D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => D-Link Storage => DNS-323 => Topic started by: philw on September 25, 2008, 01:48:15 PM

Title: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: philw on September 25, 2008, 01:48:15 PM
I wanted something which would just let me keep an eye on my 323 without me having to open a web page onto it, so I built a desktop Gadget for Vista which does that. I also put buttons on there to restart and power down the machine.

You can download it from here (http://wigglesworld.klebos.com/stuff/nas/default.asp).

Now I've found this place I'll add a link to here from there in the next version
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: Tank_Killer on September 25, 2008, 04:34:05 PM
Holy crap that gadget rocks!

nice job man!

:D
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: jswashburn on September 25, 2008, 08:54:41 PM
Ya, no doubt. That's awsome!  :o

Karma points for you  ;D
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: ECF on September 30, 2008, 02:34:25 PM
pretty sweet!!!
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: Tank_Killer on October 02, 2008, 02:16:18 PM
It seems my HD's wont spin down while i have the gadget on.  Anyone else get this?  Maybe i should set the check time intervals longer. 
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: philw on October 07, 2008, 04:55:21 AM
I just updated this to 0.98 with support for two separate drives as well as the single-disk or single-logical disk. There are various other tweaks such as graphs of space/ temperature versus time. I think it's about done, but I left a couple of numbers free before 1.00.

Oh, and I moved it to here:
here (http://philwigglesworth.net/BlogEngine.NET/post/2008/10/06/DNS-323-Windows-Vista-Gadget.aspx)
although the update code should get that magically.


On disk spinning... I suppose that if you ask the NAS what the disk usage is, it probably spins it up to read it and find out. So I think it may well work as you suggest. Mine lives in another building so I can't easily check, but that's probably it. Perhaps I should put an option in which says "don't check disk space", so you can leave it checking that the NAS is alive without actually spinning the disks up. Hmm.
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: ckoebel on October 11, 2008, 08:58:01 AM
Sweet! Thou rockest  ;D

Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: dakial on October 18, 2008, 04:33:15 PM
Hi Phil!
Great gadget, just tested it! But the sad thing is I use the Google desktop! Is it difficult for you to replicate your vista sidebar gadget to google desktop?

I would be happy! :)

Cheers!
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: philw on October 22, 2008, 03:24:08 AM
Funny you should ask. Last week I spent some time searching around to try to find a JS abstraction layer, something you could use that to isolate the gadget logic from the underlying framework. I couldn't find one, although it's kind of surprising that's so. There is a tool which apparently will convert a Google Gadget to a Vista one, although not the other way around.

I then had a look at Google Gadgets. The documentation is confusing - they have many things which they call "gadgets".

Anyway, I wrote an abstraction layer and got the gadget running on Google's Desktop API.

I then discovered what I should have read in the documentation first: Google Gadgets won't render html. Well you can render it in a "fly out", but not in the basic gadget, which uses some proprietary technology which looks a bit like HTML/DOM (no CSS), but isn't.

So I was going to have to remove all the HTML/DOM/CSS stuff and replace it with hard coded proprietary Google controls.... That one slipped past the "don't be evil" filter I guess. Add to that the fact that the Google Gadget designer is pitiful, and I lost interest in the project.

Some of the web based Google gadget platforms seem to be more based on web standards; it may be easier to maintain a system across Vista/ Google using those. I may take a look at these.

Otherwise, I think it would be easier to recode the thing from scratch as a Google Desktop Gadget. My abstraction layer was getting to be larger than the whole thing. The reason I didn't do that is that then I'd have two branches of code to maintain, the codebase would probably double in size, and also no one had really pushed for it.

The latest version of the gadget has a bunch of tweaks and fixes plus support for multiple disks and the CH3NAS.
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: Sumdumphuc on October 22, 2008, 05:41:24 AM
What a fantastic app
though I can't do this stuff (have tried and failed) how hard would it be to write up the code into a Yahoo widget (http://widgets.yahoo.com/download/), that way all windows users can use it and even mac users.

