D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-857 => Topic started by: rob.perry on March 24, 2012, 04:33:14 PM

Title: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: rob.perry on March 24, 2012, 04:33:14 PM
I installed my DIR 857...but i can't get my extra Apple MAC to work with the router...wirelessly and even connected.  Basically crashes the router..no access to the internet.  However, when I shut if down...router and internet connectivity comes to life.  Router is connected via IPAD, other Windows based wireless laptop...no problems.   As soon as i open the MacBook, and it tries to connect, network shuts down.  Odd, has to be a setting somewhere.  Even connecting using an ethernet cable created problems.  Any thoughts...  (I bought the router via bestbuy in Canada).
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 24, 2012, 05:39:17 PM
What model is this Mac? How old? What happens if you turn off wireless security?
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: rob.perry on March 24, 2012, 06:55:41 PM
the Macbook is a mid2007 model, running Mac OS X, 10.6.8.  It worked fine with my DIR 655.  Actually hooked up well when I first connected it wirelessly to the router DIR 857 during install but a day later definitely is not connecting and derails the router every time.  I turned off wireless security in router and had same problem.  Within the Airport setting, the macbook sees both the 2.4 and 5.6 signals.  Connects with the security password entered and shortly after will close...no internet access is lost for the entire network.  The connection will link up quickly (cable modem) and then close again as the Mac seeks an internet signal..continues until i shut off the airport wireless.   (it even acted up when I used the ethernet cable direct into the router although i should try this again...because that sounds very odd.  Any thoughts?
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 24, 2012, 07:00:36 PM
Does this happen if the Mac is the only thing connected? Turn off ALL other devices?

Some things to try:
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.

What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.

Try single mode G or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer (http://www.metageek.net/) to find out.
Turn off Short GI, WLAN Partition and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

I have a Mac Book Pro 2008 with 10.6.8 and 10.7.3.
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: rob.perry on March 24, 2012, 07:41:05 PM
As suggested I turned off all the devices connected....2 black berry smart phones, one DNS 323, IPAD and ITouch as well as the main family windows vista computer..
The Mac connected to the 5.4 ghz media signal and is stable.  I'm using it now to send this message.  So the router does work wirelessly with the MAC.  I did n't do any of the other things suggested above. 
What do you believe the issue to be..?  I noticed the IP address is very different than the other devices...Mac ends with 100 versus all the other devices end in 200, 201, 203...for what that's worth...
thanks in advance for your advice here...rob
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 24, 2012, 08:36:21 PM
default IP addresses are 100-199, are you setting up IP addresses manually on each device above 199?
It's recommended to set up IP address reservations ON the router and set devices to auto obtain IP addressing.
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: rob.perry on March 24, 2012, 08:57:18 PM
No, I didn't set the IP address, that's how they were system assigned...but I believe the problem might have been that the windows and mac had the same IP address.  The systems seemed to have sorted things out and both are working now...IP address for the windows is 100 and for the mac 101...but now as i look all the devices Ip addresses...they have all changed to the 100 to 107 range...nothing is ending in digits above the 200 range any longer.  So maybe may problem is fixed...thanks again for the pointers.
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 24, 2012, 10:48:28 PM
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
This will prevent any conflict in IP addresses and is preferred.  ;)
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: rob.perry on March 25, 2012, 08:00:45 PM
HI, i have set up dedicated ip addresses for all my devices...yikes, what a job.  The software supporting the 857 was very unstable...kept bouncing out to the log-in window...when saving, the ip address in set up - network...often the server would not restart...but simply crash out with an error message.  I finally found if I assigned an ip address and changed something else like the ip range...just above the "assigning the ip address" section the router would respond and restart.  Might be an opportunity for dlink to explore...software supporting 857...which if very similar to dir 655...might have a few bugs.
(by the way, i use many dlink products).  Hope my problems are solved.
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 26, 2012, 08:45:59 AM
What browser are you using? Try a different browser like Opera or FF.
Are there any log entries during this time frame?

I might try a factory reset and set up from scratch using the manual settings on the routers web page.

All Ip address assignments and reservations should be done with in the DHCP pool range.

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using teamviewer (http://www.teamviewer.com) if your interested. Its safe and secure.
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: pro2oman on March 27, 2012, 05:37:01 PM
my 857 works fine with my macbook pro, right out of the box... maybe the mac is trying to get a ip thats already in use??
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem (RESOLVED)
Post by: rob.perry on March 27, 2012, 07:41:33 PM
yes you are correct, the mac was attempting to access an IP address that was already assigned...really created problems. I took the moderators advice and set up dedicated IP addresses for all my devices...7 in all.  Everything has worked fine since.  
Tell me, how is the software accessing the router worked for you?  I was getting fickle activity...i.e. router bouncing me out to the log in screen for no good reason...it would happen as I moved from page to page....very odd. I have tried various browers...Firefox, Google, Internet Explorer...all with the same results.
All that said, i am pleased with the performance of the router.  Regards.
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: pro2oman on March 27, 2012, 07:50:23 PM
haha i should have read all the posts before replaying .. hehe

