• November 30, 2021, 10:26:30 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Card is not working  (Read 10765 times)

biuro74

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Card is not working
« on: June 15, 2015, 12:51:48 PM »

Hello,

I've bought set of 4 cards, and one of them stopped working after 10 months.
I've done all steps (no point to count them all now, must believe to my word  8) but if you ask I will confirm I've done it already, LOL which is true) trying to recover it, including re-flashing. Nothing helps.

How it looks like now ?
Middle LED (house picture) should light up, but it doesn't. Only power (left one) and network (right one) light up, right one is blinking sometimes, which is normal. Is it broken and requires repair/replacement, or is it any secret way to revive it ?

Thank you.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Card is not working
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2015, 12:28:19 PM »

Cards? What D-Link product model are you referring to?  ???

What region are you located?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

biuro74

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Card is not working
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2015, 03:58:58 PM »

Cards? What D-Link product model are you referring to?  ???

Take a look at the forum category, mate :)
You might name it "device", if I confused you naming it "card", like other network devices (like WIFi dongles), so I apology. But you should've known I am referring to correct model reading description of 3 LEDs which is specific for 500AV :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Card is not working
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2015, 04:05:08 PM »

Just confirming product model and type we use adapter cards and devices separately. And we see some users post about products in the wrong forum location.

What region are you located?

If you have done all of the normal troubleshooting steps and the PL adapter will not come back to normal operation, then it would need to be replaced.
I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Card is not working
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2015, 07:14:24 AM »

Any status on this?  ???

Hello,

I've bought set of 4 cards, and one of them stopped working after 10 months.
I've done all steps (no point to count them all now, must believe to my word  8) but if you ask I will confirm I've done it already, LOL which is true) trying to recover it, including re-flashing. Nothing helps.

How it looks like now ?
Middle LED (house picture) should light up, but it doesn't. Only power (left one) and network (right one) light up, right one is blinking sometimes, which is normal. Is it broken and requires repair/replacement, or is it any secret way to revive it ?

Thank you.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

biuro74

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Card is not working
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2015, 01:34:48 PM »

Hi, Sorry for delay.

Cards are D-Link DHP-500AV, bought in 2 sets of DHP-501AV (2-pack each). In total 4.
I'm located in UK.
Delay results from the RMA which seems to be impossible. LOL. I've bought 4 devices as full set in Pixmania/France for 1 price. I couldn't buy just 1 piece. Issues begin now = I've sold 2 of them as I've already had 2 devices (and needed two). First two pieces are UK-plugged, and another two are EU-plugged. Now, I wanted to RMA one, because it failed to work. This is EU-plugged, so it has beenpurchased in Pixmania. History of their c ommunication:
* first, they said I had to return whole pack of 4 devices (to get back 1 repaired !),
* it's obvious insanity, so I said I've already sold 2 of them,
* they asked for serial number,
* I've sent it, witing for some RMA number,
* they replied today one device cannot be repaired (LOL), and I have to send back pack of four, of they might pay 1/4 of price I've paid for whole pack (which is ridiculous price, I won't buy anything for that, it's simply not enough  as whole bundle was discounted really nice).

Hello, anybody from D-Link here ? Can you confirm, please this ridiculous situation ?
By the way, I thought D-Link is German manufacturer, so why to ask @ US forum ? :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Card is not working
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2015, 01:42:45 PM »

The forums are a USA based community for the NA region. D-Link handles development and support regionally so each region handles things a bit differently from the NA region. Yes, we can help with other regional posters here as best as we can, however, when it becomes beyond our help, you'll need to phone contact your regional D-Link support office and work with them to resolve your issues as we can't help with this problem here. Seems like this is a issue with support. If the 4 pack was sold all inclusive then support may only handled it as a whole package to be worked with. I would ask if there could be a RMA option if possible rather than repairing the unit. Ask D-Link support about an RMA option and if you can get just one RMA unit. Sorry about the hassle. Let us know how it goes.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

biuro74

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Card is not working
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2015, 10:35:00 AM »

They've made a refund of 1/4 vaule. Terrible solution, as it equals to 2 beers. Quite not possible to get:
* any PLC with that price,
* THE SAME PLC with similar price, as they are no more manufactured.

Silly customer service, with no knowledge, they've changed mind 2 times. With such service D-Link will never achieve better market position. Anyways, such silly attitude (no repairs, no RMA) it means I have to change all PLCs in my house. And I have strong feeling there will not be D-Link this time. In theory I could try to find similar PLCs, but I'm not sure about compatibility - I've read somewhere (can't find link) not all D-Link products are compatible, even if they belong to the same generation (I mean they make troubles). Newer adaptors, for example, like DHP-307AV, are not compatible with previous class, like mine. Or is anybody able to confirm how PowerLine AV 500 HD Starter Kit is compatible ? So hard to find simple compatibility chart, shame on you, D-Link.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Card is not working
« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2015, 10:41:48 AM »

I recommend that you consider having a cable installer help you install some CAT 6 LAN cabling in your building which would help you avoid using any PL devices which seems to be problematic for you. You can install or run CAT 6 cabling in a existing house.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

biuro74

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Card is not working
« Reply #9 on: September 11, 2015, 12:44:12 PM »

Uhh, mate... do you really think if I had a possibility to cable my house, I wouldn't do that before I've purchased PLCs ?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Card is not working
« Reply #10 on: September 11, 2015, 12:46:12 PM »

We don't know that. Reason for suggestion and cable still can be installed after the fact.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.