D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-815 => Topic started by: drthundr on May 19, 2013, 01:06:53 PM

Title: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: drthundr on May 19, 2013, 01:06:53 PM
Hello.  My first dual-band router.  I went from a Linksys WRT54GS to the DIR-815.

Everything on the 2.4ghz works without issue and I can get to the internet.  I can connect to my 5ghz as well, but I can't get out to the internet at all.  SSID's are different but they have the same password.  Everything is pretty much Auto / Default.  I'm not sure if I'm missing a setting.  My wireless card in the laptop is an Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205.  Updated drivers from Intel's website. My iPad 3 or Macbook Pro will connect as well but cannot get out to the internet on 5ghz either.  They work fine on 2.4ghz.  I checked for new firmware, but it says I'm at the latest.

Hardware version: B1
Firmware Version: 2.00
Current Firmware Date: Tue 03 Apr 2012

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks.
Title: Re: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on May 19, 2013, 03:01:21 PM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=41537.0)

What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=47512.0) version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?

Has a Factory Reset been performed?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53008.0)
For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
Turn off ALL QoS (http://vonage.nmhoy.net/qos.html) or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53222.0)
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48695.0) feature. Tools/Time.
 
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48327.0) and Managing Signal Congestion (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53228.0)
Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something thats already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
What wireless modes are you using?
2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer (http://www.metageek.net/) to find out. How many?

Try turning off Short GI (http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-features/30969-what-do-80211ns-optional-features-mean-for-you), WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Enable WMM Enable (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=50738.0) Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Ensure that All devices and adapters are supporting of connecting to 5Ghz radios. Some only support 2.4Ghz Radios.
Title: Re: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: drthundr on May 21, 2013, 07:38:53 PM
Thanks for the reply.

Hardware version: B1
Firmware Version: 2.00
Current Firmware Date: Tue 03 Apr 2012
Cable Company: Comcast
Modem: Motorola 6141

I just did a factory reset and set the wireless up again.  All default settings except the 5ghz wireless has a different SSID than the 2.4ghz wireless.  Same passwords.  Still the same issue.  I cannot get out to the Internet.

I tried changing all of the channels, etc.  I was using WPA2-Personal / AES.  I disabled Security, so it is an open network.  Still the same issue.

Not really sure what to try at this point.  Could it be defective?
Title: Re: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on May 21, 2013, 07:43:22 PM
Ensure that All devices and adapters are supporting of connecting to 5Ghz radios. Some only support 2.4Ghz Radios.

Are they connecting to the 2.4Ghz radio and get thru?

The Mac Book Pro should connect and support 5Ghz. I presume the iPad 3 should if it supports 5Ghz. Have these been tested on a different router with 5ghz WiFi?

What region are you located?
Title: Re: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: drthundr on May 23, 2013, 05:21:46 PM
2.4ghz works just fine.  That's how I'm connecting right now and replying to this post.  As soon as I switch over to the 5ghz radio, I lose internet, but I'm able to access the router, so I'm still on the LAN.  It's like port 80 is being blocked for some reason.

I have not tested any of these devices on another 5ghz WiFi, but the Radio Type on my wireless connection says 802.11n when connected so I know the card in the laptop is compatible

I am in the Chicago, IL USA region.

Thanks for your help!
Title: Re: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on May 23, 2013, 05:29:42 PM
Are you getting a connection rate on the router under Status/Wireless when you are connected to the 5Ghz radio?

Just switching between radios should not loose internet connection. I can switch on my Mac Book Pro between radios and keep connection and internet.


You could try updating to v2.02 and see if this helps resolve anything:
http://support.dlink.ca/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DIR-815 (http://support.dlink.ca/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DIR-815)
If you decide to try the FW, do a factory reset after you get the file and unpack it, send the .bin file using IE, do one more factory reset after the update. Set up the 5Ghz radio for open security at first and test to see if you get internet on 5Ghz, 2.4Ghz and wired. Post results.

