D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => DIR-655 => Routers => Europe DIR-655 => Topic started by: pashtet_dub on June 17, 2013, 12:47:18 AM

Title: Router freezes constantly
Post by: pashtet_dub on June 17, 2013, 12:47:18 AM
Have 4 cameras (three 930L and one 932L) connected to Router Dir-655 and as well Nas DNS-325. Nas is recording video data.
Nothing else is connected to Router. Have upgraded it to latest firmware (for Europe 2.6) and did all modifications suggested in the posts earlier.
My problem that router with all 4 cameras recording does not work more then few hours and hang up. Noticed that if i disconnect NAS this could be much longer.
Think that router does not support full load for long time.
Looking for suggestions as really fed up with D-Link. Thank You.
Title: Re: Router freezes constantly
Post by: FurryNutz on June 17, 2013, 07:18:32 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=41537.0)

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48327.0) and Managing Signal Congestion (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53228.0)

3rd Party Security Software Configurations


One thing I recommend when using routers and doing lots of file xfers between devices on the LAN side, get a external Gb network switch. This helps eliminate router management and processing interference while doing xfers between devices on the LAN side of things. Most routers with the ports in back have some sort of management processing going on on the ports thus there is some degradation on speed as it's having to process the data thats coming in and out of it. Having a external switch eliminates this.
Title: Re: Router freezes constantly
Post by: pashtet_dub on June 18, 2013, 08:09:45 AM
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router. B1
    Are you wired or wireless connected to the router? Wired connection to cable modem
    Has a Factory Reset been performed? Yes
    Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates? yes
    Was the router working before any firmware updates? No


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

    What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? Cable
    What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have? UPC modem Cisco EPC2425
    Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values Will check later
    For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled. On

Other recommendations as above were implemented as well

Notice that modem working ok longer if i take it from cupboard so might have overheating problems. But still stop working at least 3-4 times a day.
Looks that wireless is the cause but i really need it to receive data from 4 IP cameras
Title: Re: Router freezes constantly
Post by: FurryNutz on June 18, 2013, 08:27:19 AM
I presume the cameras are wireless connected to the 655?

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
What wireless modes are you using?

If this is your modem:
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/video/ps8611/ps8675/ps8686/7016661_b.pdf (http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/video/ps8611/ps8675/ps8686/7016661_b.pdf)



Title: Re: Router freezes constantly
Post by: pashtet_dub on June 18, 2013, 11:50:21 PM
I presume the cameras are wireless connected to the 655?

Yes. Only cameras through Wifi, one NAS which recording from cameras and Wan to CISCO modem.

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
What wireless modes are you using?

There are plenty wifi points around i can see at least another 5-6. I did all different modes to testy the signal, even do without any security on wifi. 

If this is your modem:
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/video/ps8611/ps8675/ps8686/7016661_b.pdf

Exactly the same model

    If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. The wireless should be shut off if your using the 655 as your main host router and main WiFi AP.

I can see router IP in Cisco table but i did try to disconnect D-Link completely from UPC modem and still got the freeze so i suspect the internet connection is not the problem.

Yesterday i did another firmware update with 2.6 05 beta and the problem still there. I just suspect that the router just cant come up with high load Wifi and put itself into stop mode - all lights are on and not flashing.

Anyway will try to bridge them today. for the same time ask for RMA from D-Link too.

Just so pity that i have all D-Link appliances and they cant work together :(

Thanks for the answers :)
Title: Re: Router freezes constantly
Post by: FurryNutz on June 19, 2013, 06:50:32 AM

I presume the cameras are wireless connected to the 655?

Yes. Only cameras through Wifi, one NAS which recording from cameras and Wan to CISCO modem.

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
What wireless modes are you using?

There are plenty wifi points around i can see at least another 5-6. I did all different modes to testy the signal, even do without any security on wifi.  I would presume that some of these could be impacting WiFi performance with the cameras.

If this is your modem:
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/video/ps8611/ps8675/ps8686/7016661_b.pdf

Exactly the same model

    If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. The wireless should be shut off if your using the 655 as your main host router and main WiFi AP.

I can see router IP in Cisco table but i did try to disconnect D-Link completely from UPC modem and still got the freeze so i suspect the internet connection is not the problem.

Yesterday i did another firmware update with 2.6 05 beta and the problem still there. I just suspect that the router just cant come up with high load Wifi and put itself into stop mode - all lights are on and not flashing.

Anyway will try to bridge them today. for the same time ask for RMA from D-Link too.

Just so pity that i have all D-Link appliances and they cant work together :(
I think they do work well together however I feel that your surroudings and possible configurations are having some effect on the whole operation. I would recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and inquire about how many cameras the 655 should be able to handle and have them review your set up and configuration. Keep us posted.

Title: Re: Router freezes constantly
Post by: pashtet_dub on June 20, 2013, 04:49:03 AM
so far connect 4 cameras and reduce their output to the router if before wifi traffic was 20-25 now its around 10 mbps or whatever is traffic speed.

with lower speed router was stable for around 15h

Will try to call support today to go over settings and ask about support for cameras. For the same time ordered asus rt-n66u as the replacement.
Title: Re: Router freezes constantly
Post by: FurryNutz on June 20, 2013, 06:59:04 AM
Keep us posted on what they say.
Title: Re: Router freezes constantly
Post by: pashtet_dub on June 26, 2013, 01:37:30 AM
With some settings changes router are more or less stable. i did switch off traffic shaping and QoS. Wifi settings only n with wpa2.

Other problem now pop-up router not adding more then 3 wifi clients, the 4th usually have problems with connecting to router

The communication looks like constant
UDHCPD sending ACK to IP
UDHCPD sending OFFER of IP

for now 4th camera connecting through the wire but still other devices rarely could have the same problem with dhcp.

Any thoughts?

Will be calling again to support in few days to resolve this new issue
Title: Re: Router freezes constantly
Post by: FurryNutz on June 26, 2013, 06:57:14 AM
I saw this on shipping FW for the NA units and was fixed by upgrading FW.
 FW Update Process (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42457.0)

Try setting Mixed G and N mode then see if you can get a 4th device to connect. If not, lets get a hold of tech support soon.