D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-601 => Topic started by: Aero589 on February 09, 2012, 06:07:24 PM

Title: Router will not send signal to multiple computers
Post by: Aero589 on February 09, 2012, 06:07:24 PM
Heres my problem... I have a Mac, and my wife has a PC running Windows 7. Since we moved into our new house, our Dlink DIR-601 does not seem to want to send Wi-Fi to both computers at the same time. One of the computers always seems to lag or not have internet connection at all. The Mac also seems to work better and more often than the PC when both are trying to access wi-fi.

I have messed with the channel settings, security, and most other typical settings on the router to no avail. Is there a setting I'm missing or should I enable certain settings that will allow both computers to have the same signal strength and reliability.

Thanks!
Title: Re: Router will not send signal to multiple computers
Post by: FurryNutz on February 10, 2012, 07:19:15 AM
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.

What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N?
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/Auto TPIK and AES. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only.

Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer (http://www.metageek.net/) to find out.
Turn off Short GI,,WLan Partition and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless. WMM Enable should be ON however try it OFF. This is QoS for Wireless.
Title: Re: Router will not send signal to multiple computers
Post by: Aero589 on February 11, 2012, 05:41:01 AM
Hardware version is A1, Firmware is 1.02NA (the latest). I was using mixed B, G, and N but i have recently changed to G only. Currently using WPA/WPA 2, as my mac doesn't seem to like WPA 2 only. Also using AES/TPIK. We have no cordless phones in the house, and the channel is currently set to 11, as auto scan usually doesn't work well in the house. There are a few other routers in the area, and my mac picks them all up usually.

I have changed the other settings you recommended and i'll let you know how it works out. Thanks for the tips!
Title: Re: Router will not send signal to multiple computers
Post by: FurryNutz on February 13, 2012, 08:51:13 AM
Keep us posted. 
Title: Re: Router will not send signal to multiple computers
Post by: Aero589 on February 13, 2012, 06:03:34 PM
So far so good... haven't noticed any major outages while we both surf the web... I think changing over to the "G" only signal did the most for us.... Thanks!
Title: Re: Router will not send signal to multiple computers
Post by: FurryNutz on February 13, 2012, 06:05:17 PM
Try Mixed G and N if you have any supported N mode device. If not, dont' worry. Enjoy.