D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-827 => Topic started by: drshock on November 09, 2012, 04:33:02 PM

Title: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: drshock on November 09, 2012, 04:33:02 PM
I see that 1.04 is already out so soon after 1.03.  Anyone tried this yet?
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on November 09, 2012, 05:12:10 PM
See it's not official on the web site however:
It removes the 404 page and adds iOS 6 compatibility.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: drshock on November 12, 2012, 05:23:37 PM
How can it not be official when it shows up in the firmware update check?
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on November 12, 2012, 05:26:09 PM
I said its not official on the main web page. Usually if they release something it gets posted on the main web pages for public download. Could be an early release for those who want to try it or test it out. Up to you if you want to try it. If you do, I would apply over what is configured now. If you want to, save off the current configuration, UPDATE, then factory reset and set up from scratch.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: runun on November 15, 2012, 01:31:02 PM
Well, it's officially released on the main web page as of today.  I've been trying out the 1.04 firmware for the past couple days and it frequently drops the WiFi connection.  I thought 1.03 was bad.  At least 1.03 could maintain a WiFi connection for a few days, whereas 1.04 can't seem to maintain a WiFi connection for more than a few minutes.  It's funny because enhanced wireless performance is the first item listed for the 1.04 firmware.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on November 15, 2012, 01:38:15 PM
Are there any other Wifi routers near by?
Can you test this with setting a manual channel and change from auto 20/40Mhz to 20Mhz only?
Does this happen on 2.4Ghz only or on both radios?

Was a factory reset performed both before and after the FW was applied then setup the router from scratch?

Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: runun on November 15, 2012, 02:05:31 PM
I performed a factory reset after the upgrade but not before.  Also, I have the WiFi manually set to channel 11 based on an inSSIDer scan for the least crowded channel in my area.  I will try changing the auto 20/40Mhz to 20Mhz only, too.  I just went back to 1.03, so I guess I'll try to reset the router before going back to 1.04 again.  I don't have any wireless 5Ghz devices on my network, so I cannot comment on that.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on November 15, 2012, 02:11:14 PM
Have any friends, family or nieghbors with a 5Ghz device that you could barrow for a while to test? I'm curious if 5ghz exhibits the same thing. I hoping it doesn't.

Any interest in letting someone else test your router out?  ::)

BTW, where abouts are you located?  ???
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: runun on November 15, 2012, 02:53:27 PM
I'm located in Wisconsin about half way between Milwaukee and Madison.  Well, I upgraded to 1.04 after doing a factory reset.  Then, after upgrading, I restored my settings from a configuration file.  WiFi dropped after a couple minutes.  Doh, I forgot to reset the router AFTER the upgrade.  I then reset the router and manually changed settings from scratch.  Well, the router still only managed to maintain a wireless signal for a few minutes.  It looks like the signal is very weak.  My laptop (wireless G adapter) is only able to connect to the router at 1Mbps from a distance of 7 feet.  I don't get it.  I followed suggestions you made in the topic "Internet access lost from time to time."  I'm using the DIR-827 as the 2nd router in my network.  The first "router" is the Ooma Telo phone modem.  It has very basic router functionality, but I was able to put the WAN IP address listed for the DIR-827 into a DMZ on the Ooma.  My only other option is to reboot every piece of networking equipment.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: runun on November 15, 2012, 06:09:55 PM
I rebooted every piece of network equipment and WiFi still went down after only a few minutes.  Then, I re-enabled the short GI function and changed the auto 20/40 Mhz back to enabled and things have been stable for the past couple hours.  Whoa, these routers are really out to test my patience!
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on November 16, 2012, 06:53:33 AM
Short GI and manual 20 Mhz shouldn't cause the WiFi to drop. Possible interference problem or HW.

Would be interesting to see if this problem is exhibited in a different location. Is this your only WiFi router?

Keep us posted on how it goes.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: captain on November 18, 2012, 07:37:54 AM
I get the same thing as 1.03. It  locks up at around 1hr and has to be restarted with the switch to get it to work again. I guess v1.02 is what I will have use till I replace this router someday.

