D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DGL-4100 => Topic started by: dynamic73 on August 20, 2010, 04:20:42 PM

Title: Router Virus
Post by: dynamic73 on August 20, 2010, 04:20:42 PM
I have used 6 different virus, spyware, & malware locators & removers. None have found a problem on my PC. I also did a reformat of Windows 7. Which also did not stop the web page redirect virus. Which is giving me a big headache. When using google or any search engine. When clicking on the links. I am redirected to bogus websites. I have searched and found out the problem may well be with the router. I've only had this router for 3 days now. And the problems did indeed start shortly after installing the router. It is a used router. That I bought off Ebay. I've logged into the router and changed the password. Which didn't help. I also used a paper clip to reset the router. The last thing I tried was to reinstall the firmware. Which my router showed as being 1.7. So I tried reinstalling 1.7 and it seemed to update. But I still have this redirect virus. What else can I do?
Title: Re: Router Virus
Post by: Mightydathin on December 01, 2010, 05:08:21 PM
I have never ever ever heard of a router virus.  The redirect is most likely a proxy server that was installed by a virus.  Even if you get rid of the virus the proxy changes stay.  simply go into your browsers options and turn off proxies, or reset them to the proxy servers that you use.
Title: Re: Router Virus
Post by: LookIntoMyEyees on January 28, 2011, 10:12:34 AM
You claim it to be your router? It is not. Try doing a Factory default from within the firmware of your router (192.168.0.1) Type that in your browser and than Navigate to TOOLS > System > Restore To Factory Default. After that if you still claim it to be the router, than buy a different router because that one is not safe for you.

--
Chris
Title: Re: Router Virus
Post by: jcy on February 13, 2011, 07:18:59 AM
try changing your DNS servers to google's:

8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4

i'm of course assuming you know how to manually set IP configuration