• November 29, 2021, 11:06:50 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: First Impressions  (Read 1463 times)

davevt31

  • Level 9 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1517
First Impressions
« on: August 17, 2021, 06:16:44 PM »

Seems like a nice little router.  More on the Entry level side. 
QOS speed test doesn't seem to be as fast as my X5460 on wired system doing the test.
IPv6 not picking up address from cable modem, settings are exactly the same as other router which gets v6 address no problem.  (This happened to other routers early on release and was fixed with firmware update)

Will keep playing.

Wondering if the slower speeds are due to router using Google for a lot of things in the background.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2021, 06:46:44 PM by davevt31 »
Logged

davevt31

  • Level 9 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1517
Re: First Impressions
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2021, 02:03:03 PM »

After using for a day, I have checked the speedtest in the QOS engine and it keeps getting slower.  Not sure if there is an issue in it but every time I test it drops in both download and upload speeds.
Logged

davevt31

  • Level 9 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1517
Re: First Impressions
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2021, 08:13:32 PM »

Definitely something wrong with the speed test on the QOS page.  It routinely shows half the download speed on the test page compared to when I do the test on a webpage at speedtest.net.  Not sure what servers it is checking against when doing it on the QOS menu page.  Also overall downloads speeds are much less that my X5460.  The image in my signature is the X5460, I get a regular ~200 down with the R15 when using the speedtest.net site or speedtest windows app. On the QOS menu page download is around 100.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2021, 08:15:07 PM by davevt31 »
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: First Impressions
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2021, 09:42:58 AM »

I will pass this along to the router group. Thanks for the info
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: First Impressions
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2021, 09:49:29 AM »

Are you connecting the R15 directly to your modem?

Is the speedtest from Ethernet connection or WiFI?
Logged

davevt31

  • Level 9 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1517
Re: First Impressions
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2021, 09:53:51 AM »

Direct connection to modem, testing with wired computer.

Also, is there an actual file for the new firmware?  I went to the ftp site but they only have the QIGs.  Would like to do manually install of it to see if it makes any difference.

And also, its not picking up a IPv6 address at all, tried different settings.  Always listed as disconnected.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: First Impressions
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2021, 10:06:48 AM »

I requested the firmware file/release notes. It is not in the global database yet.

In the Web UI, go to Intenet >IPv6. Set it to "auto-detection" and see if that works.   

I just tested it and I am not getting an IPv6 address either. I reported it.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2021, 10:18:20 AM by GreenBay42 »
Logged

davevt31

  • Level 9 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1517
Re: First Impressions
« Reply #7 on: August 19, 2021, 11:12:43 AM »

Some of the covr routers had the IPv6 issue early on too.
Logged

davevt31

  • Level 9 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1517
Re: First Impressions
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2021, 09:50:51 PM »

Did a Shields Up test at grc.com.  Common ports all show as stealth, but the R15 responded to Ping request, so not totally stealth.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: First Impressions
« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2021, 06:17:06 AM »

Yes ICMP is NOT disabled and there is no way to turn it off. I have reported the issue and waiting for a response.
Logged

sh0nuff

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: First Impressions
« Reply #10 on: August 31, 2021, 12:58:52 PM »

I reported the same regarding ICMP (and inability to block using the FW)
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: First Impressions
« Reply #11 on: August 31, 2021, 01:08:26 PM »

Got word ICMP issue will be fixed with the next firmware upgrade. Still waiting for ETA.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: First Impressions
« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2021, 02:13:54 PM »

 ;)
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

sh0nuff

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: First Impressions
« Reply #13 on: September 01, 2021, 01:06:08 PM »

Got word ICMP issue will be fixed with the next firmware upgrade. Still waiting for ETA.

Great news, Thanks GreenBay42!
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: First Impressions
« Reply #14 on: October 26, 2021, 07:22:29 AM »

@davevt31  Any luck with IPv6? My unit at home is no longer pulling an IPv6 address (spectrum cable)?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2