time they heard about this and will immediately take hold of this, and contact me during the day. I would emphasize the importance of the rest of you to really report all your bugs and errors, otherwise they did not fix it either.

I will return when I know more on this matter.

MacRoy
Title: Re: Dynamic DNS
Post by: MacRoy on August 06, 2013, 01:40:44 PM
I have now received a response from D-Link!
They will NOT add this feature even though they sell the product with this particular function, which is of course deplorable.

I feel badly fooled! You can not write that (D-Link DIR-865L) supports Dynamic DNS (customized) DNS when it did not actually do it!

I am very disappointed to say the leas!

MacRoy
Title: Re: Dynamic DNS
Post by: FurryNutz on August 06, 2013, 03:58:25 PM
I took a look at my 865L and theres only 4 Presets for the Servers, You have to pick 1 of those 4 services, depending on which service you signed up for. One you selected 1 of the 4 services, then you enter in the additional Host Name and User account information...I presume since there is only 4 presets listed, that using any other DNS services are not allowed on this router.
Title: Re: Dynamic DNS
Post by: MacRoy on August 07, 2013, 02:00:16 AM
Hi!

It's not true! It says in the manual that it allows CUSTOM DNS. Then you should be able to select CUSTOM DNS and enter your server information, which you can not do!

The DDNS feature Allows you to host a server (Web, FTP, Game Server, etc. ..) using a domain name That you have purchased (www.whateveryournameis.com) with your dynamically assigned IP address.
Title: Re: Dynamic DNS
Post by: MacRoy on August 07, 2013, 02:41:19 AM
Hello! I would like you FurryNutz to answer, on which router except the DIR-655 and DIR-855. Has built-in "WORKING Custom DNS support"?!

Regards

MacRoy
Title: Re: Dynamic DNS
Post by: FurryNutz on August 07, 2013, 07:42:01 AM
I have forwarded this on to my contact at D-Link for review.

I can only assume that when they mention custom DNS in the user manual and from what I see listed in the presets, that "Custom" may deal with something at the DNS Service sites themselves and any custom settings maybe done at the DNS Service site and not actually on the router as only the DNS Service user account info is only needed on the router to have it gain access to those DNS Service sites.

Please be patient while D-Link reviews this.

Thank you.
Title: Re: Dynamic DNS
Post by: MacRoy on August 07, 2013, 09:19:05 AM
Hi!

I do not know if you've used this feature at all, but I have used it for many years and the difference between free DNS such as DynDNS. And those that you pay for is that you have to fill in the Server information in the Custom field "dns.loopia.se" or whatever you are using otherwise it will not work.

Look at this link to a conventional DNS site here in Sweden

https://support.loopia.se/wiki/D-Link

Regards

MacRoy
Title: Re: Dynamic DNS
Post by: FurryNutz on August 07, 2013, 09:27:24 AM
I have and do remember using such native custom options on other routers. Again, this might not be available on this model. I'll post when and if I get any feedback about it. Please be patient.

Thank you.
Title: Re: Dynamic DNS
Post by: dm2g23 on August 08, 2013, 05:42:58 AM
I have it on my DIR-827 but like you I move over to DGL -5500 which it not there so I will have to go back to the pc client version.
Title: Re: Dynamic DNS
Post by: savenlid on September 03, 2013, 02:00:21 AM
Same problem on the DSR-250N (that only achives 25mbit/s WAN-LAN BTW)

Docs shows dyn-dns screen-dumps non existing in real life.

Bought a DIR-865L , but dyn-dns  was a trick, only fixed drop-down US centric dyndns providers.

This was functionallity that was standard for many many years that now is being dropped.

It sucks, no more, no less, just sucks.