D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-857 => Topic started by: elviob on March 09, 2013, 05:02:58 PM

Title: Media Server Problem
Post by: elviob on March 09, 2013, 05:02:58 PM
I have an external LG 1TB HDD to my DIR-857.
The HDD is full of videos, including in the root directory.

So I can see the Media Server in my 2 computers (Win7 and Win8) and also in my WDTV streamer.
But in every case the message is that there's no media in the Media Server.

I can access the files through file system -> \\192.168.0.1\usb(b1), so itīs not lack of permission...

Am I missing some configuration in the router?

Thanks!
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 11, 2013, 07:09:13 AM
What file format is the HDD? I believe it should be either FAT32 or NTFS and not a proprietary format.
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: elviob on March 11, 2013, 03:06:03 PM
What file format is the HDD? I believe it should be either FAT32 or NTFS and not a proprietary format.

It's NTFS.
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: elviob on March 12, 2013, 03:19:46 AM
It's NTFS.


I also tested with another external hdd. It's a 1TB WD My Passport, NTFS formatted. But I get the same behavior.
Any ideas?
Did anybody tried Media Server with Hardware Version: A1 and Firmware Version: 1.04?

Thanks!
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 12, 2013, 05:28:35 PM
1. Connected my 2Tb WD MyBook 2007 drive to the router. It's set up as a RAID format to use the 2Tb drive size. I think it has 2x 500Gb drives inside.
2. Reviewed the Setup/Storage settings. Drive was seen and listed as USB(B1) 1.82TB under total space.
3. Use the following to map to the drive in Windows with out using SharePort applications: \\192.168.0.1\USB(B1) and the mapping connected and opened up a Explorer window displaying the contents of the drive.
4. Copied some sample files from my PC to the USB drive by dragging and dropping on to the Explorer window. Seeing 8-9Mb on the upload to the USB drive thats connected to the router.
5. Opened Windows Media player and refreshed and the newly added files were listed and viewable.
6. Tested Mac OSX 10.7.5 using similar process using SMB:\\192.168.0.1\USB(B1) and window was opened displaying contents of drive.
7. MP3 and MP4 files were playable from the USB drive connected to the router.

FW v1.04 for my NA unit is currently loaded.
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: elviob on March 12, 2013, 07:33:30 PM
1. Connected my 2Tb WD MyBook 2007 drive to the router. It's set up as a RAID format to use the 2Tb drive size. I think it has 2x 500Gb drives inside.
2. Reviewed the Setup/Storage settings. Drive was seen and listed as USB(B1) 1.82TB under total space.
3. Use the following to map to the drive in Windows with out using SharePort applications: \\192.168.0.1\USB(B1) and the mapping connected and opened up a Explorer window displaying the contents of the drive.
4. Copied some sample files from my PC to the USB drive by dragging and dropping on to the Explorer window. Seeing 8-9Mb on the upload to the USB drive thats connected to the router.
5. Opened Windows Media player and refreshed and the newly added files were listed and viewable.
6. Tested Mac OSX 10.7.5 using similar process using SMB:\\192.168.0.1\USB(B1) and window was opened displaying contents of drive.
7. MP3 and MP4 files were playable from the USB drive connected to the router.

FW v1.04 for my NA unit is currently loaded.

Thanks to take the time to test this.
If I map the drive in Windows, or I access it directly with the ip as you did (...\\192.168.0.1\USB(B1)...) I will see the files and be able to play them.

What I'm trying to access is through Media Device.

In Windows 7, I go to network, and under Media Devices, I can see DIR-857.
When I double click, The Windows Media Player pops up.
So under Libraries, DIR-857 appears. If I chose Videos, the following message appears:
"No files have been found on this remote library".

The same happens in my WDTV Streamer. If I chose DIR-857 as Media Server, no media files will appear.

I think that the Media Server functionality of the router should let us access this way.
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 12, 2013, 07:50:27 PM
I did the same thing as I saw the multi media Icon for the 857 under Networking. I clicked on it and it opened Windows Media Player. It was listed on the left side and it had the options to select. I had a few pictures, MP3 and a couple of MP4s on the drive. All were viewable and playable.
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: elviob on March 13, 2013, 08:37:08 AM
I did the same thing as I saw the multi media Icon for the 857 under Networking. I clicked on it and it opened Windows Media Player. It was listed on the left side and it had the options to select. I had a few pictures, MP3 and a couple of MP4s on the drive. All were viewable and playable.

