• January 20, 2022, 10:32:33 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: mydlink Home 3.0.0 does not work properly  (Read 6825 times)

werner95661

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
mydlink Home 3.0.0 does not work properly
« on: October 26, 2015, 09:39:20 AM »

Hello dlink engineers:  I am sure you already know, but no corrective action has been shown:  The mydlink Home software does not work properly.
System: iPhone 5S, iOS 9.1

1. When first downloading and installing mydlink Home 3.0.0, the "forced" firmware update for the smartplugs "bricked" on of them . The system is telling me to reboot the plug, but how do you do that? The indicator light stays solid red.

2. My dlink cameras are still shown as devices, but when you select any of them, mydlink Home turns itself off. I understand that mydlink Home does not support your cameras anymore, that is fine. But how do you delete cameras from the My Devices listing?

3. Are there any instructions anywhere on how to delete Schedules (advanced) from the schedule listing?

4. The Advances Schedule in general does not work. The on/off times shown in the schedule do not correspond to the actual smart plug on/off times. Example:
I schedule one of the SmartPlugs to come on at 6 AM and turn off at 6:30 AM, then on again at 8 AM and turn off at 9 AM (and so on for several hours, over a complete week). When running the schedule, the Smart Plug comes on at 7 AM and from then turns on/off every 30 minutes. Tries this with several of mt DSP 110 and DSP 215 SmartPlugs. All show the same symptoms.  Note that the Basic Schedule and the manual (remote) on/off function seem to work properly.

I believe that at least the schedule functionality of mydlink Home 3.0.0 requires some serious re-work to make it usable. (unless I am doing something completely wrong - in that case I kindly request that d-Link publishes a clear and concise set of instructions on how to use the application and the SmartPlugs.

So, D-Link, it is time to get your act together and let us poor users know how to use your product and application.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49884
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: mydlink Home 3.0.0 does not work properly
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2015, 07:02:26 AM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

werner95661

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: mydlink Home 3.0.0 does not work properly
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2015, 09:18:59 AM »

Hello FurryNutz:

Believe me, I telephone contacted dlink support here in the US.

Responses:

1. They never heard about this problem before.
2. They walked me through a "reset process": take the SmartSwitch out of the outlet, then press and hold the WPS button while reinserting the thing into an outlet. Needsless to say, that did not do anything.
3. They offered me to file for an RMA number to repair/replace the unit. Unfortunately, I do not have the original receipt anymore. So, according to Dlink's policies, this SmartSwicth is for the trash can.  I bought it from the Dlink shop directly, but they do not offer any way (that I can see) to review past purchases. If I had bought from Amazon, I would have retrieved my receipt.....
4. We will notify Dlink Engineering about it.
So, no help at all.

Now, can you offer any insight as to the Advanced Schedule problems?  My remaining SmartSwitches are all but useless (to me) without being able to set varying on/off times over the days.
Have you tried the advance scheduling function yourself?
And another thing that just popped up: More often than not, when I change the schedule and press the < symbol to go back, the system starts "thinking" about it and then after about 5 seconds, gives me the message "Sorry, Please try again". After that, the only way to get out of the schedule setup is to click on/touch the X button. Then, of course, all your changes go to Never Land.

Seems you are a PowerUser; are you working for Dlink?  If yes, maybe you can convince someone there to work on a solution and to keep us informed.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49884
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: mydlink Home 3.0.0 does not work properly
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2015, 09:28:13 AM »

We are volunteer help for DLink and here to help out with set up and problems that are posted by users here in the forums. If we can not resolve those issues here or if there are problems with anything beyond our capabilities here in the forums, we ask the users please contact phone D-Link directly for continued help and information. Problems with HW/FW and documentation fall under this reasoning as we do not have the ability to effect any changes.

I have this app on my iphone 6P however I do not have any of the DSP units. Only item I have that is recognized by the app is my DCS-933L camera.

I'll forward this to D-link and see if we can get some additional information and help. Please be patient.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49884
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: mydlink Home 3.0.0 does not work properly
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2015, 09:42:47 AM »

I've escalated this to D-Link. They will be in contact with you. Please let us know how it goes.



Hello FurryNutz:

Believe me, I telephone contacted dlink support here in the US.

Responses:

1. They never heard about this problem before.
2. They walked me through a "reset process": take the SmartSwitch out of the outlet, then press and hold the WPS button while reinserting the thing into an outlet. Needsless to say, that did not do anything.
3. They offered me to file for an RMA number to repair/replace the unit. Unfortunately, I do not have the original receipt anymore. So, according to Dlink's policies, this SmartSwicth is for the trash can.  I bought it from the Dlink shop directly, but they do not offer any way (that I can see) to review past purchases. If I had bought from Amazon, I would have retrieved my receipt.....
4. We will notify Dlink Engineering about it.
So, no help at all.

Now, can you offer any insight as to the Advanced Schedule problems?  My remaining SmartSwitches are all but useless (to me) without being able to set varying on/off times over the days.
Have you tried the advance scheduling function yourself?
And another thing that just popped up: More often than not, when I change the schedule and press the < symbol to go back, the system starts "thinking" about it and then after about 5 seconds, gives me the message "Sorry, Please try again". After that, the only way to get out of the schedule setup is to click on/touch the X button. Then, of course, all your changes go to Never Land.

Seems you are a PowerUser; are you working for Dlink?  If yes, maybe you can convince someone there to work on a solution and to keep us informed.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

werner95661

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: mydlink Home 3.0.0 does not work properly
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2015, 10:13:14 AM »

Hello FurryNutz:
Can you confirm that you are using Version 3.0.0 of the MyDlink Home application?
If yes, how did you get a camera to work on it?  DLink themselves say that the cameras are no longer linkable to MyDlink Home.
In my case, all my cameras are shown as devices in MyDlink Home, but when I select any of them , the application shuts down.
I see no way to delete cameras from being listed in mydlink home. Have you found a back door?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49884
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: mydlink Home 3.0.0 does not work properly
« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2015, 10:29:14 AM »

Yes v3.0.0 is the version I have.

I believe it was auto added or was added during my previous version then was held over after v3 was installed. I don't really remember how it was added. I don't use the HOME app much and was surprised to see it listed as I assumed that the HOME app was for DSP products mainly.

When i select the camera in the home app, the app minimized and lauches the mydlink Lite app.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49884
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: mydlink Home 3.0.0 does not work properly
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2015, 12:26:24 PM »

There has been an update to the Home app.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49884
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: mydlink Home 3.0.0 does not work properly
« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2016, 06:28:00 PM »

Users should be using the most up to date app for Home products.

Current version if v3.05:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63515.0


If any units are not working or units some become unusable after a FW update. Please phone contact D-Link support immediately to get assistance and help in getting units working again. If your in doubt about FW updates. please phone contact them first before attempting FW updates to ensure if you need updates and the update process is successful!!!

Good Luck.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2016, 10:25:53 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.