I have XP and would love to have this app.
I noticed D-link has 2 network monitors (http://widgets.yahoo.com/search/?q=D-link) on the yahoo widget site but neither do this.
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: philw on October 22, 2008, 06:54:28 AM
I'll have a look at the Yahoo stuff - it may be better than the Google stuff.
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: the bartender on October 22, 2008, 11:47:56 AM
This plug-in installs for me, but never connects. :(

what should the IP be set to? I assumed the IP that i see when i connect to the 323.
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: philw on October 22, 2008, 01:55:41 PM
What does it say, when it fails to connect? IP address should be the same as you use to access the web interface; the Gadget default is the same as the shipping address of the DNS-323. You need username/ password also, then it should connect. As a minimum you will need to provide a password (in the settings).
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: the bartender on October 22, 2008, 06:57:08 PM
i dont get an error, it just doesnt connect (do anything)

have the IP correct  192.168.1.149 (which wasnt the default IP in the tool originally)
have the User (admin) and Password (not telling, lol) correct.
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: philw on October 23, 2008, 08:56:56 AM
Ok, click on the title where it says "NAS Monitor" in white. That reloads the whole thing. You will read the text "started up ok" in green. Then, what you see tells you what you're doing wrong:

(1) if it says "log on timeout" in red, then it's trying to logon, and the TCP/IP is timing out.
That means you have the wrong IP address for the NAS, or you have some related routing problem. Check the address. If you think it's right, compare it with that you have when you access your NAS. Hover over the little picture of the NAS in the device top right corner and click it. That should open the NAS login page. If you don't see the page, then you have either got the IP address wrong or your routing's stuffed up, which is a problem you'll need to fix.

(2) If it says "log on error 12029" in red, it's finding the NAS so you have the correct IP address, but it's failing to successfully log on. So you either have the user name ("admin") or the password wrong. Mostly likely it's the password - clear the field and type it in again, then press ok.

If that doesn't work... try restarting the NAS and trying again?


Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: the bartender on October 23, 2008, 06:21:47 PM
i press refresh and i get "Started up ok". If i click on the NAS icon, it takes me to the correct page. However, all of the 'status' 'net' 'os' etc pages are still blank.

If i select 'shutdown NAS', i select yes from the comfirmation, but nothing happens.
Restart NAS also does nothing.

 ???

Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: philw on October 24, 2008, 12:34:23 AM
Ok, you have the correct IP address then, that's one thing crossed off the list.

But immediately after you see the "started up ok" you should see a lot more stuff flash past in that space, or one of the two messages in my previous post. As you didn't say, I assume you didn't see either of those red messages, or the green "log on ok" message you should see.

What it's doing between saying "started up ok", and the next text which is "log on ok" is attempting to log on to the NAS. That is, it sends a http request to the login page of the NAS (the same one you see when you click that picture). It then waits up to the value in the "timeout" settings field for a response, and then displays one of the red messages or the green one depending on what, if anything, comes back.

I just re-tested all of this this, and it all works fine on my system.

The only thing between the messages you should be seeing is a XMLHttpRequest() to log on to the NAS. This completes "asynchronously", in one of the ways described above. If you see nothing, that suggests that the timeout is not "going off", and also that the request is not completing. It seems unlikely that both of those things would coincidentally fail; it's more likely that the request is not being made in the first place. However I can't imagine what may cause that.

Feel free to email me - if you can be bothered then it may be best to persue this off-line as it does not seem to be a general issue.

Things to try/ questions / ideas:
(1) Make sure you have the latest version of the device, and that the "version check" is working.
(2) Uninstall and then reinstall the gadget from the download; it may be that it's damaged somehow.
(3) Are there any things on your machine like anti-virus software other than the standard MS Defender?
(4) The Gadget framework uses IE7 to provide the HTTP communications. You could try resetting the security and caching levels in IE to the default. The gadget punches through the cache on my machine in tests, but it's worth a try.
(5) Are you running any local proxies (eg Privoxy etc)?
(6) I assume pressing the green "refresh" button does nothing at all, and also pressing the "Nas Monitor" title (which reloads the thing) does nothing.

Ultimately you may need to install and run Dbgview and then Fiddler2 so you can watch the traffic going by, but it depends obviously if you can be bothered to do that. I'm pretty sure there's nothing in the gadget which is causing this - it's something on your machine. Once you find it, I can maybe code around it, depending on what it is.
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: the bartender on October 25, 2008, 03:31:34 PM
I installed it on my laptop last night, and it worked right away (wirelessly even).
So obviously there is something in my PC's settings that's preventing it from working.
The only thing thats not a vista sp1 default is that i had tversity installed, and i had fie sharing enabled.
Beyond that i have no idea what it could be.