It seems that we did the same thing, but I still can't see any media file.
Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 13, 2013, 08:48:26 AM
I presume that Media Server option is enabled under Setup?

Wondering if there is a issue between the router and the drive you are using.
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: elviob on March 13, 2013, 03:36:53 PM
I presume that Media Server option is enabled under Setup?

Wondering if there is a issue between the router and the drive you are using.

The Media Server option is enabled.
 
I also thought about some incompatibility with the hdd. But I tried with another one with the same results.
So far I tested with a LG drive and a WD MyPassport drive.

I will try with a WD MyBook that have connected to the desktop, and let you know.

Thanks!!
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: elviob on March 13, 2013, 04:43:34 PM
Now I can see the files.
I realized that Media Server uses IPv6.

I had unchecked "Enable IPv6 Multicast Streams". I began to see the files when I checked this option under Advanced Network configuration.

Thanks for your support!
Title: Re: Media Server Problem (RESOLVED)
Post by: FurryNutz on March 15, 2013, 05:05:56 PM
Glad you found the fix. I'll remember this and keep others advised of it. I normally turn the IPv6 Multi-cast off by default anyways since I don't have IPv6 running natively.

Hope you will enjoy.
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: leooel on April 16, 2013, 12:52:21 AM
Sorry to jump in and spoil the fun, but the problem with media server in DIR-857 persists...I've been struggling with this since I bought it, updating the firmware has not helped. The basic problem is that DIR-857 fails to show
folders and files, sometimes it shows some and sometimes none, and yes, sometimes all files and folders shows up.  I also noticed that  depending of if you have a SD-card in the slot results may differ.

Im running 1.03 , 05, Oct, 2012. I saw that 1.05 beta is out, but then again im in Sweden and there is no
official release for this region yet... Any suggestion and help on this topic is very appreciated.

For now I Power off the router and external disk to get it to work, but that doesnt Always do the trick.

Cheers
leo
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on April 16, 2013, 07:00:03 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=41537.0)

Has a Factory Reset been performed before and after the FW was updated?
Where was your version of FW acquired?

I highly recommend that you use the following process:
FW Update Process (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42457.0)
and downgrade to the v1.01B9 version found on DLinks UK web site:
http://www.dlink.com/uk/en/support/product/dir-857-dualband-hd-media-router (http://www.dlink.com/uk/en/support/product/dir-857-dualband-hd-media-router)

After doing the last factory reset after the FW has been sent and processed, set up the router from scratch and enable media server and ensure IPv6 Multi-Cast Streaming is enabled as well.


Sorry to jump in and spoil the fun, but the problem with media server in DIR-857 persists...I've been struggling with this since I bought it, updating the firmware has not helped. The basic problem is that DIR-857 fails to show
folders and files, sometimes it shows some and sometimes none, and yes, sometimes all files and folders shows up.  I also noticed that  depending of if you have a SD-card in the slot results may differ.

Im running 1.03 , 05, Oct, 2012. I saw that 1.05 beta is out, but then again im in Sweden and there is no
official release for this region yet... Any suggestion and help on this topic is very appreciated.

For now I Power off the router and external disk to get it to work, but that doesnt Always do the trick.

Cheers
leo
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: leooel on April 19, 2013, 12:47:50 AM
Thank you!

I did the following:

1. contacted d-link support, was adviced to use the version I mentioned before. Even though it seems to violate their own policy on regionbased firmware.
2. I saved the configuration.
3. Installed the firmware.
4. Reinstalled the saved configuration

I am curious to know if the firmware version you mention has any corrections to the media server. I cannot find any details on the firmware upgrades, so its like shooting in the dark....

And yes I am using IPv6 Multi-Cast streaming.

Cheers
/Leo
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on April 19, 2013, 07:05:53 AM
I recommend following this to see if it might correct the issue.

1. Don't save current configuration settings.
2. Factory reset the router.
3. Re-send the v1.01 B9 FW.
4. Do one more factory reset after the FW file has been processed.
5. Set up the router from scratch, do not re-load any saved configuration from file as there are differences seen between FW versions that causes differences in saved configuration files. So after you set up the router from scratch, generation a new saved configuration to file.

