D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-635 => Topic started by: wrc559 on August 08, 2012, 06:15:04 AM

Title: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
Post by: wrc559 on August 08, 2012, 06:15:04 AM
I INCORRECTLY, managed to make this router upgrade its firmware to my old DIR 615c1 firmware. I had kept selecting the wrong firmware for the device, Now its bricked.

I cannot get any IP address under DHCP or manually for the device so i can log on and reinstall the correct A1 firmware for the device  :'(

Is there any tools Dlink has for unbricking devices relating to their DIR 632 routers.

This router is 2 days old and its already bricked. Not to sure if its human error or modem error, But when i selected the wrong firmware it hung for about 4 minutes before shutting of to restart then just never restarted.

Should i seek an RMA?
Title: Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
Post by: JavaLawyer on August 08, 2012, 06:44:10 AM
Please try the following crash recovery procedure:

Title: Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
Post by: FurryNutz on August 08, 2012, 07:17:08 AM
Keep this for future reference:
Emergency Recovery Mode (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=44909.0)
If you can't get it working after trying the Recovery process, you'll need to contact DLink and get the router RMAd back to DLink for repairs. Keep us posted on how it goes.
Title: Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
Post by: JavaLawyer on August 09, 2012, 11:38:05 AM
Were you able to reset your router?  ???
Title: Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
Post by: FurryNutz on August 27, 2012, 11:43:00 AM
Any status on this?
Title: Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
Post by: Paegus on July 18, 2013, 07:28:55 AM
/Raise from your grave my son!

I have this same issue but the above fix isn't working per-say.

I've recently acquired a DIR-632A1 and on applying the WPS-pin security fix (DIR632_FW_103) it came up saying the signature was wrong and the device would not be reprogrammed. From there the router just stopped workung.

As mentioned I've run through the emergency reset options above and while the page loads, I choose the original firmware (DIR632A1_FW101NAB03) and click the send button. I can see the LAN led flickering away happily for a moment, then stop. The power led continues its regular orange blinking.

I left it for two hours to see if it needed time to do its thing but it's still just sitting there, orange power led, no LAN activity.

Reloading the webpage brings me back to the same page...
(http://s24.postimg.org/5we8syip1/dir632_noflash.jpg)
Title: Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
Post by: FurryNutz on July 18, 2013, 07:32:32 AM
Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=41537.0)

I recommend trying IE or FF. Chrome has been known to cause problems.
Can you access the routers web page at all?

3rd Party Security Software Configurations


If any of this still fails, you'll need to phone contact your regional D-Link support office and get the router into RMA if they will support it.

/Raise from your grave my son!

I have this same issue but the above fix isn't working per-say.

I've recently acquired a DIR-632A1 and on applying the WPS-pin security fix (DIR632_FW_103) it came up saying the signature was wrong and the device would not be reprogrammed. From there the router just stopped workung.

As mentioned I've run through the emergency reset options above and while the page loads, I choose the original firmware (DIR632A1_FW101NAB03) and click the send button. I can see the LAN led flickering away happily for a moment, then stop. The power led continues its regular orange blinking.

I left it for two hours to see if it needed time to do its thing but it's still just sitting there, orange power led, no LAN activity.

Reloading the webpage brings me back to the same page...
(http://s24.postimg.org/5we8syip1/dir632_noflash.jpg)
[/list]
Title: Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
Post by: håkon on November 06, 2014, 08:25:26 AM
Hello! i got the same problem.. i flashed my Dir 632 whit V 1.03 i had v 1.01 i thin i booted fine but after i went fore som more coffey! The device had booted an no dhcp is running as we speak on this divice no more! but i got lan status but 169.x.x.x adresses. ive set an class C on my lan ip but still cant ping the device ore accses the router it self! i also flashed it back whit the "old" firware using the firmware recovery tool and i hoped thath would work but no better! mabye i doo someting really wrong?  but i GOT lan and i see the leds power opp og lan on router is active! i really cant help understand this! the fail safe firmware isent it fail safe?

Help me please! :)
Title: Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
Post by: FurryNutz on November 06, 2014, 08:38:17 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48135.0)



Please try this:
Emergency Recovery Mode (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=44909.0)

Be LAN wired to the router with a PC.

PC 3rd Party Security Software Configurations

Hello! i got the same problem.. i flashed my Dir 632 whit V 1.03 i had v 1.01 i thin i booted fine but after i went fore som more coffey! The device had booted an no dhcp is running as we speak on this divice no more! but i got lan status but 169.x.x.x adresses. ive set an class C on my lan ip but still cant ping the device ore accses the router it self! i also flashed it back whit the "old" firware using the firmware recovery tool and i hoped thath would work but no better! mabye i doo someting really wrong?  but i GOT lan and i see the leds power opp og lan on router is active! i really cant help understand this! the fail safe firmware isent it fail safe?

Help me please! :)
Title: Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
Post by: håkon on November 06, 2014, 09:44:00 AM
Sorry im tired.. so maby i have written bad.!

Well im located in norway. the router is from ebay! and it worked out of the box. i wanted the newest firmware bofore i was going to set it up. so i flashed it whent for a coffey! and when i came back it was no dhcp running cant ping it and cant see it whit wlan...
i set my ip adress 192.168.0.X
try to ping it but i cant so i dont understand! :( why wuld it fail when its the Orginal firmware? ?? i used firefox! and i seemed fine! the router is an dir-632 and hw versjon A1 f/w 1.0.0 this is strange i flashed a LOT of routers and aps! all worked fine! this did not! :(
Title: Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
Post by: FurryNutz on November 06, 2014, 09:49:29 AM
Try the recovery mode...

FYI, this model router was never marketed or supported in your region and has been phased out here in the NA region. I recommend to try to recover the router using the process linked in my previous post and or send it back to the seller on ebay and find you something that is supported in your region:
http://www.dlink.com/no/nb/home-solutions/connect/routers (http://www.dlink.com/no/nb/home-solutions/connect/routers)