D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-827 => Topic started by: btasatus on June 04, 2012, 07:26:49 PM

Title: Can't connect to a DNS-323
Post by: btasatus on June 04, 2012, 07:26:49 PM
Hello, the DIR-827 works great except that my DNS-323 is not recognize as a network element! Are they compatible?
thank you in advance.
Title: Re: Can't connect to a DNS-323
Post by: FurryNutz on June 04, 2012, 08:12:11 PM
Ensure cable is in good condition between router and DNS. Swap out.
Check the status page of the router, is it appearing the connected LAN computers list?
Setup reserved IP addresses for all of your devices ON the router.
Do a reset of the DNS to blow away any previous networking settings used on a previous router.
Title: Re: Can't connect to a DNS-323
Post by: nolan on June 07, 2012, 05:17:31 PM
I have a DNS-323 and it works fine with my DIR-827.  I don't see the DNS-323 on the router because I use a static IP on the DNS-323.  I connect to the "server" from workstations by mapping the drive in Windows or mounting it in Mac.

I configured DHCP on the DIR-827 to use .126 to .199
That way I can use .2 to .125 for static IP's (e.g. printers, servers, DNS-323).

Alternatively you could reserve IP's but for the DNS-323.  6 or half dozen...