D-Link Forums

D-Link Network Storage => DNS-343 => Topic started by: c371 on December 20, 2008, 05:02:44 PM

Title: Raid 0 - Newbie ?
Post by: c371 on December 20, 2008, 05:02:44 PM
Hello, newbie here.

I just purchased my DNS-343 and have set it up with four 1 TB drives.  I setup it up with Raid 1 to get two volumes. 

However, I would like to set up Raid 0 and have two volumes.

I would use Vol_1 and backup to Vol_2, and get the performance of Raid 0. 

Is this configuration possible, I could not tell from the documentation.

Thanks!
Title: Re: Raid 0 - Newbie ?
Post by: ECF on January 08, 2009, 01:14:32 PM
I do not see a way of having 2 Volumes using RAID0 however using the Custom option you can Create a RAID0 Volume_1 and a JBOD Volume_2 of your specified size which you can use just to backup to since you will not need the performance since it s just used for backup.
Title: Re: Raid 0 - Newbie ?
Post by: fordem on January 09, 2009, 05:29:54 AM
Before you commit your data to a RAID0 array - you might like to do some performance testing.

On the smaller DNS-323 I found no performance benefit to using RAID0 making the additional risk of data loss not worth taking - I would also caution against having both primary and backup data stores on the same device, even though your plan would have them on different drives and therefore supposedly protected.

That protection would be effective against a drive failure only - there are other causes of data loss.