• December 01, 2021, 02:22:58 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Issue with "channel width"  (Read 2273 times)

Bildos

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Issue with "channel width"
« on: December 15, 2020, 06:41:44 AM »

Hi guys,

D-Link 2660 1.11 + Hotfix (lates FW)
Channel Width: Auto (20/40/80/160 MHz).

I have no idea why I can see only 20 MHz for 2.4 GHz when other networks show 40 MHz


« Last Edit: December 15, 2020, 06:43:33 AM by Bildos »
Logged

Bildos

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Issue with "channel width"
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2020, 09:49:59 AM »

Anyone ? As I can see it seem to be another "bug" as it's automatically controlled by firmware without any option to "reconfigure"

Anyone can check your router using NetSpot software ?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issue with "channel width"
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2020, 10:51:27 AM »

Im seeing 40Mhz on mine: 2660


20Mhz maybe seen due to the Auto setting of the Good Neighbour Policy. This isn't bug. The router and wifi device will revert to 20Mhz if there are neighboring wifi signals near by to help keep the connection going.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Bildos

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Issue with "channel width"
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2021, 04:53:29 AM »

GNP seems to be "magic" explanation for many software issues.

I'm not going to buy D-Link anymore. Too many issues.... ZERO control over own device. Everything configured by vendor without any option to change settings. This is the worst ever Wi-Fi device. I'm more than disappointed.

 :'( :'( :'(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issue with "channel width"
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2021, 07:48:10 AM »

GNP has been like this for years. This is not just D-Link but other router mfrs as well. All this is set forth by the wifi standards that router mfrs have to follow.

Maybe your devices your using and environment are problematic, not reading correctly the channel width or your router needs replacing.

I haven't had any issues with using D-Link routers and the GNP. Works well when setup well.

Good Luck.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Bildos

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Issue with "channel width"
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2021, 10:48:03 AM »

I donít have such issues with old much cheaper DIR-825. 40MHz without any problems. The same with iOS weak security - this problem do not exist. New models contain crapy software... this is reality.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issue with "channel width"
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2021, 02:38:11 PM »

Something to contact D-Link support about then if you feel this is a problem. There's nothing we can help you with.
Mines working fine for me.

Good Luck.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.