(1) Make sure you have the latest version of the device, and that the "version check" is working.
it's checking for an update, but just stays at "checking for updates...."
(2) Uninstall and then reinstall the gadget from the download; it may be that it's damaged somehow.
i've tried this a few times
(3) Are there any things on your machine like anti-virus software other than the standard MS Defender?
no
(4) The Gadget framework uses IE7 to provide the HTTP communications. You could try resetting the security and caching levels in IE to the default. The gadget punches through the cache on my machine in tests, but it's worth a try.
I dont use it. It's set to default
(5) Are you running any local proxies (eg Privoxy etc)?
nope
(6) I assume pressing the green "refresh" button does nothing at all, and also pressing the "Nas Monitor" title (which reloads the thing) does nothing.
I just get 'started up OK' then nothing
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: philw on October 26, 2008, 02:38:02 AM
thanks - I'm pretty sure also it's your machine or else I'd have heard (there several hundred downloads of that thing).
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: Banshee1971 on October 28, 2008, 08:06:09 PM
Very good Widget ... Thanks.. i'm impress !
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: Sumdumphuc on October 28, 2008, 08:47:37 PM
Very good Widget ... Thanks.. i'm impress !
You mean Gadget

Hey Philw
Did you get a chance to have a look at Yahoo Widgets?
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: Bluenose on December 11, 2008, 06:02:36 PM
I have installed the gadget on a Vista PC, configured it, get message "start up ok".
I don't get any display of status or net.
My device does have a raid 1 configured.
Is there a problem connecting to a DNS-323 with raid 1?
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: espiritu on December 11, 2008, 08:21:32 PM
awesome gadget man...i switched from google destop bar to windows sidebar just for this.

wtg
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: gbaker3 on December 11, 2008, 08:30:17 PM
I have installed the gadget on a Vista PC, configured it, get message "start up ok".
I don't get any display of status or net.
My device does have a raid 1 configured.
Is there a problem connecting to a DNS-323 with raid 1?

I use the gadget without any problems in a raid 1 configuration on Vista. You should check your NAS gadget settings and make sure that you have entered the correct IP address and login info for your 323.
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: Sam on December 12, 2008, 03:26:34 PM
Awesome gadget ! D-link should have a few of you staffed .-)
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: Bluenose on December 16, 2008, 05:39:17 PM
I use the gadget without any problems in a raid 1 configuration on Vista. You should check your NAS gadget settings and make sure that you have entered the correct IP address and login info for your 323.

I set IE7 back to defaults and every thing works fine.
The gadget is great.
Thanks!
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: JerryatDLink on January 07, 2009, 01:05:48 PM
I've been using this Gadget for about 2 months now, definitely love it.

But recently, I found the gadget can't display the temerature reading. Even after using fw v1.06, the problem is still there. I can get the temperature from web interface, that's very inconvenient.

Any help? Thanks!
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: aeok on January 08, 2009, 12:36:16 AM
i tried the links in here and i get an error msg when going to either link to get the gadget.... :(
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: LH2312 on January 08, 2009, 01:08:26 AM
I've been using this Gadget for about 2 months now, definitely love it.

But recently, I found the gadget can't display the temerature reading. Even after using fw v1.06, the problem is still there. I can get the temperature from web interface, that's very inconvenient.

Any help? Thanks!

Same problem with me here. It happened after I upgraded to FW 1.06, after that no temperature display....
Everything else works.
Is the developer of the gadget still around here?
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: nightshocker on January 08, 2009, 05:54:50 AM
i clicked on the link to get it and it does not work. (the link that is)  anyone have it, to send it to me?
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: iampedro on January 08, 2009, 07:01:43 AM
Same problem with me here. It happened after I upgraded to FW 1.06, after that no temperature display....
Everything else works.
Is the developer of the gadget still around here?



I have the same issues...
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: skitterpop on January 08, 2009, 07:40:53 AM
A very useful gadget, thanks for sharing this.
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: ChiZeL on January 08, 2009, 03:00:22 PM
Can someone please link this gadget or point to it if it exists somewhere on the net?  Sounds like a lot of ppl are enjoying it.

thanks,
Chiz
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: unimatrix on January 08, 2009, 06:05:17 PM

I have the same issues...

same here.. no temperature display.
i will try to reinstall the gadget later..
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: than on January 09, 2009, 02:15:42 AM
Hi the page of this gadget is: http://philwigglesworth.net/BlogEngine.NET/post/2008/10/06/DNS-323-Windows-Vista-Gadget.aspx

Now this web have errors, but i see correct content las wek.

Sorry for my english.
Best regards.
Than
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: Nisse on January 09, 2009, 05:36:35 AM
Hi! I have the same problem.
I looked at the developers site when it worked and he hade this comment on his site also.
He was on some trip and was going to try to fix the problem when he was back.

Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: maxjbo on January 09, 2009, 05:38:10 AM
For those trying to get the gadget try this direct link:
<link removed, the website is back up!>

I was able to get it by using google-cache ;)
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: philw on January 15, 2009, 04:51:21 AM
I'm just updating this for the format changes in 1.06.

It looks like they beefed up the security on the native command exposure, specifically the following are not apparently available to me even if I log in first:
   /proc/version
   /proc/uptime
   /proc/net/arp

Maybe I can dig around to get that data into this gadget, maybe not. Can anyone save me looking for it: where can I find these data in the 1.06 web interface, please?

http://philwigglesworth.net/BlogEngine.NET/post/2008/10/06/DNS-323-Windows-Vista-Gadget.aspx (http://philwigglesworth.net/BlogEngine.NET/post/2008/10/06/DNS-323-Windows-Vista-Gadget.aspx)
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: Cliff on January 15, 2009, 05:25:16 AM
This is a great gadget, kudo's to the author. I, like others also have the blank temperature after the 1.06 upgrade.

I have also noticed something else. I cannot access the nas from another PC while the gadget is running. I would prefer if the gadget logged on, got its stuff, and logged off. Ideally would be a setting to specify number of minutes between checks. In my case, even once an hour would be enough.
Thanks again!
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: maxjbo on January 15, 2009, 06:20:04 AM
Thanks for the update Phil, I removed the direct download link since your site is now working.
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: philw on January 15, 2009, 06:24:52 AM
The hoster (IX) had a bunch of outages over xmas. I have a fix for the temperature thing, but I am trying to figure out the /proc stuff for 1.06; if I can find that data then I can update the thing..

Log on/ off: that's easy enough to add - I'll put it on the list.
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: maxjbo on January 16, 2009, 07:19:29 AM
How about bittorrent/downloads monitoring? By the way, if you'd like some help with UI design I'm willing to contribute :)
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: LH2312 on January 16, 2009, 11:51:35 PM
The hoster (IX) had a bunch of outages over xmas. I have a fix for the temperature thing, but I am trying to figure out the /proc stuff for 1.06; if I can find that data then I can update the thing..

Log on/ off: that's easy enough to add - I'll put it on the list.

FYI - I cannot install the new version 1.00.1 on my systems. The gadget simply doesnt show up on the sidebar list after the installation dialog.
I've tried both of my Vista systems, one being a 32b, the other a 64b. Maybe it's my fault?
Thanks for this otherwise extremely useful gadget!
 
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: philw on January 16, 2009, 11:53:22 PM
I just tried it again and I think it's ok, although there was a version there for a second (well several seconds whilst I was at the pub) which had install issues on some systems. Try to download again and install it perhaps? Sorry about that, but it seems ok now.
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: than on January 17, 2009, 02:00:09 AM
Now works perfect in my Vista 64.

Really thanks for you great gadget philw!

Best regards.
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: Bluenose on January 25, 2009, 10:39:04 AM
Just installed the 1.06 firmware version.
Install worked perfectly, back up and running.
Great work!
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: Omega7ven on January 25, 2009, 09:16:00 PM
I looked at the previous posts and I hope I'm not repeating something here but how about a button that lets you do the UPnP refresh?

But it's a beautiful thing.  Big Kudos to you!  ;D




Quote
ON the other hand...   you have different fingers.
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: nightshocker on January 26, 2009, 12:07:39 AM
how about making a standalone app for XP...? or let me know the code and ill see it i can make something for xp.   :)  (vista costs to much and i already have a working OS with no faults) :) :)
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: sgip2000 on March 24, 2009, 12:56:52 PM
Anyone have a working download link for this?
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: Zardoz66 on March 24, 2009, 06:20:34 PM
Anyone have a working download link for this?

link works fine for me...
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: mulder on March 25, 2009, 09:04:23 PM
This app makes me wish I was running Vista. Any chance of porting this to XP?
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: coxwain on March 25, 2009, 09:51:25 PM
http://forum.dsmg600.info/viewtopic.php?id=3430

Here is the link to make it work on XP

I was able to follow the instructions No problem, but I am not sure if it fully works on my system
although I am having some trouble with my unit right now.
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: sgip2000 on March 26, 2009, 09:35:20 AM
link works fine for me...

I is now working for me as well.  Thanks.
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: CARB1DE on March 27, 2009, 06:16:39 PM
how about a button that lets you do the UPnP refresh?


I was just thinking the same thing
Title: Re: Windows Vista Gadget
Post by: mulder on March 29, 2009, 09:01:21 PM
Got this running under XP. Great app. Is it possible to have the temperature read either in F or C?