but ya i did notice that i have a very short inactivity time before getting kicked out to the login.. its defiantly a security thing but i personally think it should be longer. other the that and my loop back problem(other topic) ..no problems, runs solid.
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 28, 2012, 07:00:57 AM
It would be interesting for one of you to TIME how long it take for the browser to exit back to the log in screen after you say go to the Status/Wireless page, once there, start timing and leave the mouse alone and then time how long it takes from there till the log in screen appears.  ::) Post your results here please.
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: pro2oman on March 28, 2012, 09:50:18 AM
it would be quite a pain.... as it wouldn't just push you back.
it would only change if you tried to open a different page or refresh.. otherwise it will display the open page...
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 28, 2012, 10:34:13 AM
How long doe it take before the log in page appears after you have left your mouse alone Pro2?
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: rob.perry on March 28, 2012, 09:44:49 PM
Happens very fast...say you log-in to the router...the router returns the "status" "device information" page as the opening screen.  Then you, say go to "set-up" networking...everythings fine.  The instant you click to another tab, the router sends you back to the log-in screen...no delay...the interface closes and you are presented with the log-in screen...
I just now logged-in...bounced around quickly through a number of tabs, no problem...but as soon as I stopped for a moment on one page and then tabbed to another...router reset back to the log-in screen...asking for a password, etc.  Happens every time.
Rob.
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 28, 2012, 09:58:23 PM
Empty the browser cache?
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: Jakeman on March 29, 2012, 08:22:04 AM
Happens very fast...say you log-in to the router...the router returns the "status" "device information" page as the opening screen.  Then you, say go to "set-up" networking...everythings fine.  The instant you click to another tab, the router sends you back to the log-in screen...no delay...the interface closes and you are presented with the log-in screen...
I just now logged-in...bounced around quickly through a number of tabs, no problem...but as soon as I stopped for a moment on one page and then tabbed to another...router reset back to the log-in screen...asking for a password, etc.  Happens every time.
Rob.

Sounds exactly like the problem I experience.  Obviously a firmware glitch.  Its a nuisance though I eventually get through after repeated attempts.   I'd say it happens after 15-20 seconds so you have to move fast to change settings.       
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 29, 2012, 08:37:32 AM
What browsers are you guys using? For IE 8 or 9, try this in compatibiliy mode?
This happen on any other browsers like Opera, FF, Chrome, Safari?
Can anyone capture this process in detail and also use FF and firebug plugin to see if there is any info here?

I timed one of my routers last night, logged in, browsed a few pages then let it sit with out touching anything and it log out at about 3 minute. There could be a mouse click process going on here too.

Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: Jakeman on March 29, 2012, 08:44:21 AM
IE 9.  I will check tonight about compatability.   Its a nuisance but a minor one. Overall I'm very impressed with its performance.   
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 29, 2012, 08:45:01 AM
Ok, keep us posted.
Curious, where did you get yours from?
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: Jakeman on March 29, 2012, 08:45:52 AM
Best Buy.
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 29, 2012, 08:50:20 AM
What region are you from?
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: Jakeman on March 29, 2012, 08:50:47 AM
Toronto, Canada
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 29, 2012, 08:55:03 AM
One last though, might check the options on these browsers, I'm wondering if the cookie settings are too strict or maybe not allowing the cookie to be set right. I know one thing I use on my browsers is to allow ALL cookies from site I Visit Only. Not sure if this would make any different. Might be worth a try.
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: Jakeman on March 29, 2012, 08:57:52 AM
One more minor glitch is the CD Install Wizard.  Mine just didn't work so I accessed the settings through the browser.     I'd suggest Dlink address those early stage problems or  frustrated new buyers will return units despite the routers great performance.
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 29, 2012, 09:02:37 AM
How did the CD wizard not work for you? Can you explain a bit more?

Do you see the same thing using the wizard on the routers web page?
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: Jakeman on March 29, 2012, 09:09:50 AM
I initially wanted to set up my old DIR-624 as a second access point but pressing the button on the wizard did not go anywhere,  nada.    Had the same issue with the regular setup button.  So went straight to the browser and got into the login screen from there.   No problem once I got there except for the quick timeouts.
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 29, 2012, 09:14:21 AM
Ok. Well you still can use the 624 as an AP, just make sure it's on a different channel is all.
Turning a router into an AP. (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=40856.0)
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: Jakeman on March 29, 2012, 10:50:20 AM
Thanks for the link but if I read it correctly my second router has to be connected by ethernet cable to the DIR-857.   I'm looking for a wireless connection to DIR-624 in an upstairs room . 
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 29, 2012, 12:41:25 PM
Yes, the router being turned into an AP has to be wired using the LAN ports.
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: rob.perry on March 29, 2012, 10:03:10 PM
Made a discovery...after trying a few different browsers etc. without any significant differnces in the instability of the routers software I finally took out the need for an administrator password to access the router...and voila,,,the connection to the router software became very stable.  Was able to browse around the settings without any of the previous annoying bounce outs or crashes. 
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: Jakeman on March 30, 2012, 05:33:01 AM
That's what I did last week and then the problem started up again a few days later.   I'll try adding the removing the password to see if it solves it again. 
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: FurryNutz on March 30, 2012, 06:36:35 AM
Can you try inputing a 3 character pw? Say 123 and see what happens? How long was your original PW?

Made a discovery...after trying a few different browsers etc. without any significant differnces in the instability of the routers software I finally took out the need for an administrator password to access the router...and voila,,,the connection to the router software became very stable.  Was able to browse around the settings without any of the previous annoying bounce outs or crashes. 
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: rob.perry on March 31, 2012, 08:30:24 PM
Tried the shorter PW, no password...still acting up...login out frequently.  I have everything hooked up the way I want and won't worry about it...i'm sure dlink will resolve in due course.
Title: Re: DIR 857 - Mac Problem
Post by: Jakeman on April 01, 2012, 07:00:37 AM
Its better with a password like 123 but it still logs out in too short a time period.  It should have a time-out option.