D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-655 => Topic started by: mjlies on July 14, 2012, 05:36:25 PM

Title: DIR-655 and XBL
Post by: mjlies on July 14, 2012, 05:36:25 PM
Having massive issues trying to get my 360 to connect to Xbox Live. My 655 is FW 2.03NA, hardware revision  B1.
I'm trying to connect through Wifi. Followed instructions http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42011.0 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42011.0) to the T (or so I thought). Here is what's going on.

I can get to the internet.
(http://img38.imageshack.us/img38/1621/imag04222.jpg) (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/38/imag04222.jpg/)

I get a notification for a system update that I already installed via USB.
(http://img846.imageshack.us/img846/1582/imag04202.jpg) (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/846/imag04202.jpg/)

And then  I  get this.
(http://img707.imageshack.us/img707/8913/imag04212.jpg) (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/707/imag04212.jpg/)

These are my  settings in the router.

(http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/4586/wirelessnetworksettings.jpg) (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/513/wirelessnetworksettings.jpg/)

(http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/5228/qosd.jpg) (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/406/qosd.jpg/)

(http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/9741/portforwarding.jpg) (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/405/portforwarding.jpg/)

(http://img819.imageshack.us/img819/4170/internetsettings.jpg) (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/819/internetsettings.jpg/)

(http://img843.imageshack.us/img843/7693/firewallsettings.jpg) (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/843/firewallsettings.jpg/)

(http://img337.imageshack.us/img337/5791/dhcpreserve.jpg) (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/337/dhcpreserve.jpg/)

(http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/9669/advancednetworksettings.jpg) (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/17/advancednetworksettings.jpg/)

Any ideas? I'm  all out, and I'm about to go Office Space on my Xbox.
Thanks.
Title: Re: DIR-655 and XBL
Post by: PSCGOhio on July 14, 2012, 05:45:48 PM
UPnP is set, should handle most of the XBox for ya but I saw two things:

#1 - DNS 1 and 2 - uh, 0.0.0.0?  Shouldn't those be set to your ISP's DNS settings?

#2 - You have your SSID all IN CAPS on the 655, I've had issues where if you don't match it perfectly in case and lettering, problem.  And you have a space between IDENTITY and NET, I've noticed that'll cause all kinds of hell too!  Either take it out or use an underline _ either on the 655 or more than likely on the 360. 

Side note - It's a large update, you can get it off XBox.com and use like IMGBURN to make the ISO into a CD and do the update from there so that it doesn't have a long period updating while you debug this.  I get it anyways most of the time as a backup since it's just on a CD.  Boot to the CD you make, update, then fix this other stuff quickly and see if you're on XBL
Title: Re: DIR-655 and XBL
Post by: FurryNutz on July 14, 2012, 06:19:28 PM
Follow this:
QoS and XBL (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42011.0)
Title: Re: DIR-655 and XBL
Post by: mjlies on July 14, 2012, 06:53:47 PM
Follow this:
QoS and XBL (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42011.0)

Did follow, no luck. I'm pretty sure my settings are good.  I did update the Xbox already via  USB, so I'm not sure why it keeps telling me to update.
The router is already configured with the DNS Servers, and on the Xbox, the primary DNS is the default gateway 192.168.0.1
Title: Re: DIR-655 and XBL
Post by: FurryNutz on July 14, 2012, 06:55:25 PM
Need to make sure the Xbox network settings are set to Automatic. Don't input any IP addresses. If you reserved the IP address on the router as stated in the sticky, then you don't need any static IP addresses on the xbox.
Title: Re: DIR-655 and XBL
Post by: mjlies on July 14, 2012, 06:56:25 PM
Correct, all settings are Auto. Address was reserved in the router.
Title: Re: DIR-655 and XBL
Post by: FurryNutz on July 14, 2012, 06:58:55 PM
Are you wired or wireless?
Title: Re: DIR-655 and XBL
Post by: mjlies on July 14, 2012, 07:00:17 PM
Wireless, I also input the recommended settings for wireless from the setup thread.
Title: Re: DIR-655 and XBL
Post by: FurryNutz on July 14, 2012, 07:01:44 PM
Any chance you can try the wire?
Might for now, temporarily turn off Wifi security and see if the xbox will connect wirelessly to get the update.

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using teamviewer (http://www.teamviewer.com) if your interested. Its safe and secure.
Title: Re: DIR-655 and XBL
Post by: FurryNutz on July 14, 2012, 07:03:13 PM
You only need the one rule for QoS, not both. Keep the specific one with the specified ports for XBL.
Title: Re: DIR-655 and XBL
Post by: mjlies on July 14, 2012, 07:06:46 PM
That's the thing, I already updated it. I downloaded it from my PC, transferred  to flash drive and updated via  USB. I  do have teamviewer already if  you want to take a look.  I'm going to bring the xbox to my office and try a wired connection. Will let you know.

Ok, so those ports should be 88 80 3074  and 53  right? Then don't worry  about the other rule?
Title: Re: DIR-655 and XBL
Post by: FurryNutz on July 14, 2012, 07:08:46 PM
You only need the 2nd rule, port 3074.

If you want me to have a look, send me a PM with ID and PW.

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?