It's getting a little old looking at every responce on here telling us to turn off every feature on the router to try to make it work. I paid top dollar for it I expect it to work with every setting on or off as I see fit.
If there is some reason it can work that way it shouldn't have these features.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on November 18, 2012, 08:06:48 AM
Have you tried going back to v1.01 to see if it keeps hanging?
When you are upgrading or downgrading, besure to factory reset the router before and after the FW update then configure from scratch.

Is it hanging the entire router or the wireless only?

What region are you located?
Is your ISP DSL? Is the router handling the PPPoE acct or is it in DHCP? Is Always ON enabled?
Any interest in testing this router out at a different location to see if the problem follows?
Others are not exhibiting this condition so this maybe isolated to either the router you have or your network configuration and setup.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: captain on November 18, 2012, 09:19:38 AM
It hangs the entire router,everything else is good till that point.

Ohio,dsl,pppoe,dhcp and is set to always on.

It doesn't hang on v1.02 or v1.01 but does drop the wireless sometimes with them.

I have set it up from scratch and it don't make a difference.

Thinking about changing it out to a different brand and see what happens. I am just going to use v1.02 till I get a new router to try.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on November 18, 2012, 09:25:02 AM
I would recommend trying a different brand. This will let you know if something else happens or doesn't. I presume if it doesn't then there could be something wrong with the router. Possibly something between the router and ISP modem. I would recommend trying this router out at a different location as well to see if the problem follows. If there is any interest in this, I can help out here if needed. Trying this out in a different location might provide different results and would help to see if there is a actual router, FW or configuration problem. If there the problem follows then this router probably needs to be RMAd as soon as possible. I would recommend a 2nd opinion look at this router to help you determine if the router needs to be RMAd.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: Patrick533 on November 23, 2012, 07:31:17 AM
How bizarre, I have been running this router on 1.04 for at least a week, never noticed a difference. It is rock solid, I had forgotten about the update until I read this.......
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on November 23, 2012, 09:30:17 AM
Glad it's working well. Enjoy.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: captain on November 27, 2012, 07:26:47 AM
I reinstalled v1.04 and trying to find the problem.

After working on this for hours I have I think I have it narrowed down. It will hang streaming video to a ps3 with Playon media server and moving large files to a Buffalo Linkstation Live Mini both wired. It will hang faster moving the files to the Linkstation and hang on demand streaming and moving files at the same time.. I changed out a switch I have the ps3 and Linkstation connected to and still hangs. I connected the ps3 to wireless and slowed the port speed in the router settings to 100 and seems to have stopped the hanging.

Hang= it stops working wireless and wired all. I have to turn it off and back on to get it working again.

It didn't have this problem with v1.02 but does with v1.03 and 1.04.

Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on November 27, 2012, 07:34:34 AM
When you changed out a switch, meaning you had an external switch connected between the router and your wired devices? Did you directly connect the wired devices to the router, by passing the switch?

When you were testing, was streaming and moving large files all going on at the same time or separately?

I would recommend testing another DIR series router, either same model or different to see if the problem appears. Find a store with a return and refund policy. I recommend also testing all this out while the routers is not connected to the ISP modem.

I would phone contact DLink support so they get visibility on this. You might go back to v1.02 and confirm that the router doesn't hang with wire devices directly connected. If you can confirm it doesn't hang, then thats another item to mention to DLink support. Go to Level 2 or higher. This is something that needs higher attention.

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer (http://www.teamviewer.com) if your interested. Its safe and secure.
Keep us posted.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: captain on November 27, 2012, 07:55:31 AM
Yes I had an external switch connected between the router and wired devices.

It would hang randomly when streaming and a lot when moving files. It will hang in a very short time streaming and moving files at the same time.

I did some testing with modem disconnected but I have been doing so much with it I don't remember testing the streaming and moving files at the same time or not.

I need to do more testing and keep track of it better. I will probably connect a new cable direct from router to Linkstation and see what it does next.

I am taking a break now after around 16hrs of it.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on November 27, 2012, 07:57:18 AM
Keep us posted.  ;)
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: captain on November 27, 2012, 10:19:48 AM
I hooked up the direct cable and couldn't make it hang. I started checking the old wire and found a section of cat 5 under the house. The switch indicated it was connecting gigabit with green lights.
I guess thats the problem and lowering port speed to 100 probably would make it work with cat 5.

