• May 19, 2022, 11:24:18 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Separate subnet "internet only" / guest network?  (Read 2514 times)

BJB

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Separate subnet "internet only" / guest network?
« on: August 03, 2015, 04:46:34 PM »

Greetings.  I have two Vizio TV's (different models) with a known issue that some of us with lots of network-connected devices experience - after turn on these "smart" TV's search the network for files and media and are non-responsive to remote input for up to two minutes.

The only solution offered (and by users) is to connect these TV's to a separate subnet that can't see anything other than the internet.  Then the issue goes away.  I have given up waiting for a fix from them for this issue so I just want to make this happen.

I know a bit about networking but have never done this....Can someone point me to the right way to do this with the DIR-860L?   I want to stay wired so this solution will be via wire....coming off a switch connected to the DIR-860L that is serving as my router and DHCP server.

Thanks!
BJB



Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Separate subnet "internet only" / guest network?
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2015, 08:59:45 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Having another subnet may introduce other problems and may incur more HW as you would need another router...
Could review this:
How to extend network without AP Mode using a Router
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

BJB

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Separate subnet "internet only" / guest network?
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2015, 05:45:27 PM »

Thanks, I will check that out. 
BJB
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Separate subnet "internet only" / guest network?
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2015, 06:47:41 AM »

Let us know how it goes...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.