Ensure that your drives you are using for Windows formatted to either FAT32 or NTFS:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=50054.0 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=50054.0)

Check with a Windows PC after you have enabled the Media Server, with Windows Media Player, it should see the connected drive or SD card and the contents. I'd put a few MP3s and some MP4 or some forum of video files on your test drive or card.
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: leooel on April 23, 2013, 03:46:50 AM
Ok,

You convinced me...and if this doesnt work, next round of beers on you:-)

I keep you posted on the outcome.

Cheers
/Leo
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: leooel on April 28, 2013, 04:33:43 AM
FurryNuts,

I did follow your instructions, and  can sadly report that nothing changed. Its the same guessing game, will media server show my movie folders? Renaming folders seems to improve things, but not always.
I cant understand what this is. Cant someone at D-Link acknowledge that the media server is NOT fully
working?

Cheers
/Lennart
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on April 28, 2013, 01:57:09 PM
Does the devices see any media files if they are put in the root folder or at the top level? Test some MP3s and MP4s at the root of the drive or SD card you are using to test.

If still nothing, I'm going to recommend that you phone contact DLink support and ask for level 3 or higher support for your region and inquire about this.

Let us know if you find anything out.
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: leooel on April 29, 2013, 10:47:14 AM
I have 6 folders on the top level. Only one folder showed up on the media server. I copied one mp3-file to the top level, and it shows up.

Im viewing the network disk in three different ways, DLNA from my PC, DLNA from my bluray-player, and as a mounted network disk from my pc. Can this setting cause some unwanted interference? Another thing I noticeis that my mount point  shows up as 192.168.0.1/usb(b1) OR 192.168.0.1/usb(a1), no SD card mounted on the router. So after restart I never know in advance the mount Point. That tells me that there are some inconsistencies in the internal logic on the DIR-857. Unless you don't have anything more to suggest, I will follow your advice earlier on the level 3 support here in Sweden.

Cheers
/Leo
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on April 29, 2013, 11:03:35 AM
Im wondering if there is a problem with the level of folders or even if multiple levels of folders are supported. If you can see multiple files at the root level, this maybe the only support it has. Test multiple video and music files at the root level.

I would ask support about this and see if multiple folders should be normally supported or not.

Keep us posted.
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on April 29, 2013, 11:52:08 AM
What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: leooel on April 29, 2013, 12:01:30 PM
Cable, 100 Mbit/s down 10 Mbit/s up. what about the b1/a1 switching mount Point then? Any clues?

Cheers
/Leo
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on April 29, 2013, 12:05:22 PM
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Not sure why it's changing unless they make it that way...or there is a bug.
I found a v1.02 beta on DLinks Russian web site. Care to give it a go? I can't promise anything...

Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: leooel on April 29, 2013, 12:19:40 PM
I have internet access directly into my apartment, so I cant give you that information, a cat 6 Cable from the socket into the router. I would give that russian FW a try but...my wife is killing me if I take down the router anymore, and even
if I did, I would really appreciate some info on what the different FW versions out there are fixing. I cant see any information on whats changed, so I you have any info on that, Im willing to give it a try.

Cheers
/Lennart
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on April 29, 2013, 12:28:35 PM
Reason for asking about modem is to see or find out if there is a built in router by chance. These can effect how the router gets some information like Time.

Unfortunately there isn't any information on what this beta build does or fixes. It would be a trial and error kind of thing. You can downgrade to v1.01 should the v1.02 beta not work. If your users are needing the router, I would pick a time when you can test the router out when nobody is needing the router or connections.
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: leooel on April 29, 2013, 01:29:03 PM
I wait on testing that beta, curious to know about your findings on support for multiple folders on top level, Before I continue...this may be "by design", but I doubt it, since I've seen missing folders on lower level as well.

Cheers
/Leo

PS If you want you can share the link to that beta version.
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on April 29, 2013, 01:31:33 PM
ftp://ftp.dlink.ru/pub/Router/DIR-857/Firmware/Old/ (ftp://ftp.dlink.ru/pub/Router/DIR-857/Firmware/Old/)

Please follow this for doing the upgrade and don't load any saved configurations from file. Lets try this from scratch after you load the FW and do a factory reset before and after sending the file:
FW Update Process (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42457.0)
Title: Re: Media Server Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on May 16, 2013, 10:57:52 AM
Did you want to give that Beta a try or try our v1.04NA?
http://www.dlink.com/ca/en/support/product/dir-857-dualband-hd-media-router (http://www.dlink.com/ca/en/support/product/dir-857-dualband-hd-media-router)

I have forwarded this onto my contact at D-Link. Can't promise anything. I'll keep poking about on this.