I presume that your devices work on 5Ghz. I would test them out on a different radio if possible. I would go to places like Best Buy or some place locally that has a different DLink 8 series router that has refund policy and test to see if different router exhibits the same thing. I kind of doubt it. If it doesn't, then the 815 needs to be returned to RMA.

Title: Re: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: drthundr on May 23, 2013, 07:16:42 PM
Yes, I am getting the following:

Number Of Wireless Clients - 2.4GHz Band : 3
IP Address                    Mode Rate (Mbps)    Signal (%)
192.168.0.104           11n   144.444           100
192.168.0.107           11n   65                   100
192.168.0.105           11n   72.2                   100

Number Of Wireless Clients - 5GHz Band : 1
IP Address                    Mode Rate (Mbps)    Signal (%)
192.168.0.100           11n   300.0                   100

The 3 devices on the 2.4GHz band are an Android / Iphone / Macbook Pro.

I tried pinging 8.8.8.8 and it timed out as well.  Tracert times out on hop 6 as well.

5    15 ms    14 ms    29 ms  he-0-10-0-0-pe04.350ecermak.il.ibone.comcast.net
[68.86.83.50]
  6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.

I will try the 2.02 FW.  I appreciate the link.  I did check for a firmware update but it does not find that.  I know it should not be this difficult to set up.  Just starting to wonder if there is something wrong with the box.  I will post my results after the FW update.  Thanks!
Title: Re: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on May 23, 2013, 08:09:58 PM
Keep us posted on results...
Title: Re: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: drthundr on May 25, 2013, 06:53:38 AM
Unfortunately this did not work.  I did a factory reset > upgraded the firmware > factory reset again.  I went through the simple Internet connection and wireless wizards.  I made the SSID's different but the wireless passwords the same.  I also tried turning all security off so it was an open network.  Still nothing  :-\

Still the same ping and tracert results as before.  RMA??  Thanks!
Title: Re: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on May 25, 2013, 08:38:13 AM
Yep, off to RMA with it. Sorry about that.
Title: Re: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: drthundr on May 25, 2013, 11:40:42 AM
No worries!  I do appreciate your support.  Thanks.
Title: Re: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on May 25, 2013, 12:20:40 PM
Let us know how it goes.
Title: Re: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: drthundr on June 13, 2013, 10:41:19 AM
Got the replacement....same issue.  I went through the initial setup of the ISP and wireless SSIDs.  I didn't touch any advanced settings.  I can access the internet via 2.4ghz wireless without issue.  I can connect to the 5ghz, but cannot get out to the internet on any device (laptop, iPad 3, Macbook Pro).  Any other suggestions would be great.  I may go buy a different N router to see if that works.  Maybe this model is just not meant to be.  Thanks!
Title: Re: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on June 13, 2013, 10:45:36 AM
Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer (http://www.teamviewer.com) if your interested. Its safe and secure.

FYI: http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=54494.msg243834#msg243834 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=54494.msg243834#msg243834)
Title: Re: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: italianjob on February 24, 2017, 06:04:14 AM
I have the same problem. The band 5ghz does not see it  >:(
Title: Re: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on February 24, 2017, 06:10:48 AM
That region are you located?

What firmware version are you using?

What devices do you have connected?
What wireless modes are you using?
What channels are you using?

I have the same problem. The band 5ghz does not see it  >:(
Title: Re: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: john_in_kl on April 08, 2017, 02:02:20 AM
Hi, I had a similar problem with my DIR868L.

I fixed it by unticking the autochannel select option on the 5ghz settings under Wireless,  then selected channel 161 manually, changed the SSID and password and saved the settings.

Hope this works for you

John
Title: Re: No internet on 5ghz - DIR-815
Post by: FurryNutz on April 08, 2017, 04:25:41 PM
Thanks for posting. Hope this helps future users.

Hi, I had a similar problem with my DIR868L.

I fixed it by unticking the autochannel select option on the 5ghz settings under Wireless,  then selected channel 161 manually, changed the SSID and password and saved the settings.

Hope this works for you

John