• October 17, 2021, 12:27:39 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Wireless mesh performance  (Read 511 times)

cde

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Wireless mesh performance
« on: September 06, 2021, 10:05:45 PM »

Hit a wall trying to resolve an issue with the wireless performance from my x1870's. It looks like in mesh mode (ie one a a router and the other 2 units as extenders) it run's all 3 units on the same channel ie 5Ghz all 3 are on channel 161 and 2.4Ghz all 3 AP's are on channel 10. There's no channel bonding in the 5Ghz space either. I used to see north of 1000Mbps when I was adjacent to an AP, now I can't get any of them to let me connect past 270Mbps. On top of this the units keep using the 5Ghz for back haul despite being connected via 1.0Gbps ethernet. There's no option to change any of the wireless network settings in router mode. I do get more network settings if I change the units to straight extenders, but if I was going to use that option I wouldn't have purchased the x1870. The channels the AP selects don't have any other neighbor's AP on it. I've done some throughput testing at it won't get past 8MB/s where 50MB/s with the same setup was easily achieved before.

Any thoughts?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wireless mesh performance
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2021, 01:24:25 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?


What is the distance between the host lx1870 router and the extenders?
What is the speed seen at the lx1870 router with the two extenders turned OFF?


What wireless devices are you speed testing with?

Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

cde

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Wireless mesh performance
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2021, 03:48:50 PM »

FW 1.01
Region - Australia (I know this forum is for USA customers but D-Link AU support is going very slow)
Upstream modem/router: TP-Link VDSL - syncing at 100/40
Extenders are about 16m away (50+ ft) but they are also connected via ethernet. Despite the extenders showing up as 5Ghz mesh when you test the throughput you only see the ethernet link between them pushing traffic not the 5Ghz.
Just the base running - still can't get better than 270Mbps with my testing devices less than 2 ft from the base. Testing with Samsung S20, S9, Macbook Pro 2020, Lenovo and Dell Laptop.
I'm beginning to suspect a hardware fault as this used to happily provide 1000Mbps wireless connectivity. At the moment with the goodness of wireless half duplex when i'm more than 10ft from an AP I can't use all the 100/40 VDSL.
Think my next step is to wipe the devices and swap one of the other units in as the master.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wireless mesh performance
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2021, 03:53:50 PM »

What is the model# of the modem?
Sycing at 100/40...is this the speed package you pay for from your ISP?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

cde

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Wireless mesh performance
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2021, 04:19:05 PM »

VR2800. 100Mbps down, 40Mbps up. The internet is fine. The wifi performance is only slightly faster that 802.11g from 2003. There's no channel bonding taking place, just a single 5Ghz 20mhz channel in use. I'm sure i've seen it use bonded channels in the past. I've got an old D-Link DAP-1665 i've just turned on again to make sure its not my clients and they are happily hitting 800Mbps to the AP.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wireless mesh performance
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2021, 04:25:25 PM »

Your modem already has a built in router and wfi. Are these disabled or the modem is in bridge mode?
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Disable ALL WiFi radios on the modem. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on a Router

Try a factory reset on the main XL1870 router and setup from scratch. Turn OFF the other two extenders and check 5Ghz and bandwidth...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

cde

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Wireless mesh performance
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2021, 05:22:20 PM »

Double NAT is fine in my environment - 20 years of networking I know what i'm getting :)
I'll take one of the extenders and wipe them and see how it goes.
Logged

cde

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Wireless mesh performance
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2021, 06:39:59 PM »

Australian support came through. They have bumped me to firmware 1.02 and i'm back on 1000Mbps and the back haul seems to look better as well. Only issue now is I can't remote into the 2 extenders now. My original password (stayed the same during the upgrade) won't work and neither does the password on the bottom of AP.
Logged