I guess it's time to get some new wire and get dirty.

I still wonder why it worked with v1.02.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on November 27, 2012, 10:29:12 AM
Glad you found the problem.
Link> Cat6 is recommended. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CAT6)

Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: captain on November 27, 2012, 03:14:31 PM
I run new cable and still hangs. I guess I didn't wait long enough when testing. I have tested with modem disconnected and hangs. I also got it to hang with port speed set to 100.

reinstalled v1.02 and has been running for 2 hrs. I will need more time to say but it's looking like a firmware problem. It only took minutes to make it hang with v1.04. It has been up for 2 hrs streaming and moving files with v1.02 so I am close to saying it has to be firmware.

I will give it a day to know for sure.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on November 27, 2012, 04:34:28 PM
So its hanging while directly connected to router and with out being connected to iSP modem?
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: captain on November 27, 2012, 05:30:41 PM
Yes still hangs with modem disconnected. It is still up and running with no hangs yet with v1.02.

It just don't have this problem with v1.02 and does with v1.03 and v1.04.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on November 27, 2012, 06:44:17 PM
So when you load one of the newer versions, was a factory reset done before and after and did you set up the router from scratch?
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: captain on November 27, 2012, 06:55:47 PM
Yes all has been done. It's working with v1.02 and going to keep it that way I guess till a new firmware or I get a new router.
Have to wait on a new router because I like the ones that cost too much. ;D
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on November 27, 2012, 06:57:47 PM
Would be interested if you could try a new one or maybe a different DIR series model just as a test.

I would recommend you phone contact DLink support and talk to someone at level 2 or higher.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: runun on December 03, 2012, 05:50:48 PM
I don't know why, but the router has been pretty stable  :) for the past two and a half weeks on f/w 1.04.  I guess my only major complaint, besides the whole (no QoS over 2mbps up speed thing), is the poor range.  I only have a wireless G laptop, so I can't comment on the N band.  Well, I guess I could test the N range with my smartphone.  However, it was nonfunctional for over a week until earlier today.  I've been using inSSIDer almost daily to check area networks' channel usage and I'm the only one on channel 1.  Most area networks are near six and some are around 11.  I had my neighbor in our duplex move his dual band Cisco (300 mbps per band) from channel 6 to 11.  I can't maintain a signal from my garage at 50 feet away.  Since improving wireless range was claimed to be addressed with 1.04, I'd say the developers need to go back to the drawing board here.  From my garage, there is an open network at a church located over 200 feet away that gives me a stronger signal with their Cisco wireless G router.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: captain on December 03, 2012, 05:56:41 PM
Just an update.

Connection Up Time :   6 Days, 3:05:04

I am still good on v1.02. I would think if there was a problem with my router it would have it with v1.02 the same as v1.04.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on December 04, 2012, 06:59:30 AM
Have you contacted DLink support, level 2 or higher about v1.04?

Just an update.

Connection Up Time :   6 Days, 3:05:04

I am still good on v1.02. I would think if there was a problem with my router it would have it with v1.02 the same as v1.04.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: captain on December 04, 2012, 07:53:14 AM
How do you get to a level 2 or higher?
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on December 04, 2012, 07:56:33 AM
Just ask, tell them that you've done all trouble shooting that you can do, FW is up to date then just tell them "you'd like to speak to Level 2 support. You may have to go higher. Just be sure you have all your information ready and what you have done in troubleshooting and testing.


Let us know what they say.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on December 12, 2012, 12:40:38 PM
I would say 50ft is probably on the fringes or outter range of what these internal antenna'd routers can do. You might want to consider adding a DAP-1525 to help provide single to the garage. I'm going to be installing 2 additional APs when my new addition gets done to cover 3000sq ft.

