D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-827 => Topic started by: tgaitan on November 03, 2011, 10:42:08 AM

Title: issues connecting it to laptop usin vista, any body?
Post by: tgaitan on November 03, 2011, 10:42:08 AM
I have this router connected to 20 gig speed cable.. macs working great but two laptop using vista cant connect... expended 3 hours with tech support to no avail... any suggestions will be appreciated
Title: Re: issues connecting it to laptop usin vista, any body?
Post by: FurryNutz on November 03, 2011, 10:50:59 AM
Congrats being the first poster.
Can you help is with some info here?

What wireless modes are you using?
Try single mode G or mixed G and N?
What security mode are you using? WEP, WPA or WPA2? Preferred is WPA-Personal. WPA2/Auto TPIK and AES.
Are the drivers updated for the NICs on the Laptops?
What make and model # are the wireless NICs on the LTs?
Are the LT's seeing the SSID you have set up on the router?
I recommend using a different SSID other than the default dlink on that comes on it. You can use anything, make it some thing fun.

What HW version is your router?
What FW version is currently loaded?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.

Some other things to try later:
Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual? You can find these under Status/Device Info/Wan section.
Turn off ALL QoS (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices on the router.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.
Title: Re: issues connecting it to laptop usin vista, any body?
Post by: tgaitan on November 03, 2011, 03:17:33 PM
Thanks for your quick response.... just tryed wep security and worked ok so it means that WPA personal has issues with vista.... of course I want to use WPA so we can take advantage of the speed... any suggestions?
Title: Re: issues connecting it to laptop usin vista, any body?
Post by: FurryNutz on November 03, 2011, 07:59:18 PM
What Cipher mode did you use when on WPA2? Auto? Try setting either TPIK or AES and test?
Is the NIC supporting of WPA modes? I presume it should be.
What make and model is the wireless NIC in the LT?
Title: Re: issues connecting it to laptop usin vista, any body?
Post by: tgaitan on November 04, 2011, 01:00:25 PM
I will find out and let you know......thanks
Title: Re: issues connecting it to laptop usin vista, any body?
Post by: tgaitan on November 07, 2011, 07:48:12 AM
just tried  WPA, WPA2 and Tpik etc.. etc.. it only worked when laptop upgraded to windows 7.. so seems that Vista cannot support this modem....
go figure...
Title: Re: issues connecting it to laptop usin vista, any body?
Post by: FurryNutz on November 07, 2011, 07:55:48 AM
So you upgraded to 7? Well, that is better then Vista. Odd that Vista seems to be the issue with the (ROUTER)  ::). Did you happen to update the drivers for the wireless card to? Well I never liked Vista anyways and 7 is what Vista should have been. My 2 cents. Hope it works better for you. Use Mixed G and N modes on the router. Keep us posted.
Title: Re: issues connecting it to laptop usin vista, any body?
Post by: tgaitan on November 07, 2011, 11:00:37 AM
10-4
Title: Re: issues connecting it to laptop usin vista, any body?
Post by: tgaitan on November 07, 2011, 06:16:22 PM
last minute break ..... found this site that offered an update fro the Atheros 50007 802.11 driver
http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=12454&prodSeriesId=472276&swItem=ob-91782-1&mode=4&idx=2 (http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=12454&prodSeriesId=472276&swItem=ob-91782-1&mode=4&idx=2)
intalled it and problem solved
cheers
Title: Re: issues connecting it to laptop usin vista, any body?
Post by: FurryNutz on November 08, 2011, 06:56:30 AM
Glad you found the issue. Enjoy.