I don't know why, but the router has been pretty stable  :) for the past two and a half weeks on f/w 1.04.  I guess my only major complaint, besides the whole (no QoS over 2mbps up speed thing), is the poor range.  I only have a wireless G laptop, so I can't comment on the N band.  Well, I guess I could test the N range with my smartphone.  However, it was nonfunctional for over a week until earlier today.  I've been using inSSIDer almost daily to check area networks' channel usage and I'm the only one on channel 1.  Most area networks are near six and some are around 11.  I had my neighbor in our duplex move his dual band Cisco (300 mbps per band) from channel 6 to 11.  I can't maintain a signal from my garage at 50 feet away.  Since improving wireless range was claimed to be addressed with 1.04, I'd say the developers need to go back to the drawing board here.  From my garage, there is an open network at a church located over 200 feet away that gives me a stronger signal with their Cisco wireless G router.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: techie60 on December 17, 2012, 12:26:37 PM
I've updated to FW1.04 (was 1.03) and ran into a strange issue.
Now I cannot see my 5GH SSID at ..11n in my wireless scan (both bands have different SSID and were visible beofre the update).
If I change my laptop's wireless adaptor settings (wireless mode) to 11a only, then I can see it.
Router band settings: 2.4GH band - mix mode 11gn; 5GH band - 11n only.
Am I doing something wrong?
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on December 17, 2012, 12:29:17 PM
Was a factory update performed before and after sending the file?
Ensure the client adapter supports 5Ghz?
Any other devices that support 5Ghz see the 5Ghz SSID?

Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: techie60 on December 20, 2012, 05:45:54 PM
Was a factory update performed before and after sending the file?
Ensure the client adapter supports 5Ghz?
Any other devices that support 5Ghz see the 5Ghz SSID?


What do  you mean by factory update? (does it mean resetting to factory defaults)
Update was performed after. At 1.03 I was able to see both.
My laptop supports both the bands. At work I do not have any problem.
I've ordered dual band PC wireless adaptor DWA 566 for this specific purpose. Will test and keep you posted.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: techie60 on December 22, 2012, 04:07:30 AM
After resetting the router it worked. Now I can see both SSID and can use them.
Thanks Furry Nutz.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released (RESOLVED)
Post by: FurryNutz on December 22, 2012, 08:17:47 PM
Enjoy.

 ;)

After resetting the router it worked. Now I can see both SSID and can use them.
Thanks Furry Nutz.
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: captain on March 27, 2013, 07:54:27 AM
Just ask, tell them that you've done all trouble shooting that you can do, FW is up to date then just tell them "you'd like to speak to Level 2 support. You may have to go higher. Just be sure you have all your information ready and what you have done in troubleshooting and testing.


Let us know what they say.

I replaced the router as it was over a year old with a different brand like I said I was going to. I haven't had a problem with the new router so the old one must have been bad. The new one has been up and running for three months.

Replaced with AC66U
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on March 27, 2013, 08:04:20 AM
Good Luck and Enjoy.

I replaced the router as it was over a year old with a different brand like I said I was going to. I haven't had a problem with the new router so the old one must have been bad. The new one has been up and running for three months.

Replaced with AC66U
Title: Re: DIR-827 1.04 firmware released
Post by: FurryNutz on April 09, 2013, 10:56:06 AM
Since the DIR-827 arrived last week, loaded w v1.02. I decided to make the jump with out any loaded testing and put v1.04 on it. Router has been solid since. I played BO2 on the wifi to do some stress testing. My xbox was connected to the 2.4Ghz radio while the other xbox was connected to the 5Ghz radio. Gaming was good for the most part. Did see odd in game and connection issues while the game was attempting to find matches. Did see one game where we all got booted back to the lobby during the game for unknown reasons. I don't think this was a 827 issue as I was still with my party and connected to them in the lobby.

I was impressed the other night, we both were gaming while I was uploading a moderately big file to a friend of mine on Yahoo messenger from a PC. No game lag or upload problems seen. Was good.  ;D

The router was factory reset, loaded v1.04, factory reset once more then set up from scratch. WPA2 and AES only on manual channel 11 for 2.4Ghz. 5Ghz set for Auto channel. QoS is enabled and set appropriately as per gaming sticky in the FAQ. WPS and WISH were turned OFF. All other settings are pretty much default. ALL device IP addresses are reserved ON the router. Mac Book Pro and iPhone 4S connect wirelessly with out any issues.

I need to test SharePort and HDD and USB printer next. I presume this might show similar problems with my printer as I'm seeing with the 857. We'll see.  ::)